We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location, basic accommodation, don't eat here uless” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saint Andrews Drive | Glasgow Airport, Paisley PA3 2TJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Paisley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very convenient location, basic accommodation, don't eat here uless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

So, the hotel is right across the street from the airport, and 2 minutes walk to the car rental return. We turned in our car and walked over, and the next morning walked to the airport for a very early flight. There is a covered walkway for part of the walk, but it's Scotland--it will downpour, so have umbrellas and rain coats handy. We pre-paid online about $100 for a "family room" for the two of us and our young son. This was one double bed and a twin jammed into a very small room. The TV was tiny and only got a few static-filled channels. The noise from the highway was intense all night long, and it was hard to sleep. The food in the lobby restaurant is served from 5-9 pm, and is literally microwave-in-a-bag served on plates, and is way too expensive. I believe it was about $50 for dinner for the three of us, and my son and I both had chili with corn chips. Yikes. However, just across the street in the airport there is a little market, a restaurant, and a Starbucks. We were just too tired to get up and get over there, after driving all day. No free wireless in the rooms, can't remember if I had to pay to use it in the lobby, but had to get someone to reset the server to finally get online to check-in for the flight. I found the staff friendly enough, but this is basic accommodation--a place to lie down and shower between flights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigrenfrew, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies that our restaurant offering did not meet with your expectations.
I completely agree with your comments regarding our TV’s and cannel selection and I’m pleased to inform you that we will be changing over to 32” flat screen TV’s with free view at the start of 2013.
We do not consider our proximity to the motor way as an issue due to the noise softening barrier that was fitted to the motorway 2 years ago however as always we will be completing a survey of our windows in the next few months and any outstanding issues will be rectified.
Thank you for your comments and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future

Yours sincerely

Craig Renfrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    300
    132
    49
    16
See reviews for
195
277
62
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montello, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had an 08:00 Flight out and we found the hotel we had booked was in the ghetto of Glasgow (See Victoria House Glasgow review). We went to the airport and found this Holiday Inn. It was right across the street from the airport. We took our rental car back early (also right across the street) and settle in. The room was clean and perfect. We were so relieved to find this spot. We sat in the lounge and some cocktails and a light dinner and turned in. The next morning WE WALKED TO THE AIRPORT, literally one block away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were very happy with our room and breakfast. We were within a 5 min. walk to the airport. A good selection of food was available in the restaurant. The breakfast that was included offered a nice variety.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Chose this hotel because of location near airport for an early morning flight. Reception is understaffed so expect a delay with check-in. Room 100 was smelly and unclean - bathroom floor had not been swept. Room furniture is dated and worn. Window would not close completely and noise from M8 was very distracting. Food is only available during set times - no lunch service and dinner available from 5pm to 9pm only. Dinner was adequate - fish cakes with greens (no dressing). At £80 per night, this hotel is severely overpriced. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigrenfrew, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Our staffing levels are generally sufficient to cope with the levels of demand although break times can prove to be a challenge.
Your comments regarding room 100 have been passed to our maintenance and housekeeping teams and I’m confident that the appropriate action will be taken to rectify the issues.
Our dinner menu is restricted to set times as stated however sandwiches and pizzas are available throughout the day and evening
Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Yours sincerely

Craig Renfrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed previously at this hotel without a problem, We are also members of the priority club run by this chain of hotels. I can honestly say that the service we were given was poor. The reception staff were unhelpful and lacked any people skills. Even on departure we were not asked how we enjoyed our stay which I find very bad manners . I have used this hotel on 3 previous occasions but I can honestly say that I will not be returning to this hotel but will try one of the other hotels on airport site.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigrenfrew, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding our reception staff and please accept my apologies that your experience did not meet with the same high standards as your previous visits. Please rest assured that your comments have been taken on board and will be shared with the team to ensure that our levels of service can be improved.
Having stayed with us on three previous occasions without cause for complaint I would hope that you would give us the benefit of doubt and stay with us again

Yours sincerely

Craig Renfrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Like most people we used this hotel for the night before our flight. Five minutes walk from airport terminal and most of it is covered although have to say if it was raining you would be wet.

Although rooms are small they are fine for what they are used for. Clean bedding with good pillows. Bathroom satisfactory although no extra toiletries supplied. I have to say for the price though I would not expect them supplied.

Reasonably priced food and drink if you fancy a meal at night. Dont expect a la carte but reasonable all the same.

Make sure you book in for them to take your car to the long stay car park as this saves you the hassle. Have used this hotel many times and have never had any problems with my car and always sitting there ready for your return.

Only gripe ( and it is a small one) is the TVs. They are needing updated with small plasma screens and more choice. Surely freeview is the least to expect nowadays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongue, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Arrived back after long flight at 3am straight to bed ,woken at 8.45 with banging of doors our door opened by house maid we were still in bed ,the noise got louder outside our room thought it must be kids left in room opposite ,as we left room discovered it was 3 house maids making all the noise fooling around throwing sheets and pillows around. We have stayed lots of times and no problem before ,reported matter to reception

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigrenfrew, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

I’m extremely disappointed to discover that you were disturbed by three of our housekeeping staff who were acting in an unprofessional manner. Please accept my apologies for this and be assured that having investigated the matter thoroughly appropriate action will be taken

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Yours sincerely

Craig Renfrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport

Address: Saint Andrews Drive | Glasgow Airport, Paisley PA3 2TJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Paisley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paisley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paisley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express hotel at Glasgow Airport is conveniently located and all rooms are air conditioned for a comfortable night's sleep! Our Glasgow Airport hotel has a modern lounge, bar & reception area. You can enjoy a drink, evening meal, free WiFi and your free breakfast in contemporary, relaxed surroundings. Your Glasgow Airport Holiday Inn Express is perfectly located just a 2 minute walk from the airport terminal, near Jct 28 of the M8 motorway. Glasgow City Centre, SECC, Kelvingrove Museum, Celtic & Rangers Football Clubs are all within 10 miles so you're well placed to visit numerous attractions. Every bedroom at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport has air conditioning, flatscreen TV, free WiFi, tea/coffee facilities, en suite shower & hair dryer. We even include free hot and continental breakfast. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport Hotel Paisley
Holiday Inn Express Paisley
Holiday Inn Paisley
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport Paisley, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.