We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four stars for a four star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murrayshall House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Murrayshall House Hotel to your Saves list
Murrayshall House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Wishaw
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Four stars for a four star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

So let’s go through it:
The Place – a manor house set in beautiful surroundings, and next to its own golf course, and a very good location for touring the Perthshire countryside.
The rooms – While our room was not large it was well furnished, comfortable and had enough room for two large armchairs and overlooked the gardens.
Cleanliness – Immaculate.
Food – We were at a wedding so did not sample the normal restaurant fair but what we had was above average for that type of event. There were a few golf parties in the hotel that seemed to be sending back, well scraped, empty plates. Breakfast while good did not live up to expectations – You would expect the ‘Perthshire Platter’ to have a fairly large selection of local delights i.e. the ‘tattie scone’ but it turned out to be a fairly normal bacon & egg type breakfast.
Service. The place was busy but well-staffed with good and competent people.

Room Tip: We saw a few of the rooms and did not see a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    89
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
25
120
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We went to Murrayshall Hotel for Easter Sunday lunch.It was faultless. The setting is breathtaking .The dining room has lasrge windows looking out over the Perthshire countryside .The food was delicious and sttaff attentive and all reasonably priced about £20 per head.Definitely a great place to go for a Sunday treat ! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a weekend break here that was a little disappointing. To be fair, the weather when we arrived was pretty awful which never helps to show a place at its best. When we arrived the people in front of us appeared unhappy about something and had their room changed. We suspect we got the suite they didn't want as the printed room number on our hotel card had been overwritten by hand and changed. The suite seemed very nice on first sight but out of each window, we were staring at a wall only a few feet away. The wastepaper bin in the lounge was filthy, a used teabag was left on the carpet, the tv in the lounge area didn't work - lots of little things that should not really arise with proper attention but which serve to take the gloss off things. When we asked for the wi-fi access codes, we were informed that this would cost £5 per hour or £9 for 24 hours. This seemed to be a source of embarrassment to the staff charged with giving us this information - I assume because they receive gasps of disbelief on a regular basis! To be fair to the management, they sought to resolve our issues where they could do so and we reached a compromise. For future reference, I understand that the Wi-Fi will be free of charge in the next couple of weeks so that should not be a factor in future.

On the positive side, the cooked breakfast was excellent and the food generally was well presented though the 6 course taster menu was a little disappointing. The setting and the golf courses are all beautiful and must be wonderful in good weather. I think we'd give them a second chance in the hope that some of these issues would not recur.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed at the Murrayshall for a birthday treat for my husband, stayed in one of the junior suites adjacant to the hotel which was really lovely with a great view over the golf course. All the staff were very polite and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Package included a 6 course taster menu, and being vegetarian I had asked if an equivalent menu could be provided for myself as the original menu was all fish and meat based. Was was delivered was outstanding and one of the best meals I have ever had, my husband was equally impressed with his meal.

Breakfast too was great, and impressed that they provided vegetarian sausages so I can have also have a cooked breakfast.

My husband played golf on the Murrayshall course which he found in very good condition for middle of April and clearly being kept to a high standard.

All in all a great hotel, will definately be back, only thing that could have improved the stay would be the provision of dressing gowns in the junior suites and blackouts on all the curtains.

Only disappointment was that a hotel of this standard did not provide free wi-fi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with old friends for a short break with a bit of Golf available.
We found the Hotel to be of very good standard though possibly in need of a bit of TLC here and there.
The Food was extremely tasty and prepared to High Standards though the Menu was not the worlds most extensive, but this means that what there is should be fresh and indeed we all agreed that this was the case.

Free Wi Fi as standard would be a distinct advantage, though I can understand that the cost of providing this would be high, but it would be needed to give the extra star rating, along with some refurbishing.

The setting is idyllic and it is only 3 miles from Perth City centre and even closer to Scone Palace.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I booked a suite room last minute via late rooms and was impressed as to standard of accommodation.The room was spacious and gave all 4 of us plenty of space.We ordered room service 3 times and each order was dealt with very efficiently.I found the staff to be courteous throughout our stay.I certainly wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic day golfing and the pro Murray was the exception to poor service, food was amazing but the staff were not interested in making the stay memorable. You were privileged to get a smile never mind a thank you

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We are normally complimented on the friendliness of the staff, following your comments we have held some additional training sessions with front of house staff to ensure guest satisfaction .
Thank you for notifying us and we are delighted Murray has been a positive part of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murrayshall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayshall House Hotel

Address: A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrayshall House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With forty-one bedrooms including sixteen suites, all our bedrooms are individually styled, furnished and decorated, giving a unique blend of tradition and modern day luxury. All rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped, colour TV, telephone, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, plus complimentary mineral water and shortbread. Every bedroom also includes a trouser press, high quality linen and a spacious well-appointed bathroom with luxury Elemis products. We can also provide a gun cupboard, golf club storage, fishing tackle storage and a drying room. Whether you're staying with us on a weekend break, for a romantic getaway, wedding or honeymoon, or for a field sports or golfing holiday, our varying styles of bedrooms can accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Murrayshall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayshall Hotel Perth
Murrayshall House Hotel Scone, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murrayshall House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.