We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murrayshall House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Murrayshall House Hotel to your Saves list
Murrayshall House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed at the Murrayshall for a birthday treat for my husband, stayed in one of the junior suites adjacant to the hotel which was really lovely with a great view over the golf course. All the staff were very polite and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Package included a 6 course taster menu, and being vegetarian I had asked if an equivalent menu could be provided for myself as the original menu was all fish and meat based. Was was delivered was outstanding and one of the best meals I have ever had, my husband was equally impressed with his meal.

Breakfast too was great, and impressed that they provided vegetarian sausages so I can have also have a cooked breakfast.

My husband played golf on the Murrayshall course which he found in very good condition for middle of April and clearly being kept to a high standard.

All in all a great hotel, will definately be back, only thing that could have improved the stay would be the provision of dressing gowns in the junior suites and blackouts on all the curtains.

Only disappointment was that a hotel of this standard did not provide free wi-fi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    94
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
32
129
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with old friends for a short break with a bit of Golf available.
We found the Hotel to be of very good standard though possibly in need of a bit of TLC here and there.
The Food was extremely tasty and prepared to High Standards though the Menu was not the worlds most extensive, but this means that what there is should be fresh and indeed we all agreed that this was the case.

Free Wi Fi as standard would be a distinct advantage, though I can understand that the cost of providing this would be high, but it would be needed to give the extra star rating, along with some refurbishing.

The setting is idyllic and it is only 3 miles from Perth City centre and even closer to Scone Palace.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I booked a suite room last minute via late rooms and was impressed as to standard of accommodation.The room was spacious and gave all 4 of us plenty of space.We ordered room service 3 times and each order was dealt with very efficiently.I found the staff to be courteous throughout our stay.I certainly wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Had a fantastic day golfing and the pro Murray was the exception to poor service, food was amazing but the staff were not interested in making the stay memorable. You were privileged to get a smile never mind a thank you

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We are normally complimented on the friendliness of the staff, following your comments we have held some additional training sessions with front of house staff to ensure guest satisfaction .
Thank you for notifying us and we are delighted Murray has been a positive part of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I dined in the restaurant for our anniversary, we’d been gifted a voucher for the 6 course tasting menu.

This was our first visit to Murrayshall so had no idea of the lay-out or what the set up was for our dinner. Our welcome was not great. Without looking up from her computer a dismissive receptionist informed us that we should take a seat in the Lounge. There were 5 staff gathered at the bar in the lounge and not one acknowledged us. We found ourselves a seat and despite the number of staff we waited for over 10 minutes before a waiter approached to offer us a drinks menu (it was not busy).

We ordered some drinks and were given some nice appetisers (haggis balls and cheesy pastry swirls) as well as a note detailing what we’d be eating on the tasting menu. There were diners eating in the Lounge, yet there was no explanation of whether or not we’d be re-seated in a dining room? Eventually we were led to the dining room, 30 minutes after our reservation.

A welcome and a brief explanation of the form would have avoided the awkwardness we encountered upon our arrival.

Despite the poor welcome we both enjoyed our meal immensely. The food was lovely – we started with a beautiful celeriac soup which was one of the stand out dishes, not often the case with a soup. That was followed by a game pie, which was pleasant but would be better described as a game terrine. A trio of salmon followed which was as you’d expect but very nice all the same. The chicken main was beautiful with the comfit chicken leg and tatty scone the stand out components of the dish. The course of whipped Crowdie and cheese shortbread wasn’t to my taste but my wife cleared the lot. The dessert was great selection of little treats; white chocolate ice cream, honeycomb, a hot chocolate shot – A really nice end to a very good meal.

I found the dining room (particularly the music) and service a little over-formal for our taste but that purely down to preference.

To summerise - Lovely food but would have expected better service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Wonderful countryside setting for a hotel in beautiful Perthshire. There were 17 of us for a golden wedding celebration and they certain made an excellent presentation of the dinner. The service was first class and the meal was very good. The bedroom decoration is very tradition, in keeping with nature of the hotel, but traditional decor does not mean that the room should be less clean than a modern hotel room. On the first day we noticed that the window cills were covered in dust and the inside windows were not clean. Because this was not remedied when the room was serviced on the second day we reported it to the duty manager who had someone clean up the dust.( although not very thoroughly. I enjoyed the occasion but would not rush back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We recently vacationed in Scotland and had the pleasure of staying at the Murrayshall. It is a stone's throw to Scone Palace, with 2 beautiful golf courses. The staff could not have been nicer. From breakfast through dinner, they were accommodating and thoughtful. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay in the main building; the rooms have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murrayshall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayshall House Hotel

Address: A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrayshall House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With forty-one bedrooms including sixteen suites, all our bedrooms are individually styled, furnished and decorated, giving a unique blend of tradition and modern day luxury. All rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped, colour TV, telephone, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, plus complimentary mineral water and shortbread. Every bedroom also includes a trouser press, high quality linen and a spacious well-appointed bathroom with luxury Elemis products. We can also provide a gun cupboard, golf club storage, fishing tackle storage and a drying room. Whether you're staying with us on a weekend break, for a romantic getaway, wedding or honeymoon, or for a field sports or golfing holiday, our varying styles of bedrooms can accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Murrayshall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayshall Hotel Perth
Murrayshall House Hotel Scone, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murrayshall House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.