We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party and overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murrayshall House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Murrayshall House Hotel to your Saves list
Murrayshall House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kinross, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Christmas Party and overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We went to a Christmas party here last Saturday and had a GREAT time.
We arrived to a friendly and efficient welcome and check-in, went upstairs to a beautiful and comfortable bedroom in the main hotel, and enjoyed some drinks and a great meal in the function suite.
The DJ and his special assistant were brilliant at getting the party started and keeping it going till 1am, after which we had another couple of drinks before heading upstairs where we slept like logs. In the morning, we were served a brilliant cooked breakfast while we swapped tales with friends about the party.
Thanks to everyone who made our stay so much fun and so very enjoyable.
The hotel has two golf courses and a driving range but I don't think there is a pool or spa - we didn't have time to go looking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Iain M

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you and the rest of your party enjoyed your stay. Our party nights have been very successful this year with many comments about the quality of the food and service. Our resident DJ has been as popular as ever and has already confirmed for next year. I hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    94
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
32
129
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Having read some of the reviews for this hotel we were a bit apprehensive but any fears were completely unfounded. The hotel location is beautiful. Service was friendly, efficient but without being obtrusive. We stayed in the Murray Room which is huge and has double aspect windows with great views. Excellent value for money and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
I am glad that enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for the kind comments. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Only went because of itison deal, £9 for 2 courses and glass of wine. Good value. Formal dining room complete with white linen tablecloths. Very good food, perfect portion size, promptly served, by attentive, friendly staff. Lovely separate, comfortable bar area. Would definately come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your lunch and the comfortable surroundings and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night over the weekend. The building is lovely as you drive up and the golf courses and grounds look great. Lovely location, just outside of Perth.
However, the room we were in (5) was somewhat tired and sad. It was very basic with a small tv, no fridge or mini bar and tired looking decor. Wifi cost £9 per day - poor in this day an age for a hotel I would say.

The staff were friendly enough and the bar at the clubhouse was very nice to sit and have a drink. The public rooms looked far nicer that the room we stayed in.

Breakfast was in a nice room and was very tasty.

Probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: the standard one we were in wasn't very nice - i have heard from a friend that the suites are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Sorry that you did not enjoy your room, our rooms in the main house are all individually decorated in a country house fashion using premium fabrics and furnishings. The hotel rooms do not have mini bars or fridges in them but our external suites are all furnished with a small fridge and microwave oven as well as seperate lounge areas. Perhaps next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were at the same Works Christmas Do as the reviewer below ( I think) and indeed it was a good night. The dinner arrangements were very smoothly organised, the tables looked lovely and the staff were very friendly and efficient. We thought most of the food rather average - my starter featured under-ripe melon, tiny prawns and wilted lettuce and looked as if it had been sitting about for a long time. The turkey dinner looked rather processed. The sea bass I had was well cooked but with dry cous-cous and a couple of very crunchy vegetables it was unexciting - even a bit of lemon might have been nice. However, the meal was redeemed by the fabulous desserts, so well done to the pudding chef! The crème brulee with Armagnac was to die for and the other puddings excellent too. A good selection of liqueur or Macallan was offered afterwards, which was a nice treat.
The bedroom was wonderful with huge and comfortable bed and super bathroom. It was great that the fan did not go on automatically! The downside of this is that probably nobody uses it enough so there was a minor mould problem.
Breakfast was very civilised but sadly let down by cold soggy toast and disastrous scrambled egg which was so overcooked in the microwave that it was bouncy and had large blue-green lumps through it. That anyone should have put it on a plate indicated a problem with breakfast staff! The waitress looked at me impassively without smile or apology and asked whether she should fetch more, but I had been put off eggs by then.
It's really only the eggs which prevented me giving 5 stars, and I do hope the Christmas Do will be repeated next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
I'm very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay and are keen to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Spent a night here with husband for his works do . Fabulous ceilidh band, very good food . Waiter knew exactly what was gluten free and the best gluten free bun I have ever had appeared . Superb soup , sea bass served on mash ( couldn't have Cous Cous :( ) followed by creme brûlée . The most wonderful bed ... Comfy and very large !!! Only niggle could not see tv which was on a small table . Could have been better higher up . Lovely bath room .

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
I'm glad that you enjoyed the Christmas party night and over night stay with us. Your comments are much appreciated, hope to see you again next Christmas if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

If we had a complaint it would be that the lighting to the lodge house isn't great and staff just said its over there!! Where!! However, when we found our room we were very pleased, spacious, warm, comfortable and quiet. Dinner was first class as was breakfast. Staff in the diningroom were very professional and pleasant.

Room Tip: The rooms in the lodge are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and all that we offer. I look forward to seeing you again.
p.s. I've had all the lighting to the suites checked and it's all fine now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Murrayshall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayshall House Hotel

Address: A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrayshall House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With forty-one bedrooms including sixteen suites, all our bedrooms are individually styled, furnished and decorated, giving a unique blend of tradition and modern day luxury. All rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped, colour TV, telephone, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, plus complimentary mineral water and shortbread. Every bedroom also includes a trouser press, high quality linen and a spacious well-appointed bathroom with luxury Elemis products. We can also provide a gun cupboard, golf club storage, fishing tackle storage and a drying room. Whether you're staying with us on a weekend break, for a romantic getaway, wedding or honeymoon, or for a field sports or golfing holiday, our varying styles of bedrooms can accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Murrayshall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayshall Hotel Perth
Murrayshall House Hotel Scone, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murrayshall House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.