We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Watering Hole” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murrayshall House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Murrayshall House Hotel to your Saves list
Murrayshall House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Kirriemuir, Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“An Excellent Watering Hole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is situated in my nearby locality and while there is no need to be resident my wife, self, family, and friends, meet here frequently and mainly in the golf club. We have been regulars since 1970 so have witnessed many changes yet overall the standards have been very good. I cannot recall ever meeting a disgruntled member of staff. My late wife and I had a few excellent evenings in the Old Master's Restaurant where the food, the music, nor the service could be faulted. I have so many fond memories of this hotel and would recommend it to all who visit the area; it certainly leaves the Crief Hydro and the Dunkeld Atholl hotels in the dark! While the Hilton at Dunkeld is an excellent establishment the Murrayshall has the edge except possibly that there are more facilities at the Hilton (but it does not have golf).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    89
    41
    13
    6
See reviews for
25
120
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for one night with our two Labradors. The hotel is dog friendly and they don't charge - a bonus. The location is lovely and ideal for the event we were going to the next day. The building is old and grand but is certainly more shabby than chic - we had a room on the front with a magnificent window. Don't try and open the bathroom window - when we did we realised it was filthy. I'm not that picky about that sort of thing but it was really bad. The bedroom curtains were torn and the bathroom very dated. To be fair though the room was spacious which was good as we had two large dog beds with us.

There are a lot of staff who don't have English as their first language and there were many 'lost in translation' moments in the restaurant which was in turn amusing in a Fawlty Towers sort of way and frustrating in the extreme. The service was poor which wasn't what we expected.

We stayed in peak season and we wouldn't go back for what we paid - if you got a really good deal it might be OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Loved the setting and the golf course. The outside of the building Nd grounds are magnificent but internally requiring upgrading. Bedrooms are gloomy although beds very comfortable. Bathroom large but with cracked mirror and a bit yucky tiling. Food and staff very good and generally good value for money. Would have paid a bit extra for more up to date rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked two nights DB&B with 3 rounds of golf through your golf travel.

Given key to room 2, opened door and wife shouted "wow"! We had been upgraded to the bridal suite overlooking the 18th green.

Played the Lynedoch course in 1st day - mountain goat territory needing precise drives and pitch golf!

Loved the 19th hole - great service from Stuart and team.

Both evening meals in the Old Masters restaurant with excellent service.

Breakfast couldn't be faulted.

The Murrayshall course completely different with plenty if room to open the shoulders but plenty of hazards to catch the wayward shot!

Really enjoyed the stay and only criticism of the hotel is main light wasn't fixed in suite, but it was cosy and intiment without!
Our big grip though was the last round if golf - we knew it would be slow as Pro shop told us wedding party ahead. This turned out to be 9 four balls with buggies but sharing clubs and playing a slow scramble comp! At the tenth we gave up the will to golf as we had been out 3 hours and it had been raining heavily for two holes. We met the manager and he accepted our complaint by getting the Pro to get out and speed up the course plus offered us a free future round.

Looks like we will be back?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballater, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is located in a wonderful setting. Sitting out the front in the nice weather made the stay worthwhile on its own. We went down as part of a group for a golf outing and the courses were fantastic, some great holes and will definitely be back. We found the hotel to be a bit hit or miss. What was most noticeable was that most of the staff particularly in the hotel all appeared to be miserable and it would have broke their heart to break a smile. At least the bar staff in the clubhouse were friendlier. Lack of wifi at a reasonable rate was disappointing as well. Particularly when people are looking to use apps on their phones as a golf gps etc. The room was reasonably clean but very hot. It is difficult to fit air con into older buildings but our room was oppressive and it was not even the height of the current great weather we have had. The shower was pretty poor as well, very under powered. Another strange one was when a member of our party had their room stripped before they had checked out in the morning. Very strange.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here again on a golf outing 7th August, grounds,hotel building and golf courses are beautiful. The room was nice and comfortable. The staff never seemed to smile or chat to hotel residents. I asked if there was Wifi only to be told that there was a charge of £5 for an hour or £9 for 24 hrs to get the Wifi code!!! The cost of the room is £130 b&b per night,but yet they charge extra for Internet !!!

The local buses, trains and restaurants offer free Wifi! Shame on you Murrayshall House.

Katie
Alexandria, Scotland

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a one night wee break from murrayshall, played a round of golf in the afternoon.
Course was perfect no complaints , had a 4 ball of hackers in front of us which turned our day into a 5 hour round, must admit , I would have expected the Marshall out, but this did not spoil our round.
Booked the restaurant and boy were we impressed, great food and excellent service, this was also repeated at breakfast.
The only thing that would have made our experience better would have been a better room, first impressions are everything , entering our room(8) felt like going into a storeroom, door opens out words with no features . Ate breakfast some savoury items would go down well with your coffee , but no real complaints....

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murrayshall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayshall House Hotel

Address: A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrayshall House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With forty-one bedrooms including sixteen suites, all our bedrooms are individually styled, furnished and decorated, giving a unique blend of tradition and modern day luxury. All rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped, colour TV, telephone, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, plus complimentary mineral water and shortbread. Every bedroom also includes a trouser press, high quality linen and a spacious well-appointed bathroom with luxury Elemis products. We can also provide a gun cupboard, golf club storage, fishing tackle storage and a drying room. Whether you're staying with us on a weekend break, for a romantic getaway, wedding or honeymoon, or for a field sports or golfing holiday, our varying styles of bedrooms can accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Murrayshall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayshall Hotel Perth
Murrayshall House Hotel Scone, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murrayshall House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.