We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dalshian House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dalshian House to your Saves list
Dalshian House
Old Perth Rd., Pitlochry PH16 5TD , Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Dalshian Direct!!
Ranked #13 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night in a quick 'night away' from town and I am really glad we did! We are Scottish and are often disappointed by supposedly 'Scottish experiences' and tourism. However, this was wholly positive. A big old house with lovely grounds, the rooms were comfortable, clean and (our room) was nicely finished with fantastic tiles in the bathroom (original? I want them!) The owners were welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. The breakfast was fantastic - fruits, cereals, yoghurt, juice, tea/coffee and a great selection of hot food (much more than the normal guest house or b&b). We opted for the Scottish breakfast, although next time I think I would get the smoked salmon and eggs...
Would be happy to stay there again and recommend to others. A 'good' Scottish experience - traditional but not twee and a lovely welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    24
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
184
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Dalshian House is a period property furnished in a country house style situated just outside Pitlochry. Our room & its en suite were very large & thoughtfully furnished. The bed was huge (super king size) and very comfortable, and there were lots of nice touches provided - iced water, hot chocolate, flavoured teas. But the jewel in the crown has to be the breakfast. I can honestly say we have never had better. As well as cereal there was a plentiful selection of different fruits & compotes. The cooked selection was equally generous - wanted to try the porridge with either cream or whisky but couldn't manage everything. Hubby had a cooked breakfast which he said was superb with lovely vine tomatoes & fresh mushrooms and I had French toast with crispy bacon & maple syrup. Heaven! Even saw a red squirrel in the garden which made my day. The owners have clearly put a lot of thought into giving guests a very comfortable stay, and it shows.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our room here was comfortable, quiet, and clean. A nice house with an inviting, homey feel, and friendly hosts. Breakfast was tasty. A 5 minute drive out of town, but not so far as to be inconvenient. We were only in town for a single night, but would have been happy to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgilphead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a marvellous overnight stay here while visiting the Pitlochry Festival Theatre.
Comfortable bedrooms,with tasteful decor and really superb breakfast,with huge choice on menu.
This was our third visit and we will be back definitely
Mr and Mrs Ward,Argyll

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Spotless and luxury rooms, very friendly hosts, excellent breakfast.
Everything was PERFECT.
You need the car to go to Pitlochry (2 min drive) but the Dalshian House is really awesome and is the perfect stay in Pitlochry.

Othman from Morocco

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A beautiful house with lovely hostess in a perfect location
The breakfast cooked to order was delicious
room very clean and nice atmosphere.
close to Blair Castle watermill and other attraction in the area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a very friendly place to stay. It is quite a way out of town, however, which means (with one exception) a short drive is necessary to get to any restaurants.

We stayed in a triple room, which was up in the attic under the roof. The room itself was nice enough, although a bit worn and faded. The main problem was that it was extremely hot and stuffy. There was a major heat wave on, which I admit is unusual for the area. The small window and the irregular shape of the room, however, meant there was no air circulation. Also, having to keep the window open all night meant a lot of noise from the motorway disrupted our sleep. A small fan provided in the room would have been a most welcome addition. Another problem with the room was that the wifi did not reach up there.

Breakfast was splendid, probably the best breakfast of our trip. And the gardens surrounding the house were a perfect place to relax with a bottle of wine.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dalshian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalshian House

Address: Old Perth Rd., Pitlochry PH16 5TD , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century country guest house set within one acre of secluded woodland and gardens, conveniently situated on the outskirts of Pitlochry. Here Martin and Heather Walls extend the warmest of welcomes in a genuinely friendly, but unobtrusive, manner. Tastefully decorated with a mixture of contemporary and traditional furnishings, you will find yourself captivated by this tranquil house. Seven spacious en-suite bedrooms all individually decorated, in keeping with their original character are provided with every comfort one would expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dalshian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalshian House Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalshian House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.