We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craigroyston House and Lodge

Save Saved
You added Craigroyston House and Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craigroyston House and Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 Lower Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 63 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My partner Emma and I received a wonderfully warm welcome from Gretta who took great pride in showing us to our lovely room and making sure we had everything we needed. The room was perfect and breakfast was very tasty on all three mornings. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and took the time to ask us what we were going to get up to and offer helpful bits of advice. We had a lovely chat with Douglas as we were leaving, and he was kind enough to let us leave our bag whilst we went on a walk before catching our train home. Pitlochry is a great place to visit, and Craigroyston House and Lodge is an ideal place to stay whilst you do it. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    24
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
70
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have stayed at Craigroyston House on a number of occasions in the past and enjoyed our recent 3 night break Although the weather was lovely, the room and bathroom did get a bit cold despite the heating coming on late afternoon and in the morning. However the bed was very comfortable and the room nicely decorated. We noticed hot water bottles and electric blankets in the wardrobe, which was a nice touch in case of sub-zero temperatures.The breakfasts were excellent with a good choice of cooked items according to my husband. I would have liked some fresh fruit and stronger coffee with my toast. I would definitely come back to Craigroyston House as there is always a lovely welcome from the Maxwells and the staff is very efficient. There is lots to see and do around Pitlochry and we were lucky enough to see red squirrels at Loch o'the Lowes, deer at the Highland Safari Park and the Enchanted Forest at Faskally Wood - an amazing show. We had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have been staying at the Craigroyston House every year (sometimes twice) for the last 7 years and our recent stay was as amazing as it always is. We have stayed in a number of 4-5 star hotels during our travels and there is not another place anywhere where we feel more comfortable and looked after. Douglas and Gretta undoubtedly add so much to our stays - all the staff who work there are very friendly and welcoming and no request is ever a problem...i imagine anyone who has come away from the Craigroyston stating that there was a problem obviously did not inform any of the staff about it because they would always go out their way to help or solve problems!!
The rooms are lovely and cosy and decorated in a way which is in keeping with the cosy homely feel of the entire house. Breakfast is always a highlight!
Over the last couple of years we have also taken our little boy who has had 2 fantastic stays since he came along and all his special requirements have been met.
We will be returning very soon - thank you for our fantastic stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have enjoyed staying at Craigroyston House for the past thirty years and our recent stay was no exception. The accommodation is conveniently central with good views of the surrounding countryside. The house is impressive with an attractive garden. The rooms are a delight with comfortable beds and good ensuite facilities. Breakfasts provide cereals with fruit options and cooked breakfasts are a delight which are tasty and attractively served. There is a large comfortable lounge with an open fire when the weather is cooler. The owners are very friendly providing a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

On the recommendation of a friend, my partner and I chose to stay at Craigroyston House, located in the beautiful town of Pitlochry. We booked for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was both elegant and immaculately presented whilst very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic each morning and set us up for the days activities. The Maxwells were very welcoming and friendly through out our time there and gave us good information on things to do in Pitlochry. The stay was very peaceful and it was lovely and quiet at night. We are returning to Pitlochry in early April and will definitely be booking back into Craigroyston House. Great value for money, thank you for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Chilly BnB, Central heating not upto chilly nights/mornings. Hot water not HOT. Towels barely big enough to wrap round waste.
In need of refurbishment to bring it up to same standards and quality as 4 star BnB within Pitlochry.
Poor selection of cerals crammed onto table. No sign of fresh fruit. orange juice already poured out and on table ? quite strange.
Table for two not large enough.
Not even offered receipt ?
Been to many BnBs in Pitlochry and can honestly say this is the first which I will not be going back to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A friend and I were traveling around Scotland for 12 days in early September 2012. We spent our first 2 nights at the Craigroyston (and booked at the last minute for a discounted rate - although this place is worth paying full price). We booked a twin room. When we arrived, we were escorted to a lovely room on the top floor (no elevator) with 1 double bed and 1 twin bed and large ensuite bathroom. It is a lovely, comfortable inn with a superb location for exploring Pitlochry on foot. We didn't get back into the car until we had to depart Pitlochry. Our hostess, Mrs. Maxwell, generously provided helpful information and suggestions for us. I would stay here again. A full, cooked-to-order Scotish breakfast is included. You will hardly need to eat lunch!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Craigroyston House and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigroyston House and Lodge

Address: 2 Lower Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigroyston House and Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Craigroyston House and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigroyston House And Lodge Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigroyston House and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.