We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The House, the secret garden and the Bothy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torrdarach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Torrdarach House to your Saves list
Torrdarach House
Golf Course Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AU, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Golf Breaks at Torrdarach
Ranked #1 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The House, the secret garden and the Bothy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed only one night in Torrdarach House in June but having lasting lovely memories of Louise & StruanL's house. The young couple must be perfectionists to keep the house in flawless condition. Breakfast at the observatory looking out to what I call the "secret garden" is no doubt unique to this house. And we saw the red squirrel !
LIKE talking to the host. Though ranked No.1 in Tripadvisor, StruanL humbly remarked that they are not the only guesthouse well received by reviewers.
Louise told us they had ran a hotel in the middle of nowhere in north Scotland. So this quality accommodation is a result of the owners' passion, continual endeavor and management experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hello organpipecoral. A great review of your stay. Thanks very much indeed. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Scotland. Thanks again, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
199
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lived up to expectations from the reviews! Lovely little spot with a fabulous view over the tree lined garden in the breakfast room. Room was decorated to a high spec with comfy bed and great shower plus touches such a spare rucksack available in your room to borrow were nice. Parking spaces available for every room and it's just a short walk down the hill into Pitlochry.

The DVD player didn't work and there was a green line down the TV screen, but we let them know and I'm sure these will be fixed by the time you get there!

FYI - There is a Co-op in town which was handy for packed lunches.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Bothy which is seperate from the main house. It felt good to be a little independe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi OutdoorJW. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in The Bothy and thanks for the review. TV and DVD player now working correctly, thanks for pointing it out. Kind regards, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed here Friday 23rd prior to Blair Atholl horse trials,what a warm welcome a refreshing pot of tea and delicious tablet we received on arrival
Room 5 is roadside and very quiet we even slept with the window open all night.Breakfast is local produce and Louise makes her own marmalade
Thankyou Struan and Louise for a lovely stay would have loved to have stayed for another night ,however you were fully booked so guests always book in advance.My partner and I went on to stay at Fonab Castle which was fantastic,however I would have been more than happy to stay at TORRDARACH

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi Juneey. Thanks for the great review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed a good weekend in Pitlochry. I hope the rest of the season goes well in the shop. Maybe see you again sometime. Regards, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have just returned from a two night visit at this lovely B & B and can only say -perfect. We stayed in 'The Bothy' which is a self contained apartment and it was perfect. Spotlessly clean, lovely decor and fab shower. Struan and Louise are perfect hosts, attentive and observant yet effortless in their ability to make you feel relaxed and comfortable. Their breakfasts are delicious, the menu is extensive, locally produced and delicious, much to the detriment of my waistline! The next time we visit Pitlochry we will hopefully be able to stay here. We cannot recommend this gorgeous B &B highly enough. I know I have said perfect a lot but it was. Even the red squirrels entertained us at breakfast.

Room Tip: If you prefer to come and go ask for The Bothy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi BURGESS63. Thanks for the great review. Don't worry about the overuse of 'perfect' - we could listen to that all day!. Very pleased to hear you liked The Bothy too. Thanks again for the kind review, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I plus a friend stayed 2 nights at Torrdarach house on a weeks tour of Scotland. It is without doubt the best B&B I have ever stayed in, including many when I used to travel on business. Excellent rooms, beautiful décor, very comfy beds, lovely towels and soap in the bathroom.The breakfast was first rate. Very professional, helpful and competent hosts.Their attention to detail is superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hello Rob645. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Thanks for writing such a kind review. Many thanks again, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay after touring the far north of Scotland. Previous B & B's were really nice, but Torrdarach was SPOT ON !! Believe all the good points mentioned in previous reviews, they are really true. Spotless in all areas, rooms beautifully done with exceptionally comfy bed, bathroom fabulous, room to move and with everything you need. Our room at the front had superb views of the garden and surrounding hills. Breakfast ample of everything, both cold buffet and hot food freshly cooked to order. Nothing was too much trouble for hosts Struan and Louise. Without going on and on, please just trust me and if you are looking for a place to stay in Pitlochry don't go any further, book Torrdarach House, I'm sure you will be more than happy with your stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 on the first floor at the front, lovely views and fabulous bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi Cutts. Great to hear Torrdarach was SPOT ON - that's the sort of thing we like to hear. Maybe we will see you in Pitlochry again sometime. Kind regards, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, good beds, perfectly equipped. Very friendly and competent hosts. Excellent breakfast in special room (feeling of being in the woods). Enjoyed to get a cup of tea every afternoon, served in the living room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi Sensoryaddicts. Thanks for the kind review. Delighted you enjoyed yourselves. Regards, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torrdarach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrdarach House

Address: Golf Course Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torrdarach House is our stunning, four star GOLD, contemporary bed and breakfast in Pitlochry. Quiet woodland garden setting close to Pitlochry town centre. Our guest lounge with open fire overlooks the garden and has views beyond to the Tummel Valley. Breakfast is served in the brand new south facing dining room also overlooking the garden. Local beers, over 40 whiskies and Austrian wines by the bottle can be served to guests in the lounge or garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Torrdarach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrdarach House Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torrdarach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.