We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torrdarach House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Torrdarach House to your Saves list
Torrdarach House
Golf Course Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The best B&B we stayed in of many in Scotland. An absolute delight. Exquisitely decorated, with authentic period features, and very spacious rooms - which contained everything you could possibly wish for. Wonderfully comfortable beds encouraged blisssful sleep (highest quality mattresses and linen, I'm sure) -- and then a marvellous home-cooked breakfast, with organic and locally-sourced foods. A delighful sitting room with an open fire overlooks a glorious garden, and 30 malt whiskeys to choose from in the cupboard. Louise and Struan have thought of every detail. Would go to Pitlorchy just to stay there again! Magnificent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Hi Rebecca, thanks for your kind review of Torrdarach House. We are thrilled the three of you enjoyed yourselves and that we managed to keep three Australians warm during our rather chilly autumn weather. We love our beds too and many of our guests have commented on how well they have slept. They have certainly proved to be a good investment. If you do come back to Highland Perthshire again, then it would be a pleasure to have you make a return visit. Thanks again, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
201
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My sister and I have just returned from a short but very memorable stay at this splendid house. Struan and Louise obviously enjoy welcoming visitors. The ambience of the public rooms and bedrooms is wonderful........difficult to achieve. The little touches stand out. Louise's lemon drizzle cake with coffee in front of a real wood fire [all complimentary], the iced water in our bedroom, the incredibly comfortable beds, and of course the sparkling en-suite!

The breakfast, served in front of a beautiful view of some of Perthshire's notable trees, was outstanding. Porridge with a hint of malt whisky, then scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. The eggs came from their own hens and the salmon was smoked in their outhouse. More 'little touches' that make a huge difference to a visitor's spirits.

Thankyou Struan and Louise. We shall return!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to come highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Hi Gillian. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Torrdarach House. I am delighted you both enjoyed your stay and that our 'little touches' made all the difference. Louise's lemon cake has been a bit of a hit this summer so there is, unfortunately, rarely much left for me! We are looking forward to your promised return visit. Thanks again, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The small rucksack in the wardrobe put there for your convenience may seem a small idea but is typical of the attention to detail that Louise and Struan have lavished upon every aspect of Torrdarach House. The house in its wooded setting is beautiful, the facilities exceptional in every way and the welcome as warm and cheerful as you could wish for. We stayed for two nights very recently and enjoyed every moment. From the large and luxuriously appointed bedroom (Room 1) to the superbly comfortable lounge with its large selection of books and roaring fire, everything invites you to sit back and relax. Breakfasts, chosen from a wide menu were delicious and more than ample for the days ahead. Struan's advice about where to eat and what Pitlochry had to offer was spot on and supported by a wealth of pamphlets and brochures. This was our first visit to Torrdarach House; we intend to return sooner than later. Thank you both Louise and Struan for a lovely stay. Bill and Dianne Ford

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Bill and Diane, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Torrdarach House and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. It was lovely to see you again and catch up on your news. We love it when regulars from our previous hotel track us down and come to test out our new place. If we don't see you over the winter then I hope you enjoy your rather adventurous holiday plans for next summer. Thanks again, Struan and Louise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, Fife
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Just back from a fantastic overnight stay at Torrdarach. The House is amazing - a home from home - and Louise and Struan made our spur of the moment night away with our young son so enjoyable. They have taken so much care over every detail and it shows throughout the house. We stayed in Room 5 with the Super King sized bed. It was really comfortable and the en-suite facilities were great too. Lovely toiletries, soft towels and interesting books to look at. Breakfast was delicious and lots of choice too. Our hosts were really friendly and ensured that we had everything we needed to make our stay special. We are already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Hi Louise. Thanks for the review. We really appreciate your kind comments and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. If I am not mistaken, your promise to come back has already materialised in a booking for next month. Marvelous. You're definitely my kind of customer! Thanks again and see you in a couple of weeks, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmenhorst
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

As this was our second trip to Pitlochry and our first was several years ago and we could not find the last b&b, we decided to stay at Torrdarach House. This was one of the best choices we have ever made. The bedrooms, bathrooms and the lounge and breakfast rooms are planned and designed to the smallest detail. They offer everything you would love to have in your hotel or b&b room. You can just imagine how Louise & Struan wrote down a list of accessories they would love to have at a perfect b&b and transposed it onto their own b&b. Struans welcome was very friendly and he gave us a good advise where to go for dinner (The Auld Smiddy Inn). The breakfast at the morning was even better than that. All freshly cooked and again with lots of love and detail done. We will definetly come back and stay more than just one night as the area and town of Pitlochry, as it invites you to do so many things (hiking, cycling etc.). But we will also come back to have the opportunity to stay at the Torrdarach House as it was a really nice experience. Then I will take the opportunity to taste some of the rarities stored in the whiskey cabinet in their lounge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear heimo408, thank you very much for your detailed review of Torrdarach House. I am delighted you appreciate the effort we have put in to all the details that you enjoyed so much during your short stay with us. I also agree that Pitlochry has a lot to offer and we look forward to your promised longer stay next time - as you point out, lots of malts to try. Thanks also for providing 4 excellent photos of Room 1 and the house. King regards, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We have just returned from two wonderful nights at Torrdarach House and will definitely be recommending it to anyone visiting the lovely town of Pitlochry. Louise and Struan were brilliant hosts, making us feel very welcome on our arrival and throughout our stay. Their home is beautiful - warm, cosy and tastefully decorated and especially loved the gorgeous toiletries supplied in the stylish shower room. Breakfast was delicious and set us up nicely for the rest of the day. Would love to have stayed longer and definitely hope to return sooner rather than later.

Thank you for a memorable stay, Louise and Struan.

Susan and Allan Blair

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hi Susan. Thanks for your kind review of Torrdarach House. I am pleased you had such a memorable stay and that you would have liked to have stayed longer.....maybe next time? It was a pleasure meeting the two of you. Thanks again, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed for one night while visiting the 'Enchanted Forest' and were not disappointed. The house was beautifully decorated to a very high standard and the rooms spotlessly clean, with very nice attention to detail.

We were made to feel very welcome by Struan and Louise and enjoyed a complimentary pot of tea in front of a roaring fire on our arrival, which was much appreciated.

Very comfortable beds and a superb breakfast made the stay even more enjoyable. The choice provided at breakfast had something for everyone with quality local produce used - nice to see local businesses being supported.

We look forward to a return visit and hope to try out more of the wide selection of malt whiskeys on offer in the lounge!

Thank you for a super break.

Room Tip: Check out the website which has very helpful additional information on the individual rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StruanL, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Hi Dolina, it was a pleasure meeting you and your family the other day. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of Torrdarach House and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are lighting the fire most nights now and a 'malt in the lounge' is proving more popular than ever. Looking forward to your promised return visit. Many thanks again, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Torrdarach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrdarach House

Address: Golf Course Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torrdarach House is our stunning, four star GOLD, contemporary bed and breakfast in Pitlochry. Quiet woodland garden setting close to Pitlochry town centre. Our guest lounge with open fire overlooks the garden and has views beyond to the Tummel Valley. Breakfast is served in the brand new south facing dining room also overlooking the garden. Local beers, over 40 whiskies and Austrian wines by the bottle can be served to guests in the lounge or garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Torrdarach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrdarach House Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torrdarach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.