We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Craigvrack Hotel

Craigvrack Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Craigvrack Hotel to your Saves list
Craigvrack Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Moulin Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Not great, yet not terrible. The rooms are on the small side. We booked a room with a nice view and got a room with a view of the parking lot. Apparently they give out the rooms on a first come first serve basis. So much for our reservation. The breakfast was ok and the staff were friendly overall.

Room Tip: I dont think you can choose a good room. Arrive early if you want a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay in Pitlochry. The Craigvrack was a brilliant find! we had not booked anywhere as decided on a whim, the weather was so good. We drove past and saw the beer garden which sold us on the hottest day of the year so far. We were lucky that they could accomodate us. We did initially book just 1 night but after dinner which was amazing, we decided to stay on. I jsut want to say a special thanks to Alan, the owner for his advice on places to go & see in the area & also for his whisky experience! All in all we had a great time, would highly recommend the hotel, spotlessly clean, pleasant staff food the best I have had in a very, very long time, even the weather was the best I have had in a very long time. Will return. Thanks to you all. The Gibsons

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed 2 nights during the ETAPE weekend. This was our first visit to the Craigvrack Hotel but it certainly wont be our last. We were met with a cheery smile from the owner and a lovely homely room overlooking the surrounding hills. After getting settled in we headed downstairs to the bar where they had a fantastic selection of whisky and a good choice of real ales. The bar had a friendly and relaxed atmosphere with a few friendly locals more than happy to chat with you. We were intending on having a couple of drinks before heading down into the town for dinner but after browsing the menu in there we decided to stay put. This turned out to be a fantastic choice!!!! The meal was first class!! I am quite fussy when it comes to ordering steak but im pleased to say that my steak was cooked to perfection, and not a steak knife in sight!! To sum up all I can say is that the Craigvrack is definately worth a visit, even if its just for a meal. Relaxed, friendly, a great menu and all at a fair price. We are already looking forward to our next visit, I just hope the weather is kinder for the cycle event!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Just returned from a lovely chilling weekend in Pitlochry, to attend the Gallacher and Lyle concert at Pitlochry Theatre last night (26/3). This was a repeat visit for us to the Craigvrack Hotel. Excellent VFM Winter Warmer deal 3 x nts B&B for price of 2! Great service from friendly staff and cosy bar for a wee tipple. Even the weather was great. We will be back! Our thanks once again to Alan, Barbara & the team at Craigvrack!

Room Tip: We preferred our rooms in newer part of hotel last visit, however our room in older part of hotel ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We recently took our two grandchildren, 9 and 7, to see a pantomime at Pitlochry Festival Theatre and found that this was the only hotel which could accomodate all four of us. On arrival the welcome was friendly and much was made of the kids. The room was spotless and comfortable. What made it for the children was that they had their own room within the family room. When we came back in at night from eating in town, we were told that there was no problem with the children joining us in the bar instead since was quiet. Breakfast the next morning was served with a cheery smile and pleasant conversation and our granddaughter was taken outside to learn the names of some of the mountains and be shown the best spot for good photographs. The twqo members of staff we met certainly made us feel welcome, although we were just "single nighters", and were helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We always go away at Hogmany and were looking forward to a trip this year to Pitlochry. We were not disappointed! Alan greeted us and from then on the Hoolie started. The room was very clean, comfortable and warm. The staff very friendly and could not do enough for you.
Sammy worked her socks off from morning to night! Great crowd staying and had a ball.
Big plus was the street party on the 1st which enabled us to party on. We would like to come back again next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is the second year running that we have stayed at this hotel for the New Year celebration. This year, as last, Alan, Barbara and all their staff did their upmost to ensure that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable, Alan even came out to grit the road and help my low profile tyred car get up the hill after a sudden snowfall on our arrival. The rooms are of a good standard, with all the amenities you could expect. The breakfasts were hearty and set you up for the day. The bar was well stocked and the locals made you welcome. I could not fault the hotel in anyway and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigvrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigvrack Hotel

Address: West Moulin Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigvrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Craigvrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigvrack Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigvrack Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.