We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is a warmth here that is unique.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Haugh House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added East Haugh House to your Saves list
East Haugh House
East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“There is a warmth here that is unique.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel is excellent. We stay here twice every year, breaking our journey to and from the Highlands. Hospitable friendly owners, with other excellent Staff. Dinner is beautifully presented and excellently cooked - it's a feast. [Particularly the scallops]. Breakfast is a joy with fresh fruit and wide choice of cooked items. Comfy beds with crisp white linen. Spotlessly clean bedrooms and bathrooms. It is also in a beautiful area and the surrounding countryside is marvellous. What more could you want? We always look forward to our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you very much for posting another lovely 5 star review of your stay with us!
We are so delighted that you have chosen to holiday at East Haugh House again, year after year.
The picture you have shared of the scallop dish is great.
I have passed your lovely comments onto all the staff here who take so much pride in providing the very best service to our guests.
We look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    45
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
44
171
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our family of 5 had simply the most lovely time at East Haugh. Karen, Anna, Joanne, Duncan and the rest of the team were fantastic. They treated us so well. They helped us with our travel plans and every suggestion was very informed. Sometimes with 3 kids (ages 9, 12, 15) it can be difficult to please everyone. But after we left, the kids said it was the best hotel ever. The food was incredible, from the fresh fruit, eggs, salmon, sausage, porridge (which is all part of the breakfast) to the amazing dinners and desserts. We are still in fact talking about the food! Even the very chic French family staying there kept talking about the food! We would be remiss not to mention the beautiful rooms. They are so pretty, very clean, very tastely done, all with the right amenities. The kids liked the giant bathtubs and played football/soccer on the front grounds. Pitlochry is a charming town and if you plan to visit, don't hesitate to choose East Haugh. In fact, we would suggest travelling to the Highlands just to stay there! We recommend this hotel to everyone of all ages and especially those who appreciate quality.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are very, very nicely done. Each room is unique and named after fly fishing f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are so pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us recently.
Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive and positive review.
Our large jacuzzi baths are indeed very popular, especially with kids!
It's lovely to read that you are still talking about how much your enjoyed our food. Our brilliant chefs use the very finest and freshest locally sourced ingredients so it means a lot to us to hear this wonderful feedback.
We will pass on all of your lovely comments to our fantastic staff and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to East Haugh House soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Fantastic food, superb room: wonderful. Booked day before, luckily someone had cancelled. Stayed in Ally k room. Great shower with great mist option. People great. Endless praise, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We prefer a bathroom to shower room although the shower was great ! We were offered an alternate roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely 5 star review of your recent stay with us.
I'm delighted to read that you so enjoyed the large shower in the room you stayed in. All of our other rooms do indeed have en-suite baths with showers, many of which are lovely big Jacuzzi baths.
We hope you return again to East Haugh House where we can hopefully provide you with a room with a bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Warm welcome, great food and wine. Only let down are the standard rooms that are cramped. Superiors are better and worth the money. Make sure you don't get a ground floor, as the walls and floors are paper thin and noise carries. You will have a lovely time though :) Ample parking and wi fi was ok, although signal patchy.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about our food and service which you so kindly described as "five star".
As a 4 star graded hotel we are delighted that you felt our food and service was above this level.
We are however very disappointed to read that you felt your standard room was a let down.
We have 3 ground floor rooms in our separate bothy building adjacent to the main building.
We admit that the walls are not as thick as those in the main hotel building which is some 350 years old with very thick walls and floors. However we very rarely have any complaints regarding this so I do apologise if you had some rather noisy neighbours that night!
All of our standard rooms have ensuite bathrooms with showers and have 5 or 6 foot double beds or twin beds. We have found over the years that guests' prefer a larger bed over more floor space in the room.
Our superior rooms are indeed much more spacious and we would love to welcome you back to East Haugh House where we will provide you with a complimentary upgrade to a superior room to give you that extra space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Had a fabulous stay at the East Haugh Hotel.the staff were so friendly and welcoming and couldn't have done anymore for us. Best food we have had over the entire trip, it's a bit pricey but totally worth it as the chef is extremely talented!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We were so pleased to read your lovely review. Thank you!
I have passed your positive comments regarding our food onto our chefs who I am sure will be absolutely delighted to hear that you thought it was the best food you had on your trip to Scotland.
Please do come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Been going to Pitlochry for years but this was the first time we have stayed at East Haugh House and I have to say, it was a lovely find. We stayed in the 1 bed bothy, 2mins from the hotel which was comfortable and had all the expected facilities. A nice addition was the garden seat outside the bothy where you could sit and enjoy an early morning cup of tea whilst taking in the view. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was definitely the best we have experienced in Pitlochry. A very pleasant, homely hotel that we will definitely re-visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We're so delighted that you thought the food was the best you had tasted in Pitlochry!
The team in our kitchen have a real passion for the produce they use, which is all locally sourced to ensure quality of produce, so to receive such positive comments from guests is greatly received and welcomed.
Thank you once again for your lovely review, and myself and all of the team here at East Haugh hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Lovely people, delicious food! A pleasure, we will go back if we are back in Scotland. The chef, husband of our delightfully nice host is a truly talented cook. We therefore enjoyed thoroughly our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to East Haugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Haugh House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.