We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem; one to keep a secret !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Haugh House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added East Haugh House to your Saves list
East Haugh House
East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem; one to keep a secret !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Took the special and beautiful lady in my life away for a romantic night and stayed in the East Haugh room; we both had a wonderful night. Jacuzzi bath was my favourite, Kat lazed and enjoyed the open real fire and the four poster bed was just sheer tranquility ;-) Staff were well presented, extremely attentive, polite, courteous, friendly and to be honest they couldn't do enough for both of us 10/10! Well done, certainly a credit to the hotel. Food was yummy in my tummy. Kat is vegetarian and chef adapted any dishes to suit her needs and wishes, couldn't ask for better service. Quiet, relaxed ambiance throughout the hotel and it was very family orientated, great to see babies and well behaved kids at dinner. The only problem is that we couldn't stay longer, truly outstanding place. We will be back again and again.

Room Tip: East Haugh room is bestest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    50
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
47
193
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Over another superb dinner at East Haugh House Hotel last night , my wife and I were reminiscing about our previous visits over the years to this lovely, welcoming family run hotel. We recalled that the first time we came across East Haugh was 14 years ago when we were staying elsewhere in Pitlochry and opted to eat at East Haugh and Lesley, the owner, came to our rescue when no taxi turned up and she so willingly drove us back to our hotel .That was the caring ethos of this hotel THEN and it is the same NOW. And a few moments chatting with Neil and Lesley and their staff this week reminded us of that.
We celebrated my 50th birthday with family at East Haugh (too many) years ago and every one of our party...young and old... loved their time at the hotel and we have hugely enjoyed eating at the hotel several times since then. We can still clearly recall the night when we turned up at one of East Haugh's excellent Fish and Chips evenings to find that our fellow diners were all members of the King of Qatar's entourage !!!! When a hotel's Fish and Chips are good enough for the King of Qatar then one can probably rely on the quality of the cuisine generally !!! But then, every single time we have visted East Haugh ,Neil and his chef's team have created food that is as "hot" as a World Cup in Qatar!! So noone should be in the least surprised to find that the food at East Haugh is in the premier league.
Our room , The Dusty Miller, was beautifully comfortable, especially the beautiful four poster bed and the jacuzzi bath, and every single member of staff went out of his/ her staff wanted us to have a great time at East Haugh. It was so clear that every member of the East Haugh team was proud to work for Neil and Lesley and that was lovely to hear.
Just go and share some time at East Haugh with Neil, Lesley, their daughter, Sophie, and their lovely team and enjoy the wonderful food, comfort, welcome and old fashioned care and service that you will find there.
It is a special place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked a Golden wedding anniversary lunch at the excellent East Haugh House for a party of 14. We were made to feel very welcome and had a drink in the bar which is very interesting (game and fishing theme) warm and homely. Entering the naturally lit dining room our table was professionally set, the waiting staff were excellent and serviced our ever need including extra drinks from the bar. Food was prepared freshly,very well presented, cooked to perfection and tasted wonderful, there was not one bad thing said about any of the dishes served. The menu has a good selection and i think something for all (look it up). There was a small tastefully decorated lounge area just of the dining room which we used for photographs. The hotel sits just south of Pitlochry with good grounds (kids had a wee run around) a couple of minutes off the A9.
As you can tell I highly recommend this venue as they made my parent's anniversary very special, it would also be good for lunch or dinner at any time as it is very relaxing. So if you are travelling up or down the A9 give it a try.

Room Tip: We never stayed so cannot comment on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night recently, the staff were so welcoming, food was delicious, can't fault the room in any way, tea and coffee and fresh milk delivered by staff and fresh biscuits too. Lovely dark dining room/bar with log fires.The bathroom was clean and spacious but was disappointed that the jacuzzi seemed to be broken though and nobody said. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay however i'm very sorry for the fault with the jacuzzi function on your bath. I understand it was fixed the next day and I do hope you were then able to enjoy a nice bubbly bath!
We hope you will return again to East Haugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Enjoyed our week stay in the Gate Lodge, the staff were all wonderful, very helpful, polite and very welcoming. We ate in the hotel a couple of times and found the food fantastic. My husband and son took advantage of the Gillie and booked a days fishing on the Tay, two fish caught and two very happy customers.
Don't like to moan about the Gate Lodge but we did find a few electrical items not working and would have liked a separate shower in the bathroom but thats just a personal preference.
Next time we come back we would like to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your lovely comments and have passed them onto the whole team here at East Haugh work very hard to provide our guests with the very best in service.
We're delighted you had a successful day on the river with two fish.
We understand some people like to have separate showers however we just don't have the space in the bathroom at the Gate Lodge.The shower attachment on the beautiful roll top ball and claw bath is a good compromise though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lanarkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My 6 year old son and I are just back from a night at East Haughs.

Everything about the hotel was wonderful, and despite it being a last minute booking it was certainly a great choice.

The food and wine were wonderful, the staff were charming and attentive, esp me when helping me to replace lost Enchanted Forest tickets and the hotel itself was cosy and inviting.

We'll definitely be back, although hopefully for longer next time!

Thanks again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAitken, Owner at East Haugh House, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
The whole of the team here at East Haugh work very hard to provide our guests with the very best in service, and locally sourced ingredients that our chefs along with owner Neil turn into a variety of mouthwatering options for our diners to enjoy.
We hope you can make it back for this year's Enchanted Forest event which will no doubt be a sell out again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights (dinner bed and breakfast) in a room with a four poster bed. The hotel is located in a very quiet area with plenty of easily accessible parking and, although not a problem for us, it would be close to a half hour walk into the centre of Pitlochry. The owners and staff were very welcoming, attentive and extremely efficient. The food, using lots of local produce, was generally excellent, although not so good for myself as a vegetarian. The room was spacious, clean and the open fire was a lovely feature. However the four poster bed was of a fairly basic pine construction that creaked more than a little when we ......... and the mattress was also quite soft. The en-suite facility was excellent with quality towels, dressing gowns and plenty of hot water from a powerful shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastHaughHouseHotel, General Manager at East Haugh House, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi 35Peter35

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here. I'm so glad you loved the food, I wish I could eat the food here too all the time, but my gym bill would be a fortune! We have 2 vegetarian starters and 2 main course on the menu, we are a hunting shooting fishing themed hotel and restaurant and most of or menu represents that with Deer Liver, Venison Fillet, Pigeon, Hare, Grouse and many more game dishes, we feel that a few Veg options are ample for or type of clientèle, however I think a nice baked vegetarian tart would work really well on our new season menu.
I very happy you enjoyed your room so much, jacuzzi baths are Fab for relaxing in.

We hope to see you again soon

Many thanks

Sophie McGown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to East Haugh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Haugh House

Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your East Haugh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Haugh House Hotel Pitlochry
East Haugh Hotel
East Haugh Pitlochry
East Haugh House Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Haugh House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.