We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“atrocious, filthy, cold and very poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel to your Saves list
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Knockard Rd, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM JUST £89!!
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
glasgow
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“atrocious, filthy, cold and very poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We complained about 2 rooms before upgrading to their so called 'superiour' room which was just as filthy as the other rooms, but had at least had a lick of paint in the last 5 years. They charged an unreasonable sum for the upgrade when we were checking out, which was not what we originally discussed when we checked in. Atrocious, would never come back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    178
    80
    40
    18
See reviews for
55
280
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

I travelled here in Feb with my boyfriend and also friends. We had a fantastic time,really lovely reception staff when we first went in,we went to our rooms and it was old fashioned decor,it was large though and bathroom was huge! We upgraded to a superior room and it was much better. Decor was really nice,modern and still a huge room,with a big flat screen tv. With a bay window facing with a great view! The meal at night was really nice and served quick didnt have to wait long,again breakfast was lovely. The pool and sauna was really nice,being a hydro we thought it would have more but it was still really nice,and thought it was good towels were provided. Pitlochry is a really nice little town,we had great fun at night. The kingfisher bar and mckays are fantastic!! Had such a laugh,music was great! We took a trip to the fish laders in Pitlochry which was nice to see and also the house of bruar which was nice to say we have been.
We will deff book again,even if its older people that go we had a great weekend!!1 =)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Travelled with Shearings Coach holidays and stayed at Pitlochry Hydro Hotel for 4 night All Inclusive stay. Coach travel and driver were exceptionally good and the hotel surpassed all of my expectations - food was near perfect, service was very very good and the range of drinks available on All Inclusive tariff was very good also.
Would recommend this break to anyone who wants to get away for a pleasant short break at a very reasonable price - we will be returning in the future without any doubt - even if the snow was to be the same again!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

This is one in a chain of holiday hotels and is marketed as such offering 2-3 night weekend & longer mid-week breaks. Our rooms were the basic older rooms - the single was small but warm & comfortable with good facilities - the large double, also with good facilities, however had a rather lumpy mattress and a large inadequately heated bathroom (outside it was sub-zero). Lighting in the room could also have been brighter. Service from the hard working staff was excellent and note that (despite some reviews) the efficient restaurant manager does have a sense of humour. Food choice was limited but of good quality. Entertainment was perhaps not to everyone's taste but we found it enjoyable. The free bar for 3 hours on the Saturday night was an unexpected bonus (not available year round). Unfortunately we were unable to use the indoor pool that weekend as the boiler had developed a fault.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

hotel decor lovely but wish it had been done more to the charactecter of the beautiful building. the staff excellant apart from restaurant manager. also meal times were a bit hectic could do with a extension.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

i booked a double room for 2 nights for a surprise for my partners 40th. on arrival we were given a twin room. when we went to reception to let them know it should be a double we got an upgrade to one of the luxury rooms. it was great and really modern with loads of tea coffee etc flat screen tv on the wall and lovely bathroom. the hotel itself is really nice and has a lovely laid back atmosphere about it. the leisure facilities were fab. the pool and jacuzzi were great and we spent ages relaxing there! we had breakfast only so can't comment on the evening meals but breakfast was lovely and plentiful with a selection of cereals, porridge, fruit juice, croissants, fruit, yogurt and a full cooked breakfast or kippers. the service was very good and efficient. entertainment on friday night was excellent with trish singing and doing a quiz. she was very funny and we really enjoyed it. we went into town on the saturday so didn't see the entertainment on saturday night. i don't have a bad word to say about our stay and will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We went on a four night stay self drive. Hotel from outside looks lovely as does lounge and receptopn area. We stayed in room 14 which was on the 1st floor, when we reached our room it was cold and not what we expected. We were under the impression that the hotel had been refurbished how wrong were we. The bed was a little bigger than a single bed and not much length to it (my partners feet were hanging off the end of the bed!!!). We booked an all inclusive deal which we thought was all inclusive but found out from the local chippy (food was bad) that this was not the case and that we only get £30.00 per room per night, seems alot but all drinks are charged at £3.00( this seemed to be the case with us). We left a day early as i had had enough, couldnt wait to get back home again. Would never stay in this hotel again and would be very reluctant to book any of shearings holidays again!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Address: Knockard Rd, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.