We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday girlie break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel to your Saves list
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Knockard Rd, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM JUST £89!!
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Birthday girlie break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I booked this as a trip for my friend's 60th through Caledonian Travel on 5th December. Hotel was lovely and very comfortable. Our room was very large with twin beds and lovely table and chairs for sitting in the warmth with a coffee from the well stocked facilities in the room. Bathroom was a bit in need of painting but no other problems. Breakfast was lovely as was the evening meal and plenty of staff so no waiting for long periods for food to be served. Entertainment on the Saturday evening was a singer and a quiz.

Coach travel with Caledonian Travel was excellent and our driver Alan was fab.

Would certainly travel with Caledonian Travel again and would also certainly stay at the Hyrdo Hotel,

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    178
    80
    40
    18
See reviews for
55
280
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
teesside
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

arrived via shearings short break .very quick booking in service ,room very clean warm ,and quiet . excellent lounge areas one with entertainment , one with cosy tv area . dining room well appointed and nice place to be in. very efficient staff , but supprisingly very few Scottish locals ,but well run by frank . meals were very good and filling .lovely swimming pool with easy access,opended early in the morning.sauna at the time under maintenance,small gym area also available. hotel situated on a hill close to village accessed by gradient path through hotel garden, not recommended in bad weather , or by easier walk out of hotel ,turning left and following pavement to end of road ,then turning left ,( easy 14 minutes ).although rooms dated hotel overall excellent , only drawback was hotel not responding to e - mails prior to visit so as friends travelling could have rooms close to us. hope to return at later date.

Room Tip: rooms1302 had extra table and 4 chairs were room 105 was smaller in size just beds dressing table an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

our trip was with shearings coach holidays.The hotel was excellent ,couldn't fault the room with a lovely view, plenty of space, and kept very clean. all the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was very enjoyable,especially the breakfast.The lounge and concert room were tastefully decorated for the Christmas season,the only down side was the walk back from the town if you decided to go for a walk,and the entertainment wasn't to our taste,but we would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel provided a very warm welcome, nice food and a friendly atmosphere. Meals were very pleasant and the staff were very good. The town of Pitlochry is small but interesting and the local area provides lots of scope for visits to distilleries, castles and other attractions.

Room Tip: Simple rooms but very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi, absolutely thrilled with your five star review. The Hotel is closed this week and will allow for all the hard working staff to get a wee break before Christmas......
Hope you have a lovely festive season yourself and hope to see you back here in 2015.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My first visit to scotland didnt dissapoint, good location, I watched the morning mist crawl up the river from a comfortable chair in the lounge.the meals were good , the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was adequate but clean. It could do with better wifi and more outdoor lighting outside especially down the path to the main road which needs a bit of tlc.on the whole I would recommend and I will definitely return

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello and thanks for posting a nice review. I think the heading of your review is lovely as I think we are a warm and friendly Hotel......of course we have our moments but for the vast majority of the time we look after our customers very well.
I know what you mean about sitting in the window....on occasion I take a bit of paperwork there and take advantage of a quiet afternoon myself but don't tell the big boss !!
Best Regards and have a nice festive season.
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, Lanarkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay was part of a first time Caledonian coach trip and past experience with other operators has proved that the accommodation provided can sometimes be problematic. However, this was not the case with the Pitlochry Hydro.
The room was good [the only problem being that the window could not be opened-even a little, and tended to become stuffy-it was Room 112. The chambermaid was apologetic and suggested that perhaps it was as a result of exterior painting in the Summer] However, this was a minor issue and was more than made made up for by the excellent and friendly service and the very good food. Choice was excellent and the same for all using the restaurant-not always the case with other coach breaks.
I made the mistake of failing to bring swimming trunks and was not able to use the pool. A pity for it looked really good.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Pitlochry Hydro.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi there, I'm glad you had a pleasant break and everything was in place. Thanks for mentioning the fact we are a friendly bunch and offer good food and service.
You would be surprised how many people forget to bring their trunks (budgie smugglers) and swimsuits....we have a small selection behind reception in case future customers leave theirs behind.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a five day Shearing's Coach holiday. Enjoyed our stay very much. Excellent accommodation. All the staff were very nice, couldn't do enough for us. Meals very good, plenty of choice. Every meal was enjoyable. Very good value for money. Could not fault it. Very good evening entertainment.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi and thanks very much for a lovely review. I'm always very pleased to see customers communicate that they have had great value because I feel that we offer great value week in and week out.
Glad you enjoyed the entertainment too and I will pass on your comments.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Address: Knockard Rd, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.