We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Moulin Hotel to your Saves list
Moulin Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Needs to do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We visited the bar restaurant today for lunch with our friends from Sweden. I thought the length of time we had to wait for our meal was embarrassing, especially as one of our number was diabetic, and for this reason I would not return. The waiter and waitress were very polite and cheerful, but there was no recognition of the time we had to wait to eat. I did not complain at the time, as this would have upset our guests. The food itself was good, but not special, pub grub.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papermoon010, Owner at Moulin Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Their meals were taken in the Pub, not the restaurant. The Pub does get very busy and as all food is cooked freshly to order, a little delay is impossible to avoid, but you couldn't be waiting in a better place. Glad you enjoyed the meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    150
    24
    25
    26
See reviews for
53
207
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

A lovely old inn and and brewery, serving very good food in a lovely bar. The welcome was warm and the room was fine. A good selection of ales, the only negative being the bar was exceptionally hot, however I would definitely return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We found the hotel by using the Good Pub Guide. Our telephone booking was taken most efficiently we also asked for a table to be reserved in the restaurant for dinner that evening. On checking in we were told that we would be the only people in the restaurant so would we like to take dinner in the bar which we did on all 3 evenings that we stayed. The food was extremely good and varied it was certainly of restaurant quality. The room although quite small was clean and well appointed. Although the hotel was full it was not at all noisy All members of staff were most helpful nothing being to much trouble. When we asked if it were possible to stay for an extra night we were informed that with a little juggling it would be possible and that we could keep our existing room. Without any hesitation we would if in the Pitlochry area stay again at the Moulin Hotel.
Phil & Eileen Kimpton Cannock Staffs U.K.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Found this through Lonely Planet during driving holiday in Scotland after a long day driving. What a find ! Cosy, traditional rooms which were clean and nicely presented. Food in restaurant was really good and the atmosphere in the bar was great. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My sister and I took our mother for a 5 day break in Scotland and chose to base ourselves in the Pitlochry area - I found the Moulin by chance through an internet search - and what a wonderful find. This is a true gem of a hotel, with superb and very attentive staff, who cannot do enough to help make your stay enjoyable. We did not want to share rooms, and were able to take advantage of a superb self catering facility - a 3 bedroomed annexe across the road - which can sleep up to 7, but allowed us each to have our own large, double bedrooms, share a huge and well equipped bathroom - all of this upstairs - and have the additional 'home from home' space downstairs consisting of a fully fitted kitchen, dining room, separate sitting room and downstairs toilet. There was lots of tea/coffee/chocolate sachets etc and even chocolates left for us, the bathroom was well stocked with toiletries, we had plenty of towels, and had we chosen to eat in, the kitchen was equipped with everything you could possibly need to cook and serve a full meal. We were out touring every day, and preferred not to cook in the evenings. On our first evening, we tried the hotel restaurant, and found the food and the service were so fantastic, that we ate twice more in the hotel - once in the restaurant and once in the pub/bar. The bar was full every evening with locals enjoying food - always a great recommendation for the food expectations - and we were not disappointed - our meals were all excellent, with a great variety of locally sourced and extremely well cooked dishes.- The staff in the restaurant - who double up as bar and reception staff - were very helpful and attentive and keen to check that we were happy with everything - I cannot recommend them highly enough. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and restaurant, and I shall definitely use them again whenever I am in the area. As others have commented - it is a little on the old fashioned side, but this does not detract from the excellent overall experience. In fact, there is now a second, slightly smaller self-catering house available which looks delightful, on the opposite corner from the brewery, and I hope I can try this home-from-home out on my next visit!

Room Tip: I did not see the rooms in the main building, but both annexes are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

You can be sure of a warm welcome at this hotel. On both the occasions we have stayed there we have had a comfortable and well equipped bedroom and bathroom. The decor is interestingly old fashioned, & staff in the bar & hotel dining room are relaxed, friendly & efficient. The dinner menu is innovative, & the food beautifully cooked & attractively presented. A good choice is offered at breakfast, with jams & marmalade in dishes rather than little jars. The hotel has its own car park, or there is a small (free) public car park opposite.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are generally smaller than those on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed at the Moulin Hotel although we have previouly eaten there. It is a lovley old pub (built 1600's) with the hotel attached. The meals were very tasty and a good selection for breakfast. We have eaten there a few times now. The hotel is about 1 mile from Pitlochry which is a busy little one street town. It has many gift shops and boasts a Greggs & W H Smiths. The Moulin hotel in is the small village of Moulin with a church and also boasts its own brewery where you can have a guided tour. The staff are very friendly and the bedroom was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Address: Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.