We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self-Catering Annexe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Moulin Hotel to your Saves list
Moulin Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Kinross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Self-Catering Annexe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in the self Annexe adjacent to the Hotel: Excellent accommodation - clean, spacious, home from home. Great for a group of up to seven people - they can also provide a travel cot. Breakfasted at the hotel and had evening meal at the Inn. Will definately stay here again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    149
    24
    25
    26
See reviews for
52
207
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire, england
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed for one night on our way home from Orkney, as we have done other years. Just as previous visits clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a good meal, no problems at all. We find the Moulin Hotel good value, and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Just back from a week in Scotland golfing and wanted to tell everyone how good my experienceat the Moulin hotal was. Comfortable room, excellent food at reasonable prices and a great "local" atmosphere in the attached pub. Good location for travelling in Scotland and surrounded by superb golf courses

Room Tip: all rooms of a good standard in our party, no complaints from my fellow golfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Moulin for a night in early June. I had been visiting the area the previous week with friends and we had been up Ben Y Vrackie and popped into the Moulin for a beer and a bite to eat after our hike. The hotel was friendly and we had all enjoyed a nice bar lunch outdoors in the sun. I was looking for somewhere to stay the next week and this seemed like the ideal place. I asked at reception and they advised that although they do not normally accept single night bookings for a Saturday they did have a room available and so could take our reservation. I asked to see the room which was arrranged with no fuss or bother along with a guided tour of the rest of the hotel. First tip is if teh online booking doesn't have availability then don't hesitate to give the hotel a call as you may be lucky, as we were.

The room we stayed in was a superior double. It was nicely decorated and clean and had a spare single bed as well as a huge double bed. We enjoyed a peaceful nights sleep and a decent breakfast in the morning.

We did not eat in the restaurant (except at breakfast) but instead opted for a bar meal which we both enjoyed. The restaurant is nice for a slightly more formal atmosphere - without being overt the top and the bar is homely and was the place for us before n afternoon walking ( or indeed after).

All of the staff we met in the hotel were very friendly and I would have no hesitation in booking to return. I have awarded 4 stars rather than 5 only because we were fortunate to stay in the Crieff Hydro on the same weekend which has given me a new level to set 5 stars at! We had a very enjoyable stay at Moulin and could find no fault so perhaps 4 is being a bit mean so don't let it put you off.

The location is about 1/2 to 3/4 a mile from the centre of Pitlochry and we easily walked it. There is car parking at the hotel and it is well situated for the start of ben Y Vrackie or the Bealach Walk.

Room Tip: We were in room 9 which over looks the car park and the beer garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Lovely character hotel, attached to an Inn full of characters! We had a great weekend. Charming comfortable quiet room, good food and friendly staff. The hotel is hundreds of years old and decorated to suit, so don't expect ultra modern, but our room had all the facilities you'd want and expect. Great bed by the way. Apparently the own brewed beer was excellent, and I think every variety was sampled, but I can only vouch for some very nice wine.. Recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I have stayed at the Moulin Inn twice now and both times it has been excellent. If you appreciate a quiet, friendly, layed back atmosphere then you will love this place. They brew their own beer which tastes gorgeous. The rooms are simple and homely, with all the facilities you need for a relaxing night away. It is closes to many attractions and gives you a lot of information about them. The staff are very friendly and the food series good too.
I would reccommend this inn to anyone who appreciates or is looking for somewhere that has heart and is more than a B&B.
Thank you Moulin Inn for the great stay

Room Tip: Superior is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is a fantistic hotel in an outstanding location. For my wifes birthday we booked one night bed breakfast and eve meal. The hotel was very traditional, comfortable and full of character, the staff were very professional and full of personality. Food was amazing except for breakfast which was only reasonable good, but the friendly staff made up for this. I also slept well and the room was very quiet.
Thanks to Moulin for an enjoyable time

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Address: Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.