We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B+B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beinn Bhracaigh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beinn Bhracaigh to your Saves list
Beinn Bhracaigh
14 Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ROOMS FROM £75 p nt
Ranked #12 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful B+B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Beinn Bhracaigh is close enough to the centre that everything is easily in walking distance, but a little bit up the hill so it enjoys some great views over the town and surrounding hills.

The welcome from James was very warm and the house very clean, comfortable and warm. Our room (Tay 2) was very spacious, clean, comfortable and well-furnished which made for a very restful stay.

The breakfasts were good - lovely fresh fruit salad available from the buffet and it was worth trying some of the less common options from the cooked menu selections (as opposed to ubiquitous full scottish)- can definitely recommend the french toast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James2907, Owner at Beinn Bhracaigh, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear tonyotim,

Many thanks for your positive review.

With regret the slight hill is what allows us our wonderful views over the Tummel Valley, especially in the recent unseasonal hot spell we are now experiencing - I just got a touch of sunburn whilst gardening yesterday!

We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast menu selection and appointment of the bedroom.

We hope to welcome you again at some point.

Best regards,

James & Kirsty Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    18
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
162
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night with another couple as were attending a wedding nearby and the whole experience was fantastic.

From booking with James, to saying goodbye we couldn't of asked for more. A warm welcome on arrival, and we were allowed to check in an hour early on request which was much appreciated, we had taxis booked for us and a tour of the B&B.

The rooms were lovely; spotless, comfortable and beautifully decorated and breakfast was fantastic as well - just what we needed the morning after!

We would definitely recommend and absolutely would visit again, an excellent 5* B&B.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James2907, Owner at Beinn Bhracaigh, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear hi2010,

Thank you for the review and the submitted external picture showing the view available from almost every bedroom, the lounge & both breakfast dining rooms - we think we have the best views in Pitlochry & can't wait until summer really arrives.

We are always happy to try and allow earlier check-in access - although we can not guarantee to be able to do this on every occasion & without at least 48 hours prior notice. Where guests book on-line on our own Beinn Bhracaigh web site, we will shortly be setting up an option for guests to pre-book an earlier arrival time and hope this will enhance the booking & check-in process for all.

We are always pleased to accept wedding guests, attending other venues receptions as we are often cheaper & we feel offer a more personal service than our larger hotel competitors in & around the Pitlochry area.

We hope to see you again later in the year.

Best regards,

James & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

+ very warm & friendly welcome. Which continued throughout the stay.
+ clean, comfortable and well stocked rooms.
+ excellent choice of breakfast options and cooked to perfection.
+ honesty bar with comfy seats.
+ near all the main attractions of Pitlochry, within walking distance.
+ helpful guide books and info.
+ peaceful and quiet area.

- WiFi not available throughout, this could be improved by a few home plugs and extenders.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James2907, Owner at Beinn Bhracaigh, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear mjavfc1,

Thank you for taking the time to write up the review, we very much appreciate the positive comments.
We will look into widening the wifi availability throughout the building into all bedrooms in due course.
We look forward to seeing you again over the Summer.

Regards,

James & Kirsty Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

excellent accomodation. stayed in superior double which had loads of space. stunning views over the valley. breakfast first class. highly recommended we will definitely stay here again. didnt use the honesty bar but it is a lovely touch. thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James2907, Owner at Beinn Bhracaigh, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear neil r,

Thank you for your kind & very positive comments following your recent stay.

We hope to see you both again when you are next passing Pitlochry.

Regards,

James & Kirsty Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Word can not express how beautiful this hidden gem in the heart of the highlands,on arrival we were greated by James, who showed us around his lovely place, very relaxing atmosphere,very clean spotless infact,Kirsty had a very friendly chat in the honesty bar,nothing but praise for James and Kirsty,5******* plus .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James2907, Owner at Beinn Bhracaigh, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear juneshotel,

Many thanks for the review, you must experience our Honesty Bar next time with over 50 malts & the usual selection of other spirits, wines, beers and mixers we are sure there will be something to tempt you both.

Best regards,

James & Kirsty Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Several years ago I stayed with Alf and Anne in their previous, smaller property of the same name. I loved it then and was very curious to find out how well their excellent concept moved into the the bigger property. I can now say very well indeed. They have maintained the wonderfully elegant but cozy decorating style, and the magnificent breakfast is now served in not one but two beautifully appointed dining rooms, overlooking the extensive, well maintained garden.
The quality of the furnishings, decoration, cleanliness, food and service are among the highest I have found in all my travels!
The location is very close to all the ammenities of the town centre, yet very quiet. There is ample off-street parking available.
Sorry to be so late in posting this - and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James2907, Owner at Beinn Bhracaigh, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear ban-albannach,

Many thanks for your kind comments.

Regards,

James & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed at Beinn bhracaigh for a few days over New Year, great welcome by James and Kirsty
Rooms were lovely and breakfast was fantastic

Will definately stay again when in the area

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James2907, Owner at Beinn Bhracaigh, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear pdiddyWorcestershire,

Many thanks for the review, we very much enjoyed your company over Hogmanay.

We hope to have 2012 New Year, minimum 3 night stay, package prices & availability in place by the end of Feb., so have booked you in provisionally already.

Very best regards,

James & Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beinn Bhracaigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beinn Bhracaigh

Address: 14 Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eat, Sleep, Relax and enjoy the comforts of Beinn Bhracaigh - a hidden wee gem in a quiet enclave of Pitlochry. This tasteful Victorian Country House built in 1889 yet sympathetically extended and decorated with a blend of Antique and Contemporary Style to provide a truly memorable bed and breakfast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beinn Bhracaigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beinn Bhracaigh Hotel Pitlochry
Beinn Bhracaigh Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beinn Bhracaigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.