We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do if you love the outdoors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Vrackie

Ben Vrackie
Pitlochry, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Pitlochry
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Attraction details
London England
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
156 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“A must do if you love the outdoors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you are looking for a great walk with fantastic scenery all within a few miles of Pitlochry then you should look no further than Ben Vrackie.

It's not going to give you the challenges of one of the high Munro's but it still has a few sting's in the tail for those looking for a nice afternoon walk that will get the blood pumping before a hearty pub dinner.

A must do if in the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    24
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
alkmaar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

it is a 3 hours walk, to the top and back.
wonderfull views
to the top is a bit heavy, the rest of the walk is easy

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Sun and Snow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I climbed Ben Vrackie with my girlfriend at the beggining of April on a really nice sunny Wednesday. We started from the car park about half a mile up from the moulin hotel where there wasn't a drop of snow, by the time we were at the loch at the foor of ben vrackie the landscape was totally white and afte some debate e decided to try top climb up despite the snow. it was well worth it, it was a very clear day and we could see all the way back home to fife, east and west lomond were both clear on the horizon and we ever think we could possibly see arthur seat in edinburgh. Basically on a clear day the views are nothing short of stunning. there is also a well made path up to the summit so on a summers day people of most abilities should be able to make it up.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the climb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Car parking available up single track road just up by Moulin Hotel. Gentle climb up but more strenuous on the last push! Views around the area were great.
Not a problem if you don't have a car as the car park is only a 15 minute walk up from the town

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We enjoyed a walk here
Weather was cold and thick with snow so the walk back uphill was a struggle but the scenery was lovely
I wanted to see the Soldiers Leap, the reason for visiting
Nice visitors centre, here you can also book Bungee Jump aaaargh

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Vrackie also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Ben Vrackie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Vrackie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.