We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a bargain!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Mill Inn

Save Saved
You added The Old Mill Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Mill Inn
Mill Lane, Pitlochry PH16 5BH, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Prices
Ranked #13 of 63 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a bargain!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Four of us stayed here just last week. Two nights B&B for £55 per couple per night, thanks to 5 p.m.com., and we paid an extra £60 to upgrade to a deluxe room. What a bargain was that. I do not know what their standard rooms were like, but the ones we had were just about the best rooms we have stayed in, in Scotland. The bed was huge, but was dwarfed by the size of the room. The sofa was comfortable, and there was a huge big chair I could have slept in. The bath was the deepest I have ever seen, and the walk in shower was brilliant. There was a supply of toiletries, beautiful towels, etc., and of course totally spotless. The staff were very professional, yet friendly, and extremely helpful, going out of their way to show kindness. The food was great, our only criticism being the size of the portion of duck. My husband could have "put it on a piece". The breakfasts were tasty, well cooked, prepared to order, and used quality local produce. We all agreed we would return, and would certainly book in there. We have stayed in four other hotels in Pitochry, and this one was the most comfortable. I have been very ill recently and have mobility problems, so getting to our room would have been a problem, because of all the stairs, (about 20) but we could park the car right outside the door of our room (up the hill) and drive down to the front door. This was a steep wee hill, about 25 metres, but that is a lot when you don't walk too well.

Room Tip: we had room one. See if you can get this room if you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    47
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
185
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

What a lovely stay at the old mill' Very freindly staff' amazing food, drink and especially impressed with the quality and style of our room' We stayed on a friday night which included a band called last orders which made it a lively night with great atmosphere. Many thanks will definetly be back soon

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The annual pressure of booking a memorable break for my other halves birthday this year took us to the picturesque village of Pitlochry and the wonderful Old Mill Inn. Situated just off the Main Street it's location is perfect for venturing around the village and seeing its many beautiful sites.
The hotel itself is beautiful inside, with a very warm and open reception/bar area. Dinner and breakfast were first class and the deluxe room we booked was stunning and spacious to say the least. The staff were very hospitable and helpful from the word go and couldn't do enough to help when required.
Overall the hotel is beautiful and I would recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting the area and we will definitely return in the future.....and yes, the other half was delighted.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

If you haven't visited the Old Mill Inn in Pitlochry yet, put it on your list to visit soon. Friendly, spotlessly clean, fresh well prepared meals and a good selection of beers and a well stocked gantry make this a wee gem of a place to stay and relax. Plenty of little extras to make this top of your list, as well as excellent overall value. Special mention to all the staff who were from start to finish a credit to themselves and the hotel. We will be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in The Old Mill Inn, rooms are large with tasteful decor, fantastic shower! Ate both nights in the restaurant and both nights the food was fantastic, the Lamb Tagine was a taste sensation and lovely wine to accompany. The atmosphere in the restaurant was relaxed and I always love it when you can see into the kitchen, which ran like clockwork! The bar had quality live entertainment on both Friday and Saturday night. The Saturday night had a lively contemporary traditional band that had a friendly happy crowd going all night! During the day I went into the bar on my own to have drink & read the paper, there are some bars i'd never do this as a female but i didn't feel in the least bit uncomfortable in the Old Mill bar! Above all the Old Mill has a fantastic team of staff who create a friendly homely atmosphere, you can feel this is a family run hotel! The whole stay was faultless, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Girlfriend and i went to pitlochry for the theatre. Stayed here for the one night, in their superior double room, and was worth every penny! It was beautiful. The room was absolutely perfect! From the bathroom, with its monsoon shower, to the huge bed. Spotlessly clean and so comfortable. The dining room and bar are lovely, the staff are even better. A big thankyou to the manager who gave us a lift to the theatre, as we didnt realise the suspension bridge to the theatre was closed and we would have been pushed for time. I cannot praise the old mill inn enough and we will definitely be back

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Outstanding little inn .Our family room was perfect ( our little girl wanted to stay forever) Spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast was the best I've had anywhere, and the bar snacks were great too. Special mention must go to the staff though, go out of their way to help, and are all so friendly. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Inn

Address: Mill Lane, Pitlochry PH16 5BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill Inn is a family owned hotel, offering excellent accommodation, food and service. Recently renovated to a high standard, The Old Mill Inn started life as a Corn Mill situated in the heart of the highland resort of Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Pitlochry
The Old Mill Inn Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Mill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.