We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Mill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Mill Inn to your Saves list
The Old Mill Inn
Mill Lane, Pitlochry PH16 5BH, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent there as a group of friends 3 nights. Accomodation was perfect. Tom welcomed us and Elina was there to say goodbye. We thank them. Rooms are very clean and spacious. The pub downstairs is fabulous and the breakfast , was delicious! Especially the poridge. The hotel is in the centre of pitlocry and Pitlocry is perfect located for day trips. Higly reccomended. Hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the building are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    56
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
242
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hidden away in the centre of Pitlochry just off the high street it's a great central location especially if your headed for the Enchanted Forest. The staff were great and very helpful. Free fresh milk is provided in the rooms which is great for the kids. The only downside was not a great choice on the buffet for breakfast for children. No croissants or baked beans!!

Room Tip: If you don't want to get disturbed by the bar noise ask for a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelty, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just spent a lovely night at the Old Mill Inn with my 12 year old daughter - the only drawback for me was the stairs as I am disabled (there is no lift but if you are on first floor there is access round the side of the hotel and up a ramp - we were up on the second floor to have peace and quiet as rooms over the bar on an open mike night could have been noisy;0). The place is spotlessly clean and the staff are wonderful. Our room was beautifully decorated and I fell in love with the amazing thistle patterned curtains and peacock feather design cushions on the beds. We had two Prince size beds in the room and all the wee touches that make it extra special (ironing board and iron, hair dryer, tea tray with shortbread etc, toiletries and clean towels in the bathroom). We were not disturbed at all and the room was lovely and warm.

Breakfast in the morning was a wonderful feast, a continental style help yourself buffet and the hot food was made to order - I had the scrambled egg which was amazing - should come with salmon but I am vegetarian;0)

We would definitely come back here again next time we need a hotel here - thank you for such warm and friendly service xx

Room Tip: rooms on second floor will be quietest but if you are disabled then first floor is accessible via a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have just spent a fabulous 3 night break at the Old Mill. Beautiful room and excellent food - good quality and expertly prepared. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: If you do like a quiet room it may be better not to sleep at the back where a stream passes by. I fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is our third (I think) stay at this hotel in Pitlochry. We always love it here, and this time was no different.

We arrived too early to check in, but parked in the car park then headed out into the town. By the time we headed back to the hotel it was about 4pm and the bar was already getting busy. Got checked in very quickly and shown up to Room 5, in the rear/top of the building. As we knew there was a band playing on the Saturday, we were pleased with this, but not as pleased as we were with this newly refurbished room.

The bedroom had a king size bed and a double "sofa" bed - both really comfortable. Great facilities in the room (flat screen TV with freeview, iPod dock, etc) and the bathroom was amazing - a huge walk in shower and a nice deep bath. Perfect !

We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as we were tight for time and heading to the Enchanted Forest. Arriving back in the hotel around 10pm, we asked at the bar if there were any fast food places open at that time (hotel food stopped at 9pm, which we knew). The staff offered to make us up some sandwiches, despite the fact that the bar was RIDICULOUSLY busy which was a nice offer, but we declined and headed into town for a hot snack. The bar was too busy to be comfortable to sit in as a family, so we took a couple of drinks up to our room and chilled there. You could (just about) hear the band while they played, but once they stopped (2345ish) there was no noise as folk headed home.

Breakfast in the hotel the next morning was excellent, as it always is. I had Eggs Benedict, while my wife and daughter opted for the Scottish breakfast. I stole the Stornoway black pudding as my daughter doesn't eat it. Great.

This is by far our favourite hotel in Pitlochry, and has always been our first choice when staying locally. We'll definitely be back again !

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 are probably the quietest by being further back and higher. 5 has just been refurbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Old Mill Inn went beyond the call of duty. My son and I were staying over for a fishing trip, when he woke up in the middle of the night with problems in both his eyes- burning, tearing, sensitivity to light. At dawn, i awoke the Manager and her husband who also works there (They are Romanian- sorry i forgot your names ). The husband got in our car with us and guided us to the Emergency room. Then he walked back to the hotel.
Luckily, it was only an eye infection and they gave him some medecine. The manager brought my son breakfast to the room and later they kept giving us ice to keep his medecine cold.
Besides the kindness of the staff, the Inn is first rate. The service is outstanding, the rooms are nice and clean and the food is fabulous. I highly recommend this place !
Thanks Romanian Couple !
John and Joe

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed two nights as part our honeymoon break in the Deluxe room, which was newly decorated and furnished. Loved the room, loved the relaxed friendly atmosphere and the staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast that was included in our deal was brilliant excellent choice and quality. We would highly recommend this Inn, ans will be back likely on our next anniversary :).

Loved the extra touches like the organic bath products and the robes.

Brilliant.

The only tiny detail that was no big deal to me, but may be a bother to someone with long hair is the hair dryer in the room wasn't much use..as it only blew cold air and wasn't that powerful...apart from that..flawless..

Room Tip: We had the deluxe room which was the furthest away from the bar, may have been quieter, though sligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Inn

Address: Mill Lane, Pitlochry PH16 5BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill Inn is a family owned hotel, offering excellent accommodation, food and service. Recently renovated to a high standard, The Old Mill Inn started life as a Corn Mill situated in the heart of the highland resort of Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Pitlochry
The Old Mill Inn Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Mill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.