We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old mill inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Mill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Mill Inn to your Saves list
The Old Mill Inn
Mill Lane, Pitlochry PH16 5BH, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“old mill inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

staff were very helpful and attentive.room 9 was lovely with 2 double beds plenty of tea and coffee +bottled water+shortbread.would stay here again.it is situated in centre of town and most eating places are within walking distance

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    56
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
242
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Travelled by train and found the hotel very easily Only a few minutes walk from the station.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Our room was spacious and spotless with nice soft furnishings.
Excellent breakfast, good choice and freshly cooked to order.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonniescotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Lovely and spotless room - very spacious and modern. Food was excellent and service attentive although felt a bit sorry for only one staff on serving breakfasts who worked really hard. Liked that I could see the food being prepared in a well organised kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Fantastic access from public transport. Beautifully situated. All staff extremely friendly, helpful and interested in guests persuits. We ate in the restaurant and were very pleased with quality and presentation of the food. Room was spacious and beautifully decorated to a scottish theme. Very comfortable bed. After a lot of walking - didn't want to get up!! Only critisism - could hear neighbouring room's (room 1) TV quite loudly. Breakfasts superb. Lots of choice and attention to detail. As a 5pm big deal offer - the value was fantastic. Thankyou to all!

Room Tip: Room 2 view and sound effects from the burn which activates the Mill Wheel. WE liked this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here whilst visiting the enchanted forest. The Hotel is clean and well presented, and the staff are fantastic. We ate in the restaurant both nights and thoroughly enjoyed both meals.
Our room for the first night was a lovely big room on the first floor, room 8 I seem to remember. It is above the bar so it was fairly noisy to get to sleep, but we were kind of expecting this from a inn. The problem however started once all the noise from the bar was gone. Every 30 seconds or so I was disturbed by some type of pump clicking on and off. Now I'm quite a light sleeper so perhaps this wouldn't bother everyone but its something to watch out for. We mentioned the noise to the manager at breakfast time, and despite being fully booked, he managed to find us a different room for our second night. He couldn't have been more helpful and understanding. The second room was on the top floor (room 11 I seem to remember) and further away from the bar. It was a much smaller room, but to be honest, we were there to enjoy being outside so the room size didn't matter. We were however thankful of being further away from the bar on the Saturday night as the band that was on was way too loud. I personally don't understand why pubs find it necessary to have the band's music blairing, personally I go out to a pub to socialise and talk with my friends, at that volume this was impossible. So after our return from the Enchanted forest, we had just a single drink before heading up to the room so that we could actually have talked. This was a shame after we had had such a lovely evening by the fire with some traditional music playing in the background the previous night.

All in all, we had a lovely, if quite expensive weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up the inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel a few years ago now and I have to say it stuck with me as one of my favourite hotel stays ever.

Staff couldn't have been nicer, the location is just wonderful and the sound of the mill at night is incredibly soothing and relaxing.

The rooms are lovely with a beautiful modern finish, and the bar restaurant is extremely popular with a great selection on their menus.

Cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from overnight deal here through 5pm. Hotel exceeded our expectations. Lovely modern but cosy and welcoming interior. Rooms were good sized and comfortable. Great shower. Decided to eat here and were not dissapointed. Food was excellent and beautifully presented. Wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Inn

Address: Mill Lane, Pitlochry PH16 5BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill Inn is a family owned hotel, offering excellent accommodation, food and service. Recently renovated to a high standard, The Old Mill Inn started life as a Corn Mill situated in the heart of the highland resort of Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Pitlochry
The Old Mill Inn Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Mill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.