We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craigatin House & Courtyard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Craigatin House & Courtyard to your Saves list
Craigatin House & Courtyard
165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
PLEASE BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #4 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed for a long weekend in August, amazed at the quality and size of the rooms, really is like a boutique hotel you would expect in a 4 Star rather than a B&B in Scotland. Breakfasts were Amazing, you can't miss the porridge! Andrea & Martin are great hosts and gave us plenty of ideas of activities both prior to our stay and on arrival, we opted for one of the walks, all 13 miles of it and the scenery was breathtaking, the legs were a tad tired the next day so only managed a mere 3 miles. Managed a shopping trip out of town too, Restaurants are all good, plenty to see and do, All in all we had a great time and will be going back next year for a bit of R and R

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    39
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
101
834
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gateshead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

My wife and I travelled to stay at Craigatin House and Courtyard after finding it after a search on the web.
The website is great but does not do the venus justice!.
We arrived by motorbike and were very wet, not a problem,
The owner too is a motorcyclist who made space in his garage for my BMW.!!
The rooms are superb and the breakfast was the best we have had in over 15 years of travelling around the UK.

We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

If your idea of B & B's is where the owners (for the best reasons) can be a bit in your face where as you would like a bit of privacy with the added contact with the owners when you wanted then this is the place. The owners are fantastic, young and very enthusiastic about their venture that it is remarkable that they achieve a passion for what they do without being overbearing. They are so knowledgeable and accommodating that you cant help but feel welcomed and at home. The house is a grand old place and the rooms are immaculate though they they do suffer from creaky floor boards LOL. This is the only reason I have given the room 4 out of 5. If you are a sound sleeper you wont have a problem but we are both light sleepers so we were always woken by the people in the room above us. The breakfasts are fabulous and more than enough to see you through till evening meal in the town. Speaking of which watch out for the tourist rip off prices in some the places. How Victories can justify their prices is a mystery! We found The Auld Smiddy good value, really friendly staff and good food. Back to the Crairgatin. Full marks to the staff and their attention to detail.e.g. We left a half full wine bottle in our room when we went out for the day and when we got back it was in a wine chiller which was much appreciated. Great Place, Great staff and great hosts.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We absolutely loved this little guest house and wished we were able to stay for more than one night. It was the perfect base for exploring Pitlochry and the surrounding area (Perthshire, Drummond Castle Gardens, Scone Palace, etc.). Andrea was so friendly and showed us a map and gave us a great dinner recommendation.

Our room was so nice and modern, and very clean. The shower pressure was awesome!! Finally a B&B/Guest House/Hotel in Scotland with great pressure!! :)

We also loved the breakfast. I appreciated more choices than just a typical full Scottish breakfast. Thanks so much!

We will hopefully come back some day! Husband is from Aberdeen area and we live in the US now so we get back every few years. I want to make a point of going back to Perth and would stay here vs. staying in Perth because we liked it that much.

Thanks!

Tammi & Tom

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Armagh, NI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed here for one night on our way the Thunder in the Glens HOG rally in Aviemore, and I only wished logistics would have allowed us to stay here for the duration of our trip.

Our hosts, Martin and Andrea, are wonderful, as is their home and all their staff - there is a genuine warm and relaxed atmosphere here, it really is like going to a friends house - and at the same time they are top of their game. Information on where to eat, our locality, maps, directions and conversation flows freely.

The entire property is positioned in a beautiful setting, and there is a real flair for interior design evident throughout the property, which is kept to an exemplary standard inside and out. The ambience is perfect - quiet yet relaxed, with no monstrous children to spoil the atmosphere which has been so carefully created and nurtured. Breakfast was wonderful, a pristine setting and hot porridge with cream and whisky - and that was only to start! The village is only a few minutes walk away, and there are some charming pubs and restaurants there. There is plenty to see and the surrounding landscape is second to none.

It is so nice to stay somewhere so welcoming, to engage with people who see past the familiar image of leathers and a goatee, and know that professional civilised people with an appreciation for some of the finer things in life, ride Harleys . We were even provided with accomodation for our 'Big Lady', which was a very kind and unexpected touch - thank you so much!

If we are ever back anywhere near Pitlochry, we hope to stay here again, I would not even begin to look anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We only stayed one night at Craigatin House on a journey south from Inverness. It is a place we hope to return to without a doubt.

We were warmly greeted by Andrea and given a map of the area along with some background of the beautiful old house. The passion of the owners is immediately evident. The house is finished with top quality fixtures and fittings and is immaculate. Our room (8) was on the top floor of the main house and was very comfortable with a huge bed and modern bathroom.

Breakfast has been commented on many times here and it really does live up to expectations! Between us we had porridge (divine), a full traditional breakfast and apple pancakes. I'd return for the breakfast alone!

Pitlochry is a lovely spot and we enjoyed a walk over the dam and along the fish ladder and back through the town. We ate at The Auld Smiddy Inn which was really good pub food.

Martin and Andrea are doing a fantastic job and thoroughly deserve their number 1 rating on TripAdvisor. We look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renfrewshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Second year running we have stayed with you while attending the horse trials at Blair Castle. Everything first class, the rooms are fantastic, just what you need after a long hard day following the horses! The breakfast is amazing, staff fabulous , its such a relaxing place looking at the beautiful garden. Already booked for next year, can't wait.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into a boutique bed & breakfast, providing a unique blend of the traditional with the luxury of contemporary design. The individually designed spacious deluxe rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview and DVD players. For special occasions, our luxury suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room complete with ipod docking station, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigatin House & Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.