We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and conptemporary guest house accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craigatin House & Courtyard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Craigatin House & Courtyard to your Saves list
Craigatin House & Courtyard
165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Rooms from £95 B&B
Ranked #1 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Elegant and conptemporary guest house accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Superb guest house accommodation ideally located in the pretty town of Pitlochry.
Would highly recommend this friendly and well presented accommodation for both business and pleasure.
The breakfast was lovely and all the staff were so friendly and helpful with local knowledge.
The room was "trendy" but not over the top in terms of being too flash. Bed was comfortable (and massive!) and nice to have the additional seating with tv and dvd player. Ensuite was big enough for us although would've been an added benefit if it was a power shower.
Overall, a great place!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    39
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
104
862
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We just got back from our stay at Craigatin House. This guest house was absolutely wonderful. We were warmly welcomed by the owners and shown our room. Each room is unique. The décor is classy and complements the character of the house. The rooms are extremely comfortable and very clean. Breakfast is served in the conservatory. The food was amazing. There is also a lovely garden to enjoy in the better weather. Craigatin House quite simply made our trip. We would definitely book again. Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

What an incredible stay we had at the Craigatin House & Courtyard in Pitlochry. Andrea and Martin have created a stylish and chic retreat, with incredible attention to detail. You really feel like you're staying somewhere special the minute you walk in the door.

The breakfast was perfect - try the porridge with a wee nip of whisky and cream, that should set you up for the day! Also, the traditional breakfast was excellent too. Just the right amount and everything cooked to perfection. Plenty of Coffee and Tea, fruit juice and cereals too.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, with a real sense of style and space. We were in the top floor and climbing the lovingly restored staircase to the top floor was great, especially when we were able to sneak a peak in some of the other rooms on the way up - each one finished in a slightly different colour-scheme to the last, reinforcing the fact that you're staying somewhere that's as far from a multi-national hotel chain as it's possible to get!

To sum up, I'd say it's the probably the best B&B I've ever stayed in. Would I go back? Absolutely. Would I tell other people about it? Well, I'm writing this review, and you're reading it! My advice, if you're staying in Pitlochry - there's only one place to stay; The Craigatin House & Courtyard. If you're unlucky enough to find them fully booked - change your dates!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

As B&Bs go this is about as good as they come. Located in Pitlochry, the tasteful, relaxed and modern approach of highly rated boutique type hotels has been captured by this B&B. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and relaxing, there was a good breakfast and the hosts were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

Stayed with partner for 4 days had a wonderful time. Really clean room with access from outside (great with muddy boots). The owners were helpful with plenty of advice for things to do and places to eat. Delicious breakfast with good selection of hot foot. Nice location, just on the edge of town, views of the mountains from the room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Craigatin (a return visit) and once again we are full of the feel-good factor and warm glow that comes from having a good weekend in a lovely place. We were met with the most radiant, friendly welcome and stayed in the suite (room 11) complete with luxurious bedroom, en-suite and lounge. A truly fantastic room with a window-seat looking out on to the courtyard, a perfect spot for a glass of bubbly! Absolutely love the new soft furnishings/colours, mixing reds with browns. Also have to mention "Maggie" in the dining room, a first-class friendly breakfast experience. A great way to start your day. The porridge and pancakes are divine. Top marks to Andrea and Martin. Love what you are doing! Can't wait to return time and time again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

Excellent B&B located about 5 or 10 minutes walk from the center of Pitlochry. Set in a steading and renovated country house, the rooms have a modern feel and are conforable. Breakfast and service was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into a boutique bed & breakfast, providing a unique blend of the traditional with the luxury of contemporary design. The individually designed spacious deluxe rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview and DVD players. For special occasions, our luxury suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room complete with ipod docking station, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigatin House & Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.