We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay at Craigatin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Craigatin House & Courtyard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Craigatin House & Courtyard to your Saves list
Craigatin House & Courtyard
165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
PLEASE BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #4 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay at Craigatin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

We stayed here for our honeymoon, and we were relatively pleased with the comfortable accommodation that we were given, although we did not think that we were given the room we originally picked on the website. Although there was everything we needed in the room, it did not have as much character as some of the B&Bs that we stayed at in Scotland. The service was professional but was lacking in that personal touch. The bedroom and in particular the large bed was more than comfortable, although the bathroom was less awe inspiring. There was an excellent choice for breakfast, and we ate this in a delightful little conservatory area overlooking a beautfiul court yard and garden. I was not disappointed by my stay here at Criagatin,and would add that the owner was more than accommodating to us allowing us to use his personal lap top to check our emails. Would recommend this to anyone wishing to visit the beautiful town of Pitlochry.

  • Liked — Breakfasts and the breakfast room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    39
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
101
834
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Spent a weekend here during the Pitlochry Enchanted Forest /Halloween time and was thoroughly impressed - room was immaculate with a sumptuous bed, owners and staff were very cheerful and friendly, and the grounds are superb.

Have to recommend trying the 'whiskey porridge' - a surprising and very tasty way to start the morning.

I've spent a good number of nights and breakfasts in B&Bs, and I can honestly say this one comes very highly recommended. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Liked — No single thing stands out - quality of service, food and room were all fantastic
  • Disliked — leaving :)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Lovely b&b, nice rooms, we stayed in superior no6. Very quiet at night and fab breakfast. :0)

  • Liked — quiet location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

Just back from a long weekend here and it was brilliant, The people who own it couldn't have been nicer, the breakfasts were excellant and the room was gorgeous, very spacious, very clean. it was very relaxing. We will definately be going back there. There is nothing negative you can say about this place.

  • Liked — Absolutely Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

One of the highlights of our trip. The Craigatin House was lovely. Well maintained....large room....immaculate bathroom....so comfortable ! Martin was very welcoming and helpful...gave us info about some things in the area we would have missed. I am very fussy about where I lay my head at night ...but the Craigton exceeded my expectations !

  • Liked — Spotless accommodations
  • Disliked — There is no downside...I was pleased with everything.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

Stayed 2 nights in a deluxe double room in this delightful B&B, very conveniently located at one end of the main st yet quiet and peaceful. We were impressed by the contemporary decor and warm hospitality and really enjoyed the breakfasts! The bed was huge and extremely comfortable, although the bathroom was quite small. Overall we would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Pitlochry.

  • Liked — stylish, comfortable
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

We have stayed at the Craigatin Guest house & Courtyard twice this year June & October, and both times have not been disappointed.

The décor transforms this old building to a mini Mal Maison, with rich luxurious colours met with traditional Perth & Kinross stonework.
Breakfast is in a league of it’s own with whisky porridge and apple pancakes not to be missed.

Owners Andrea & Martin have taken levels of service to a new height; making sure every guest is welcomed and has their needs met.
They offered great recommendations of restaurants in town, sight seeing and local hill walking routes.

The exterior grounds have also been given the Craigatin treatment, with beautiful gardens and views.
It was so angelic to walk back to the guest house from having dinner in Pitlochry to find the entire surrounding grounds sparkling with twinkle lights – Made it look that extra bit special.

A Touch of Class!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Going Home
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into a boutique bed & breakfast, providing a unique blend of the traditional with the luxury of contemporary design. The individually designed spacious deluxe rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview and DVD players. For special occasions, our luxury suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room complete with ipod docking station, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigatin House & Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.