We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craigatin House & Courtyard

Save Saved
You added Craigatin House & Courtyard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craigatin House & Courtyard
165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
PLEASE BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #3 of 63 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stopped in Pitlochry on our way to Inverness. We were traveling by train, and yes we could have gone to Inverness without stopping, but we wanted to explore the countryside aswell. So we chose Craigatin House to spend the night, and it was a good choice.
It was less than 10min walk from from the train station, so the location was very convenient. Our room was very cute, and there were free cookies, tee and hot chocolate for us on a shelf.
The owners were very pleasant, and gave us recommendations on what to do (restaurants, walking around...)
The next morning, breakfast was gorgeous. Lots of food, nice decoration...
We both agreed it'd be a great place to stay to explore the area if we had had more days (and a car!)
Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi Martalv, Many thanks for stopping over in Pitlochry en route to Inverness and for selecting to stay at Craigatin House. That train journey from Edinburgh to Inverness has to be one of the most beautiful train journeys in the country! Very pleased indeed to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, looking forward to seeing you next time when you bring the car! Best wishes, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,020
    36
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
88
785
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries and Galloway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just left after a 2 night stay at stunning Craigatin House in Pitlochry. The Craigatin Suite oozes quality and very high standards. Breakfast is outstanding and Andrea & Martin are truly wonderful hosts. We can't wait to return and would highly recommend this as your place to stay in Pitlochry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello HDumfriesandGalloway, Thank you very much for your kind review. It was indeed a pleasure having you finally staying with us at Craigatin House on your recent trip to Pitlochry. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, our standards and breakfasts. Hope to hear from you again soon! Very best wishes from Martin and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were greatly impressed with the high standards of accommodation, breakfast and truly outstanding service. The room was spacious, extremely clean and well appointed. We loved being in the Courtyard. Your help in arranging our transport to the wedding was over and above the call of duty. You even arranged a visit from the woodpecker when we were sitting in the lounge overlooking the garden!
A lot of thought has obviously gone into the layout of the premises and the facilities. All staff were friendly, polite, helpful and efficient

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi 819ANNE, Thank you very much for your recent stay and for your complimentary Tripadvisor review. Delighted to hear that you were impressed with our standards and service and that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service we provide, were always happy to assist! Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. Best wishes, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay. This is a beautiful hotel, spotlessly clean and the rooms are furnished to a very high standard. The staff were all so helpful and the breakfast was outstanding. There is an area to sit which is relaxing and welcoming. We would highly recommend this lovely hotel. Well done Martin and Andrea for getting things spot on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Director of Sales at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Jane B, Great to hear from you on Tripadvisor, thank you very much for your favorable comments regarding your recent two night stay at Craigatin House. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you'd be happy recommending Craigatin House to others, much appreciated. Kind regards, Martin and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night. This was a very nice and comfortable place to stay. The owners really go out of their way to make sure everything is just right. Our room was no. 15 on the courtyard, and it was very nice. It had two full size beds and an accessible bathroom. The main house was very nice and the breakfast room had a beautiful view of the garden. Breakfast was very good and the service was excellent. Only downside, was ventilation in our room was nonexistent. To open the windows would have meant reducing privacy, as our room was on the ground floor with people walking by. We would have liked a fan or even a room air conditioner / heater to help alleviate this issue. Overall a very nice stay at a very beautiful inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi kjjellybean, Many thanks for your Craigatin House review, its always very satisfying to receive a complimentary review from a Tripadvisor Top Contributor! We were very pleased to read that you both liked the facilities of your room and our new dining room. Sorry to hear you experienced ventilation problems in your room. We do not have air conditioning at Craigatin House, unfortunately summers are rarely that hot in Scotland, but we are able to provide room fans for those that require them. Many thanks once again for your positive review. Kind regards, Andrea and Martin - Craigatin House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had a fabulous stay at Craigatin...The Hosts have definately got this tied up! You want for nothing!...Location is fabulous..The House&Courtyard and surrounding grounds are beautifully kept...The rooms are to a very high standard and exceptionally clean..Everyone in this team is so helpful and friendly..We stayed in Room 17 in the Courtyard..its on the flat with no steps which suited my mum perfectly
Breakfast is a feast..There is definately something for everyone
A few minutes walk takes you in to the centre of Pitlochry..and a bus stop at the end of the drive takes you to the House of Bruar and other attractions
Highly recommend this accomodation..You wont be disappointed

Room Tip: Room 17 in the Courtyard is on the flat..was great for my mum who has difficulty with stairs..there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Iona S, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Craigatin House on your recent visit to Pitlochry and for your complimentary review and picture. We were very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us in Courtyard Room No.17. We hope you manage a return visit soon. Best wishes from Andrea and Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our stay at Craigatin House & Courtyard was excellent. A warm welcome on arrival, excellent room and a superb breakfast in the stunning extension to the main property. I would highly recommend if you are staying in Pitlochry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Director of Sales at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear markdsteel, Many thanks indeed for your complimentary seal of approval regarding your recent stay at Craigatin House & Courtyard. We look forward to that return visit soon! Kind regards, Martin and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into a boutique bed & breakfast, providing a unique blend of the traditional with the luxury of contemporary design. The individually designed spacious deluxe rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview and DVD players. For special occasions, our luxury suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room complete with ipod docking station, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigatin House & Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.