We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craigatin House & Courtyard

Save Saved
You added Craigatin House & Courtyard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craigatin House & Courtyard
165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
PLEASE BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #3 of 63 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I booked Suite 11 for my husband's 30th birthday, on the basis of good reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed, and would have loved to have extended our stay if we didn't have prior arrangements. From being greeted with a warm smile from Andrea on arrival, to having a great chat with Martin on departure, our stay was just perfect. The attention to detail is stunning - chocolates and a card waiting on the bed to wish my husband a happy birthday, a blu ray player with selection of films, espresso machine, warm bathrobes, umbrella in the corner in case of rain, an invite to sit in the guest lounge with the wood burning stove on and an iPad if we wanted to use it....I could go on and on. The breakfast was lovely - I highly recommend the apple pancakes, and the full Scottish breakfast was perfectly proportioned. The addition of homemade jam for toast was a nice touch. We were so impressed with the thought that had gone into every part of our stay. We will definitely be booking a return visit and recommending this wonderful guest house to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Suite 11 was lovely and didn't cost much more than the other rooms - great for a special occasio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear LesleyJWJones, Thank you very much for your recent stay at Craigatin House and for your very kind words in your review, both of which are very much appreciated. We are delighted to hear how you enjoyed your short stay with us and the things we offer here at Craigatin. Sorry you weren't able to stay a little longer but hopefully you'll find the time to return sometime soon! Very best wishes from Martin and Andrea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,020
    36
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
88
785
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

stayed at here for a nite after finding it on line. it had 100% feedback. after our stay i know why. driving up first impresions where good. after finding a nice pub for lunch we went back got our key. the room was amazing a massive king size bed. lovley room. the shower room was large a shower the size i havnt seen before. takes two easily. you can lay down in it ni problem..lol
e
breakfast in the morning was loveley
fresh made full scotish for us. but the choices where a plenty pleasant staff
could be more helpfull. give this place a try you wont be sorry.
we will def be back. and not just for the showers...100%+

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hey slinkjnr1, Many, many thanks for you kind words and personal recommendation, we are over the moon to hear you enjoyed your stay and the facilities of your room. Great to hear you'll definately be returning, we look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards, Andrea and Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathhead
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay. On entering the hallway we instantly felt warm and welcomed, as we have on previous occassions .Andrea is lovely and showed us to our wonderful room. It was light and roomy with stunning views.
Breakfast was quite busy but staff were friendly and efficient and rememberd us from another visit. Food is delicious.
We are already planning our next visit.

Gerry and Lena 4/3/13

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Gerry and Lena, Thank you very much for making a return visit to Craigatin House & Courtyard, it was lovely seeing you both back in Pitlochry. Hope that return visit your planning isn't too far away :-) Many thanks once again for choosing Craigatin. Kind regards, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just back from a one night stay in this upmarket b&b. Everything about it met or exceeded our expectations, which based on other reviews were very high. Lovely bright room,excellent views, comfy bed, tasty breakfast and welcoming hosts.

Room Tip: Room 8, bright and airy with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Director of Sales at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi edradour1, Thanks for your review, great profile name!!! Thank you very much indeed for your recent one night stay, we're delighted to hear we exceeded your high expectations! Edinburgh is only 70 miles south of Pitlochry, we look forward to the possibility of having a go at exceeding those expectations again soon! Best wishes, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Unbelievably, 5 minutes from town, because the photos suggest you're hidden away in the mountain tops, and you honestly feel like you are! This gorgeous B&B is perfection; peace and quiet, outstanding views, comfort like you've just been hugged by a warm duvet. We stayed just one night and felt the luxury and attention to detail in absolutely everything. From the five star breakfast to the landscaped garden to the honest and helpful recommendations by our host. I'd recommend to anyone visiting Pitlochry and the surrounding areas, and indeed I'll never stay anywhere else when visiting.

Room Tip: Room number 9, the view is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Director of Sales at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi carriesusan, Many thanks indeed for your very kind words summarising your recent stay at Craigatin House. We love your comment "comfort like you've just been been hugged by a warm duvet" fantastic, thanks for that! Hope you enjoyed your walk around town on the Sunday before you left, as we said that was some of the best weather we've had so far this year! Hope to see you again on the next trip to see all the things you missed this time! Very best wishes, Martin & Andrea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely rooms, friendly owners and staff. Breakfast room and breakfast itself fantastic, short walk to the town centre. It's perfect for a nice get away for a night or so. Pitlochry is lovely too.
Really enjoyed or stay and will be back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Downski, Many thanks for taking the time to post us a Tripadvisor review! We're very pleased to hear you both enjoyed your time with us as well as the beautiful town of Pitlochry. It was a pleasure having you both with us. Kind regards, Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Four of us stayed this time last year. Ever since, we talked about going back. Would have been sooner but was sold out on other weekends we checked! And after a second experience, we're already planning the next.
Craigatin is indeed as beautiful as the website and Facebook photographs suggest and everything is to the highest standard. Even the most competitive on That Four In A Bed programme couldn't fault this place and would pay at least 100%!
Super-comfy huge beds and quality heavy drapes ensure you sleep soundly. A faint aroma of bacon lures you down to what is I think the best cooked breakfast I've had anywhere. Two of our group enjoyed the whisky-laced porridge. Three had full breakfast - quality ingredients, beautifully cooked. Scrambled eggs on toast too an excellent choice. Martin and staff make sure to keep your coffee topped up. There is also an amply-stocked buffet table with cereals, fruit, etc.
Breakfast is served in the amazing conservatory, which also provides the guest lounge with that wood-burning stove. The lounge has plenty magazines and guide books and you are genuinely encouraged to use this space - if you can tear yourself away from your room!
Numerous lovely touches from the Craigatin team ensure the service level matches the surroundings. And let's just say the birthday boy was made to feel thoroughly spoiled.
As the website shows individual rooms, I can tell you last year we were in 8 & 9 top floor, this time 3 & 4 on first floor. All spacious, well laid-out and amply equipped. Free wifi throughout.
When I find a place that's number 1 on TA, I'll usually read a few more before choosing. In Pitlochry these days, trust me, don't bother! Just book the Craigatin.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello subzeronell, It was lovely having you all back with us this weekend for the birthday celebration! Thank you very much indeed for your second Tripadvisor review and very kind comments on your experience, made even more worthy from a Tripadvisor "Senior Contributor" like yourself! We're delighted you all had an enjoyable stay and that your already planning your return visit, thanks also for the Facebook mentions too, much appreciated! Very best wishes from Martin, Andrea and the Craigatin Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into a boutique bed & breakfast, providing a unique blend of the traditional with the luxury of contemporary design. The individually designed spacious deluxe rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview and DVD players. For special occasions, our luxury suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room complete with ipod docking station, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigatin House & Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.