We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craigatin House & Courtyard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Craigatin House & Courtyard to your Saves list
Craigatin House & Courtyard
165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
PLEASE BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #4 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent all round experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a fantastic experience at Craigatin last weekend - from the moment we arrived until we left. The staff were amazing, friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely and warm and the beds were really comfortable. Breakfast in the morning, cooked fresh and extensive menu. Thoroughly recommended and would love to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi SueEllenW2013, Thank you for the very positive summary of your recent weekend stay at Craigatin House. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and that you'd thoroughly recommended us. Very best wishes from Martin, Andrea and the Craigatin Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    39
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
101
834
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Whilst it was way back in September 2010 when we stayed at Craigatin House & Courtyard the memory is still very prominent, as from the moment we arrived we knew this place was special. Not only is the actual property itself quite beautiful but the staff truly value their customers and go out of their way to ensure an enjoyable stay with great recommendations on places to visit in Pitlochry. Our room was very spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast room is not only stunning but very relaxing - we could have stayed there for hours! Pitlochry now holds a very special place in our hearts which is largely due to the great stay we enjoyed here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello BronwynKaye, Many thanks indeed for the review from your stay back in September 2010, I think that must be a Craigatin record for time between stay and review, but superb to hear that the memory of your visit lives on! We appreciate your very kind comments and summary of your stay at Craigatin and hope you don't leave it too long until you book another room with us! Best wishes BronwynKaye, kind regards, Andrea and Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A great place to stay for a night or more.
Our room in the Courtyard was very comfortable although the shower in the bathroom could have been less narrow.
The breakfast was good specially the chef' omelette.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello ScratG, Thankes very much for your Tripadvisor review, very much appreciated. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and especially your breakfast omelette. We note your comment that you thought the shower in the bathroom needs to be less narrow. Do let us know which room, and if we can increase it, we will! Many thanks again for staying with us, hope to see you again. Kind regards, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I spent New Year at Craigatin.Its our second visit in a year and this time chose one of the deluxe courtyard rooms.The room was spotless and the decor was superb and on arrival there was a gift of chocolates and a jar of home made marmalade to take home with us.Breakfast,if you stay in the courtyard,is a short walk in the open air to the breakfast room and once there the service and the food is excellent and the two ladies serving are very chatty and have lots of info about the local area.All in all everything is of a very high standard and Martin and Andrea have ruined our chances of staying anywhere else in the surrounding area.We will be back.

Room Tip: opt for a deluxe room either in the main house or the courtyard,the extra cost is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Director of Sales at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi benaboo, Thanks for returning for a second visit to Craigatin House, it was a pleasure welcoming you both back. We were very pleased to hear you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us and also great to hear we may have become your no.1 accommodation provider in Pitlochry for any future visits! We look forward to seeing you soon! Very best wishes from Martin and Andrea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Mrs Eros and I had a very enjoyable return to Craigatin House. We were last here on our honeymoon 35 years ago. It has been improved beyond recognition since 'way back then'. In those days there was no en suite and it was fairly basic.
Our room at the top of the house had a lovely view, beautifully decorated and was comfortable and warm. An excellent breakfast set us up for the day.
Over the intervening 35 years we have been to BBs around the world and Craigatin is up there with the best that we have stayed.
Craigatin is 5 minutes walk to Pitlochry centre and 15 minute walk to the famous theatre and Loch Faskally Dam.

Though we did not know when booking, January 1st is when the Pitlochry New Year Day Street party with Ceilidh and local pipe band. Great to see hundreds of people of all ages participating in Scottish Country dances.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Public Relations Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Eros, Delighted to hear your rate us as being up there with the best B&B's you have stayed in, much appreciated.. Many thanks for returning to stay with us after 35 years, what took you so long!!! :-)
Delighted to hear you both enjoyed your stay and the facilities we offer as well as the Pitlochry New Years Day Street Party. Hope to see you both much sooner than Hogmanay 2048 (the next 35 years). Kind regards from Martin & Andrea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just back from spending New Year at Craigatin,I think this is probably about the tenth time we've been,it just gets better and better.Martin and Andrea do everthing to very high standard,the best place to stay in Scotland!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Front Office Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello Andy B, Very nice to hear from you here on Tripadvisor, thanks for taking the time to post up a review! Thank you both once again for choosing to return for another Hogmanay at Craigatin House. It is always a pleasure having you both staying with us, we truly appreciate and value your custom as regular guests of Craigatin House. Looking forward to seeing you both again in the Spring. Best wishes and kind regards, Martin and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very helpful and friendly owners/staff, Rooms spotless and comfortable,. Good location for Town and for the variety of walks in the area. Would recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting Pitlochry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, General Manager at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear donnaw1969, Many thanks for the Tripadvisor review and for the general recommendation to stay, both of which are greatly appreciated. Thanks for choosing Craigatin House and Courtyard. Best wishes, Andrea and Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into a boutique bed & breakfast, providing a unique blend of the traditional with the luxury of contemporary design. The individually designed spacious deluxe rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview and DVD players. For special occasions, our luxury suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room complete with ipod docking station, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigatin House & Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.