We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our high expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craigatin House & Courtyard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Craigatin House & Courtyard to your Saves list
Craigatin House & Courtyard
165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Rooms from £95 B&B
Ranked #1 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Exceeded our high expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The photos on the website suggest a wow factor and we had high expectations for our stay. Believe me, the reality is even more impressive! Martin and Andrea have done a beautiful job to upgrade and modernise. Everything is to a really high standard - and exceptionally clean.
A really prompt and personal email to acknowledge our booking gave a clue as to the great customer service. Friendly, but not intrusive.
The conservatory, with the breakfast room and guest lounge, is a fantastic space. And in February, the stove made it all the more welcoming. Comfy seating to chill out. Magazines and books available. Wifi if you want or need it.
Our energetic friends received excellent advice for their hill run and mountain bike routes. And we took heed of the restaurant recommendations too - excellent meals were enjoyed in both The Old Smiddy and Fern Cottage.
And while we're on the subject of food, the Craigatin breakfast is one of the best I've ever come across. Cereals, fresh fruit, porridge, omelettes, croissants, pancakes, full Scottish - no, I didn't eat them all, but what a fantastic choice and the quality was superb.
As for location, the Craigatin is within easy walking distance of all the shops, restaurants and amenities of Pitlochry centre and the beautiful walk down to the dam, fish ladder and theatre.
This was our third stay in Pitlochry and won't be our last. Now we've found the Craigatin, we'll look no further for our accommodation next time.

Room Tip: Our party were in the main house, rooms 8 & 9, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Hi subzeronell, Nice to hear from you and thanks for the very quick review following your stay with us just last weekend. We were really pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and the facilities we offer at Craigatin and that we exceeded your expectations! I think your friends enjoyed another epic mountain bike ride on the Sunday, taking full advantage of the beautiful weather we had over last weekend! They are indeed superfit! Thank you very much indeed for your third stay with us, we do look forward to seeing you many more times in the future. Best wishes, Martin and Andrea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    39
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
104
862
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banchory, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

A warm welcome by Andrea, a beautiful house in great location, a quiet room, comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast - what more could you ask for? We would certainly stay there again and would recommend Craigatin House & Courtyard to any visitors to Pitlochry.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Hello Steven H
Thanks for your review, we're delighted to hear we hit the mark for you on four such important areas: location, rooms, beds and breakfasts. Thanks for recommeding us! Best wishes, Andrea and Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

There is now a growing number of Guest Houses and Bed and Breakfast accommodations in Scotland which are leading the way as regards, quality of establishment, service and excellent value for money. Craigatin is amongst the top in its category on all three counts. A warm and inviting welcome, followed by just enough information to get you started, accommodation you'd want to spend time in - both public and private space, and a breakfast choice and quality faultless. I was particularly impressed by the staff - their friendliness and interest in their customers was impressive!
Craigatin's ratings dont come free gratis and working in this area of hospitality takes attention to detail, concern for the customers' experience and continuity of working to maintain standards. I'm confident this establishment will have a healthy future and would most certainly recommend as one of THE places to stay in Pitlochry. Thankfully the days of candlewick bedspreads and nylon sheets are consigned to the travel archives!!

Room Tip: For your own private entrance - upstairs or a downstairs room, try the courtyard selection.....horse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Celtic-Wanderer, Hello and thank you for your review and very kind comments on your recent stay at Craigatin House and Courtyard. It made it doubly rewarding for us and the team to be from such an avid Tripadvisor user/reviewer like yourself. We're all very pleased to hear your enjoyed the experience, come back soon! Kind regards, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at Craigatin House for 3 nights the end of June. As others have said, Martin and Andrea couldn't have been any nicer. They answered my many emails and questions, made dinner reservations for us (our favorite was Fern Cottage) and were available for help when needed. My husband and I traveled with his sister, our rooms were beautifully decorated, lots of light, good bathrooms. Breakfasts were very good. The location was perfect for day trips to the Game Fair at Scone Palace (awesome! would go back in a second!) Blair Castle, Edradour Distillery, Stirling Castle, Drummond Castle Gardens. It was an easy walk into Pitlochry from the B&B. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Hi Wrenwood_VA
Happy New Year and thanks for remembering us from your summer stay at Craigatin back in June. We remember your time with us in those warmer June days, good to see you managed to get to all of those places and events making the most of your time in Scotland. Thank you again for your review and kind comments about Craigatin House. Very best wishes, Martin & Andrea Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed for two nights between Christmas and New Year to get out of the parents hair. Comfy bed, quiet rooms, excellent breakfast.
Hosts were very welcoming and gave very good advice for activities in Pitlochry.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Kilonewton
Happy New Year and thanks for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed yourselves in Pitlochry and at Craigatin between Christmas and New Year. Glad you liked Edradour Distillery too! Come back soon! Regards, Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Seven of us spent three nights over the Hogmanay period at Craigatin House & Courtyard and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Martin and Andrea manage to combine running an efficient establishment with a friendly, welcoming, yet unobtrusive, ambience. The rooms were excellent and breakfast delicious. We would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Hi Bobcat C
Happy New Year and thanks for being our first Tripadvisor reviewer of 2012! It was a pleasure having you and your family staying with us over the Hogmanay period, were pleased the weather behaved itself this year too and that you were able to do all the things you planned. Hope to see you again sometime. Best wishes, Andrea and Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My family and I stayed here for New Year and had a fantastic time. The hosts, Martin and Andrea, are lovely and made us all feel so welcome and at home. I cannot recommend Craigatin enough. This is a truely lovely B&B, well worth a stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigatinHouse, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hi LAClark82, Thank you so much for your review of your New Year stay, we're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Apologies for my very late reply, only just realised I'd missed your review! Kind regards, Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into a boutique bed & breakfast, providing a unique blend of the traditional with the luxury of contemporary design. The individually designed spacious deluxe rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview and DVD players. For special occasions, our luxury suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room complete with ipod docking station, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigatin House & Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.