We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craigatin House & Courtyard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Craigatin House & Courtyard to your Saves list
Craigatin House & Courtyard
165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
PLEASE BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #4 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Annandale
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The breakfast was outstanding, both the food and the room overlooking the garden. The staff was helpful, including getting us discount tickets to Blair Castle. The room and bath were pleasant and spotless. Lovely grounds and great location. The nearby boat house on the Loch was a nice spot for lunch. Easy bus rides to Blair Castle and Dunkeld.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Hello AnnandaleTravelfan, Thanks for your very kind review of Craigatin House, great to hear you enjoyed your stay and expecially our breakfasts. Good to see you managed a visit to Blair Castle too, its certainely one of the top attractions when staying in this part of Perthshire. Come back and see us soon. Kind regards, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    39
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
101
834
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at the Craigatin and it was just as lovely as the first time. It is a gorgeous building and such a quiet setting. We stayed in Room 4 in the main house and it was beautifully decorated. A friend had dropped off a bottle of fizz for us to celebrate my birthday and the owners had made sure it was ready and waiting for us in the room. The room and bathroom were spotless and the bed was huge and very comfy.

My boyfriend surprised me by proposing when we were at the Linn of Tummel on one of the Pitlochry Walks. We came back from another walk the following day to find the owners had left a lovely card and a chilled bottle of fizz for us to celebrate. Such a nice touch.

Again the breakfasts were awesome (the apple pancakes!) and the waiting staff very friendly.

Personally we cannot rate the Craigtin high enough. It is perfect for getting away from it all for a couple of days and Pitlochry itself has so much to offer in the way of pubs, restaurants, walks and shops. The Auld Smiddy does great food but be sure to book a table.

We will definitely be back - most likely for our honeymoon!

Room Tip: Room 4 has a lovely view and a great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Annieh71
Thank you very much indeed for your recent stay at Craigatin House and Courtyard and for your very kind comments. Congratulations once again on your engagement, your Husband to be has a lot of style chosing a beautiful place like the Linn of Tummel to propose! Looking forward to seeing you on your Honeymoon and every year from now onwards on your engagement anniversaries :-) Kind regards, Andrea & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Craigatin House has been renovated to a high standard. Our room had a very contemporary feel while the house retained the charm of the traditional property. The modern breakfast room /lounge area is outstanding. The hosts gave us a warm welcome and were very helpful with advice on good places to eat locally. This was useful as Pitlochry is a rather old fashioned town. It was good to find such bright modern accommodation so close to the centre

Room Tip: We had an excellent superior room. The hotel was full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Hi Jane and Stephen, Many thanks for your recent one night stop over at Craigatin House, we hope the journey back down south passed without incident . Thanks also for your Tripadvisor review and your very kind comments on Craigatin House. We hope to see you both again when your next en route North. Kind regards, Andrea & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Have spent many holidays in small hotels and B and B's in Scotland. This is by far the best.
A warm welcome. The hosts are very imformative and obviously dedicated to first class service. Rooms are spotless and roomy. Residents lounge is welcoming with superb views into a beautiful garden. The breakfasts are excellent - real home cooking and porridge to die for! Bill and Joy Topping, Oxford.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear Bill and Joy, Thank you for your very complimentary review of Craigatin. We're very happy to hear that Craigatin was to your liking and that you found us to be one of the best places you stayed in. Many thanks. Best wishes Martin and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough,UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Craigatin House and Courtyard is a beautiful place to stay, welcoming and peaceful with a lovely garden. We stayed in a room in the courtyard and loved the decor where everything was very clean and comfortable. The garden was colourful and well presented with lots of different birds visiting all the feeders!The dining room and lounge(with wood stove, ipad and magazines) was most relaxing. The owners were very helpful and friendly and the waitresses very hard working. How could I have missed the whisky porridge? A good enough reason to go back!
We were travelling around Scotland by rail (highly recommended) and Craigatin was only a 5 minute walk away from the station.

Room Tip: Courtyard room 17 spacious and beautifully decorated but don't get the view I expect you'd g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Hello southpacific53
Thank you very much for your review of Craigatin House from your recent rail trip around Scotland. We are very pleased to hear you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. One of our favourite pastimes at Craigatin is to sit in our lounge looking out onto the garden and watch the birds on our feeders, However its only then I realise I have to out there and cut the grass and do the weeding! Please come back soon. Kind regards, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire, North Wales.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

You can be sure of a warm welcome at Craigatin House, which is set in beautiful country side.
We stayed in a standard room, plenty of storage space and good views of the countryside. The bed was large,with crisp white sheets and the shower facilities where excellent. The room has facilities to make tea and coffee, bottled water is also provided.
In the main house there is a beautiful garden room that guests can use, it's very peaceful.
The breakfast is to die for, something for everyone and we especially loved the porridge!
Throughout our stay the service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Hi Taffphillips,
Thank you very much for your return visit to Craigatin House & Courtyard and your excellent recommendation, both of which are very much appreciated. We hopefully now look forward to your third visit? Kind regards, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casale sul Sile, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Wonderful BB among perthshire hills, fantastically located, wonderfully renovated, warm welcome very nice room food food. Totally reccomended! The best of our entire 10 days tour. We' d like to go back to Pithlocry as long as we are still in Scotland and overnight there one night more.... Good job guys!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Pegasus1963, We were very proud to read that you found Craigatin House to be the best B&B you stayed in on your recent tour of Scotland. Thank you very much for your review and for choosing Craigatin House & Courtyard. Best wishes, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into a boutique bed & breakfast, providing a unique blend of the traditional with the luxury of contemporary design. The individually designed spacious deluxe rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview and DVD players. For special occasions, our luxury suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room complete with ipod docking station, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigatin House & Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.