We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visiti” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pitlochry Hydroelectric Dam and Fish Ladder

Pitlochry Hydroelectric Dam and Fish Ladder
Armoury Road, Pitlochry PH16 5DR, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 31 things to do in Pitlochry
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pitlochry Hydroelectric Dam and Fish Ladder spans the River Tummel at Pitlochry in Perthshire, Scotland. It was built between 1947 and 1951. By damming the River Tummel, Loch Faskally was created behind it. There is a salmon count monitor and the dam power station has a visitor centre.
McDonough, Georgia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Worth a visiti”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A nice walk from public parking adjacent to the theatre and nearby footbridge, the fish ladder is located next to the dam. It's amazing to see how the ladder has been engineered to allow salmon to migrate upstream. The viewing center allows you to see salmon in one section of the ladder, but the numbers are small and the visitor may be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    136
    70
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A Trip Down Memory Lane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My dad used to pretend he was going to drop me over the side of the dam when I was wee. Luckily he never did, but that stomach rush still exists when I stand and look over!

Sadly we didn't see any salmon a leaping, but going by the electronic counter, they have already had nearly 1000 more salmon on the ladder than the annual average.

A beautiful spot for a walk and picture taking.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Very interesting and great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We walked across the dam and then down beside the fish ladder. We then took the footpath past the Festival Theatre and crossed back over the river on the suspension footbridge. The views were very good. It was almost the end of the salmon season so there were no fish in the ladder. There is a meter showing how many fish have made their way up the ladder.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Although we went "out of season" for watching the salmon run it was still worth the walk along the river and up the steps and across the dam. There is a fish counter on display and during the season there is a viewing window where you can see the fish making their way up one of the "steps".

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Closed on hoilday Weekend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

While staying for a long weekend in Pitlochry in late September my wife and I decided to take a walk to the fish ladder and dam, having first checked online that the fish viewing chamber and the dam visitor centre are open daily until late October. Imagine our surprise when, after walking two miles to get there, we found both the viewing chamber and the dam vistor centre locked up tight! We were not the only people wondering what was going on.
This is unfortuntaly typical of many places in Scotland and it is no surprise that with service like this and our unreliable weather, that so many of us choose to holiday abroad rather than in our own exceptionally beautiful country.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitlochry Hydroelectric Dam and Fish Ladder also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Pitlochry Hydroelectric Dam and Fish Ladder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitlochry Hydroelectric Dam and Fish Ladder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.