We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great Hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fisher's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fisher's Hotel to your Saves list
Fisher's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75-79 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Warmer Break
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not a great Hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We paid £79 for an overnight stay including breakfast. The hotel is in great need of refurbishment. Our room was overlooking the street and wasn't clan, so we complained and got moved to a much nicer room (which makes we wonder why we weren't put there in the first place if it was lying empty?). This room was clean and more than adequate for what we paid.
The general cleanliness in the hotel wasn't great and the breakfast was ok, but nothing to rave about.
We wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: garden rooms nicer than ones overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    198
    103
    57
    25
See reviews for
78
218
35
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in the hotel July as part of a larger group who pre booked for a family occasion.
We have a 1 year old so when booking asked for a room with a cot.
On arrival were given a room on the 3rd floor and no cot. I raised this with reception and the very nice lady had one put in the room straight away. I didn't ask to be moved room as there was a lift, however regretted this later as the 3rd flor wa too far from restaurant for baby monitors to work so had to keep running up 3 flights of stairs every 15 mins to check on baby. ( she was fine folks)
Had a bite to eat for lunch in "the snug" I opted for a baked potato, no issues with nice big portion however the salad was unwashed and had bits of grit in the lettuce, again minor grumble not a complaint.
We had planned to take on the evenings entertainment as we were told it would be a ceilidh, no such luck. Instead was a cover act belting out take that and west life in scenes straight out of Phoenix Night's, so we retired to the snug for drinks.
Dinner was a pre set menu because we had booked as a group for an event. Food was all nice no issues at all although waiting staff had a breakdown in communication at one point when they mixed up the order.
Breakfast the next day was standard large hotel fare. I had the full Scottish , portion was hardly gargantuan but adequate plus there was plenty toast and cereals on the buffet.

Having statyed in the Fishers several times over the last ten years I can testify that improvements have been made. Ignore stupid complaints on other posts like " the sink gurgling kept me awake" seriously? Some folk must lead a sheltered life!

My only point to MANAGEMENT would be PLEASE get some baby changing facilities organised, trying to change a wriggly 1 year old on your knee in the disabled toilet is ridiculous in this day and age. I recently travelled To turkey where' practically every restaurant had a changing table in the ladies loos, and some even had then in the men's.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broughty ferry
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My partner and i stayed for one night,we checked in only to be allocated a room which to our disappointment hadn't been cleaned from the previous guests!we did however receive an upgrade because of this but must admit after a long journey it was not the best start!the room we were given was a good size and clean.we decided to eat at the restaurant but was disappointed at the lack of choice so decided to dine elsewhere.however the staff were helpful,location of the hotel is perfect and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Now I have nothing against retired people staying where I do why would I? However thismhotelmis clearly really just for this market. Looks lovely in the pictures but insiders tired. Staff are pleasant but I felt I was in the wrong place. Walked past a room where it was full of everyone playing bridge!!! Room was average but I think that was one of the best rooms as it looked like it had been given a lick of paint. We arrived for breakfast only to find that we and another couple were the only ones dining as the coach loads had obviously been up early, eaten and were leaving at the same time! So if you are a lot older and fancy the sound of it it would probably be perfect for you. Oh and we were offered a complimentary glass of sherry when we arrived... :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked to stay at the fishers hotel for two nights but could only stomach 1 night of misery. The room had cable ducting sticking out of the floor, the furniture had bits of stick under them to keep them level, the bed was badley stained and the mattress should be condemmed because the springs were knackered! The bathroom sink gurgled all night so we did not sleep a wink all night. The hotel was not very clean throughout and the furniture was really old, tired and threadbare. Pitlochery is a beautiful place but we felt let down by this hotel and will never go back.

Room Tip: Facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gil M, Manager at Fisher's Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
At The New Fishers Hotel we welcome all comments and feedback from guests visits here, alot of work has gone into New Fishers Hotel with the owners spending a large amount of money on it. There is still some work ongoing for this I can only apologise, this work is minor now but we have the hotel up to a 3 star status we plan to keep it there and better it. I am very surprised by the amount of things you found wrong with this and would be grateful if you could contact me so I can rectify these. We have found in the last year a very positive feedback from guests who have marvelled at the improvements within the hotel and we always get positive feedback regarding our staff whom we work incredibly hard to train. I look forward from hearing further from yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here overnight as part of a four centre coach tour of the Western Isles. First impressions were excellent. We arrived at 9pm and were greeted by pleasant reception and portering staff.

Our room was in the original building and was huge, well furnished, very clean and overlooking the lovely garden. We could only get cold water in the shower but it was a good wake up after a long journey from Stornoway . As it was late, we were told soup and sandwiches were available in the dining room. Lentil soup was home-made and much appreciated. However, the sandwiches and cake gave the impression of being the remains of afternoon tea. The chef who served us was very pleasant and welcoming. So far, so very good.

Now for the negative. As a coach party, it's accepted we may be corralled in a separate dining area to the main guests. However the breakfast food on offer was vastly inferior, with no choice of the main course and whilst we all waited ages to be served, one waitress in particular was clearly bored, feigning exaggerated yawning and ignoring the customers, many of whom were older guests. No orders were taken, each guest received, like it or not, a very small 'full English'.

This is out first trip to Pitlochry and it's a lovely town but we would not stay here again, simply because of the dining experience.

Room Tip: We asked in advance for a quiet room and this is what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This time of year it sometimes becomes hard to find vacancies at the better hotels in town. This hotel seems to come in at 19 out of 21. This could make it sound worse than it actually is.
We eventually opted for a nights stay D,B,& B at this hotel through Hotel Connexions Signature Club. If you stay here we would recommend booking on this board basis for a one nighter, as dinner worked out very reasonable, albeit average (not for "fine diners").

The room had obviously been recently refurbished / ongoing. A list of bullet points were left with reception upon departure, of what we deemed as "as found" corrective work required in the bathroom.

The bedroom itself we found satisfactory, & both slept ok, the room having a garden view, not onto the main street.

Staff were found to be excellent, especially considering the size of the hotel. As previously reviewed, the staff are able to deal with many people at one time, especially at breakfast, & being a "coach party" hotel they performed quite professional. If you stay whilst coach parties are there I would recommend you leave breakfast until around 0900 hrs. onwards (this was a Sunday). The coach party seemed to be in early whilst we were at the hotel & joining their coach to depart around 0900 hrs.

The hotel is in a good location, central Pitlochry, & parking no problem.
Would we stay again, yes, at the right price.

A special word for the two ladies on reception, they both came over as friendly, polite & professional, & the hotel have a nice touch, of a drink of sherry or whisky upon arrival (quality unknown as we did not participate).

Room Tip: Some rooms have shower only, bath only, or both. Contact hotel prior to travel to request your prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fisher's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisher's Hotel

Address: 75-79 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisher's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fishers is an amazing unique propery set in the heart of the beautiful town of Pitlochry. This iconic building has recently undergone a major refurbishment and is once again a jewel in the crown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fisher's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishers Hotel Pitlochry
Fisher's Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisher's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.