We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it says on the tin!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fisher's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fisher's Hotel to your Saves list
Fisher's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75-79 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Warmer Break
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not what it says on the tin!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Enticed by a ballroom/latin dinner dance and overnight, we were somewhat disappointed to find the 'band' was a drummer and accordionist more inclined to play Scottish country dance music, with repeated cries of people to take the floor for a 'strip the willow'(duly ignored).The food was distinctly average, but it WAS mass catering-mostly to disappointed dancers!The rooms were comfortable and clean, with a tiny tv with decent reception on bbc1 only.Breakfast was served, not buffet, but not cooked to order as it was served too quickly and was cold. The hotel was full, but many of the dancers-some of whom had travelled great distances-were very disappointed with the music on the night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    198
    103
    57
    25
See reviews for
78
218
35
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This recently reburbished hotel is an excellent choice ideally placed in centre of town, freindly clean and comfortable, Has its own rear access to railway station, breakfast was good,there is a nice bar attached to the hotel, and several other pubs/restauarants within short walking distance, highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

As a family we stayed at Fishers 2 nights DBB and had a lovely time. The staff could not do more and were very friendly. The room was quiet which i requested and very clean. We loved there breakfast and there evening meals were delicious too. We thought the snug was a great idea as kids can sit in there too our son found it cosy. Brilliant stay can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Midlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Pitlochry to the left, Pitlochry to the right of a perfectly placed hotel. It's so friendly here - room very nice, hotel ambience excellent and staff professional and helpful.
It's a lovely hotel to stay in the centre of a lovely town and stunning scenery.

Definitely recommended !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed at Fishers since the new owners took over. We stayed on Good Friday and Easter Saturday on a b & b deal, with dinner on one night. First the positives - the new owners have refurbished some areas and the bedroom we were in was fine. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean enough. The staff were pleasant and did their best to help with any requirements (such as a heater for our bedroom which was freezing when we arrived). The food we had was tasty and good value for the price we paid.

Now the negatives - breakfast on the first morning was served in the dining room. A sign saying "please wait to be seated" would help the staff, who were running round like headless chickens trying to keep track of who had come into the dining room and what room number they were from. It took ages to get the attention of someone to take our breakfast order - they all assumed someone else had already taken it. I would suggest that a more organised way of doing things would be to allocate a certain area in the dining room to a specific member of staff, so they would know who had been served/placed an order etc.

We chose to have dinner in the hotel on Saturday night. Big mistake. We were packed into the ballroom like sardines, perhaps only a few inches between tables allowing staff to squeeze through with food. You could easily join in with your neighbouring diners conversations, they were so close. That was until the music started up. I have never experienced such inappropriate music for a dining room to be played at such a loud level - think 80s school disco and you won't be far wrong! There was a trubute group on who were just awful, we really thought we were in the middle of an April Fool joke. Needless to say we left sharpish and had a couple of drinks elsewhere.

Breakfast on Sunday morning was awful - not the food, but the fact that we were ushered to the ballroom once again. The curtains were all closed, the room was freezing and again the tables were far too close together. We were put quite near the entrance, so all the diners seated after us had to squeeze past and it was just really unpleasant to try and eat brakfast with people banging into the table as they brushed past.

In summary this was not a great experience. Better organisation and putting more thought into customer servce and the dining experience would make a huge difference. I would think twice about booking again unless it was for a bargain price.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the gardens and was very quiet. Just ensure the heating is on when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We telephoned the hotel on the Friday evening to visit the hotel the following day for a two night break. From booking to leaving nothing was too much bother for the staff. We had a super time and enjoyed the breakfasts and dinners. It was a real surprise to find there was a "Tribute Act" performing on the Saturday evening. Keep it up Fishers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

we stayed for two nite,s over easter brk ..hotel it,s self was ok people freindly enough but food was in need of new meals ,would go back to stay over but not to eat in .....not great selection on menu....The room walls are very thin had niosy neighbours thru the nite after they came in from nite out ..meals wernt that warm ,and snug bar was very cold as was dining area ..tryed to overcharge us for drinks we didnt have !seemed coach parties were treated better .

Room Tip: not upstairs too many stairs for older folks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fisher's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisher's Hotel

Address: 75-79 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisher's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fishers is an amazing unique propery set in the heart of the beautiful town of Pitlochry. This iconic building has recently undergone a major refurbishment and is once again a jewel in the crown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fisher's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishers Hotel Pitlochry
Fisher's Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisher's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.