We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atholl Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Atholl Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Night Summer Special
Ranked #18 of 22 hotels in Pitlochry
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very impressive hotel in Pitlochry in Scotland. Reasonable rate, comfortable room, very accommodating staff! Beautiful grounds. We really enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet. We also enjoyed walking around the town of Pitlochry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. We are delighted you hear you enjoyed your stay, and we very much hope to welcome you back some time soon!
With best regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    250
    139
    98
    54
See reviews for
147
346
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here as a stop off when heading North. The building is stunning, the spa facilities were clean & well stocked & the food was very decent & not over priced. Our room was fresh & clean, if I had to be picky I would say the bathroom could have done with modernisation as it looked a bit tired. Overall we loved our stay here & we feel as though we have to return as we never had time to go a walk in the grounds which looked beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay, and your comments have been passed onto the rest of the team. With regards your comment about the bathroom, we are constantly doing refurbishments in the hotel to keep everything fresh and are currently updating some of our older bathroom suites, so we hope you will visit us again in the future and see the difference!
With best regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a very relaxing and enjoyable short break here.We stayed in the Edradour Suite in the turret,and found this to be very comfortable,with a spacious sitting room with large flat screen t.v.upstairs.The downstairs bedroom had a comfy bed,and as others have said,thin pillows,but then we did have two of them,so that was fine.The floorboards were squeaky,but so are ours at home!The rooms were all well maintained and clean,and the service from the staff was first class.We had the leisure facilities all to ourselves on both days,and found these clean and pleasant to use.We appreciated the large bathrobes to wear to and from the leisure centre.
I have read some negative reports about the food,but we had perfectly good meals,well presented, though not haute cuisine.I would prefer freshly cooked food at breakfast,rather than buffet,but that is only a minor complaint.The staff in the dining room worked hard and were very attentive.
We have stayed at the Atholl Palace before,and found it just as good this time.The large public areas and lovely hotel grounds give it a very spacious,yet relaxing feel to it. We will probably return here,as we find it suits us very well.

Room Tip: The turret suites are bright and spacious with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Atholl Palace Hotel. We very much appreciate your comments and will use these to help us improve in the future. We are delighted you have stayed with us in the past, and we will look forward to welcoming you next time!
With best regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I can't say we had a bad visit to the Atholl Palace Hotel but we definitely we not vowed by the overall experience. We arrived as a mini break honeymoon for 4 nights in July. Obviously having just got married we were still very excited and full of optimism for our stay.
This did fade at first when we entered the hotel and on realising I had booked in my maiden name, explained we'd got married and could it be now Mr & Mrs...etc this was greater with yes not a problem but not even a congratulations which felt very flat as a first conversation.
The strange carpeted tiny lift is very dated as are quite a few areas around the hotel, it could do with some investment into decor and facilities.
Our room was 203 and having noted on booking that it was our honeymoon wee thought maybe a nice in the room, a bottle of wine or congrats or something but nothing. The room itself is big, with a separate sitting area with a small sofa and tv, then a dressing area, bathroom of it and a large bedroom at the end. The wardrobe was slightly oddly positioned behind the door which made for some small elbow and feet injuries if the person coming into the room didn't know you were behind the door / getting clothes from the wardrobe!
We were on a dinner, b&b deal which on booking we thought was a good deal but a times I wasn't sure. A lot of the interesting, different or delicious souring food had big supplements and a times I struggled to choose. The portions were large and we didn't go hungry again it just wasn't what we expected.
Breakfast could be a bit interesting, sometimes there you had to wait in the bar area, if you sat near the buffet are you have a constant stream of people coming past you or waiting to get past you. It is also quite a small area for the number of people and could be quite congested and oddly people pushing in to get food which might be helped if there was more space to be.
The staff on the whole were courteous but no-one was memorable, normally at least one person sticks in your mind but sadly not this time.
We did enjoy one gorgeous early eve in the sun sipping champagne on the terrace but with uk weather this was luck and we still had to fetch the £50 bottle and glasses out ourselves, it's the little touches.
Overall a fab location for visiting this area which has loads of brilliant trips which I'll review in a minute but the hotel needs investment and time and just feels very flat there's no atmosphere and personality which is a shame as the building is stunning from the outside.

Room Tip: Room 203 does have a view over the mountains but don't look down to the bins and be careful when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Atholl Palace Hotel. We are very sorry you did not have the best of experiences with us, perhaps we do need to do more with regards the little touches you mentioned. All of your comments have been passed to our heads of department, and we will do our best to improve in the future.
We hope that you will come back and visit us again some time soon.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

absolutely magical place to visit, we will be returning and unbelievable food. so picturesque Lavender spa is well staffed and extremely relaxing. I look forward to my husband booking for our anniversary next year :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and may I congratulate you on your recent marriage! I am delighted you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and had a nice relaxing time in our Lavender Spa.
Wishing you all the best for the future!
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed to attend a conference. Dinner the previous evening was very very good and the staff very attentive. Bedroom comfortable but a needing a refurbishment. How I hate mattress protectors - they make me so uncomfortably hot at night. I know they are necessary but.......

Breakfast was from a hot buffet bar, which is never as good as having a meal cooked to order. However plenty of choice for a hearty meal. The conference lunch for over 100 was superb and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: I think all rooms will have a good view. The turret suites are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you ever so much for posting your review - I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the conference went well. I hope you can come and visit us again perhaps on a more leisurely basis, and thank you for your constructive comments.
With best regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After regularly visiting The Atholl Palace Pitlochry felt it only fair to leave a review . The only thing that has prevented me doing so before now is that it is one of my most favourite places in Scotland to stay and I don't want to find after my review I cannot get booked. The hotel is in a stunning location with spectacular views , very grand with loads of history. I holiday here at least twice a year with my elderly parents who love it. Every time we go for a break other family members end up joining us as they love the peace and tranquility of the palace. Not to mention my friends from Edinburgh who always always come up when we are there just to chill , have lunch, teas ,coffees ,or drinks and spend the day at the palace.

Room Tip: Valley View rooms are gorgeous with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your kind words! It's fantastic to hear you have been here regularly, and I am delighted that you are joined by your family and friends to enjoy all we have at the hotel.
We all very much look forward to welcoming you to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon!
With best regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it so leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atholl Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.