We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing spa break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atholl Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Atholl Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Atholl Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
glenrothes fife
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“relaxing spa break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

we did the spa break 25/26 june for my daughters 21st and it was excellent, lovely afternoon tea then were were able to use the spa facilities... pool, jacuzzi, steam rooms etc. our room was lovely and spotless with a view over the hills, our evening meal was wonderful staff very helpfull . the next morning after breakfast back down to the pool etc before having a lovely back massage and facial, the therapist did a wonderful job. will certainly be back thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent Spa Break. It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the hotel and I will pass this onto the rest of the team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and please wish your daughter belated 21st birthday wishes from all of us here!! We very much look forward to seeing you all back again!!
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    321
    175
    113
    68
See reviews for
210
437
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here thursday to saturday. When we got there felt very welcome and we had a lovely suite. We had dineer on the thursday afternoon which was lovely and the dinner staff were very helpful and friendly. We had drinks down the village the first night which is a lovely quiet village which a few nice restaurants. We drank in the hotel the second night which has a nice quiet resideance bar. The hotel is nicely decorated and gives you a real feel of a castle, also the grounds are unreal with so much to do and lots of nice walks around the forest. Plenty to do and an all round fun trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay. It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the hotel and I will pass this onto the rest of the team.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon!
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had the most wonderful restful and relaxing week, 9 - 16 June, staying at the Corrie Cottage on the grounds of the Atholl Palace Hotel, Pitlochry, Scotland. Five of us met together from different parts of the UK and from Dublin to enjoy the beautiful setting of the hotel and avail of all the facilities there while having our independence staying at the Corrie Cottage. What space! It was sheer luxury in the cottage with no fewer than three bathrooms! We were a few steps away from the hotel, the swimming pool, jacuzzi and the Lavender Spa. As we're all retired, we've been meeting together for a holiday for about ten years and usually we aim for the sun (southern Europe). This time one in the group suggested Scotland and would you believe, we did get sunshine - almost every day! It was a perfect choice.
We like swimming, walking and taking a quiet rest in the countryside, communing with nature - what better place to do all that than in the superb location of the hotel. The shrubs, rhododendrons, flowers, birds, wildlife and trees in the woodlands are 'heavenly' at this time and we enjoyed every minute of our time, including our daily walks on the nature trails, especially to the magnificent 'Black Spout' waterfall.
The staff get an A-rating from us. They are so very friendly and helpful, always ready to tell more about the countryside and to advise on day trips to the Highlands. We indulged in the Spa facilities of course and were treated to the wonderful 'Lavender' treatment by very professional, friendly, gentle therapists. We also ate in the hotel, breakfasts (everything to offer that keeps you going for the day!) lunch one day and then and evening meals. We had to best of both worlds - our own space and the chefs/waiters at the hotel to cater for our meals! We all agreed hat the choice to 'do' our week in Scotland could not have been surpassed. High praise of the great week we enjoyed. Thanks to all the staff at the hotel for making our week so memorable. Oh, and, when we were leaving on Sunday, we pledged to come back again! A big 'thank you' to all the friendly staff at Atholl Palace Hotel - you make visitors welcome and feel at home, all of which makes a holiday memorable.

Room Tip: The Corrie Cottage is spacious with three bathrooms. Its location is close to the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our Corrie Cottage! I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon! We will of course arrange to have lots of sunshine next time you visit too!!
With best regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on our way home from a wedding in Elgin. We last used this hotel for company Dinner Dance and overnight stay back in the mid 1980's. it was great then and did not disappoint this time. The staff are well trained and from the moment we checked in we were made to feel welcome and special. A great bar meal served just before a power failure (external problem, not the hotel). The staff dealt with it professionally, kept us informed and found alternative ways to provide a service. All in all, a satisfying experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay. It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the hotel and I will pass this onto the rest of the team. The power cut was very unfortunate but luckily didn't last too long, and we are glad it didn't disrupt your stay too much!
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the hotel, and hope to welcome you back again soon!
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My friend and I recently did the Sunday Spa for £99, well worth it. We had an overnight stay with dinner and breakfast with an hours spa treatment. We both had full body massages which were so relaxing and the therapists were lovely. We had full use of the Spa facilities and provided with robes and slippers. Our room was delightful, everything you needed including hairdryer. Dinner was excellent, 3 courses then coffee in the lounge afterwards. The views over the mountains in the dining area were amazing! All you could eat for breakfast too which was also first class. Could not fault anything and the staff were all pleasant and helpful. Going back with my Daughter for another treat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay. It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the spa and the hotel. I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel with your daughter soon.
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Atholl Palace Hotel, sits atop a granite outcrop and offers superb views over the Perthshire countryside. Built in the best Victorian Style it truly is magnificent. The Gardens/Grounds are probably the best of any hotel in Scotland.
We stayed for 2 nights on a DBB basis and greatly looked forward to dinner in the Verandah Restaurant. What a let down. This was "School Dinner" cuisine at its worst !!! We paid a supplement for the Chowder, which the Menu, promised a lot....but singularly failed to deliver !!!! Over salted....over smoked fish, barely edible. The lamb seasoned with sea salt and rosemary stuffed with black pudding, never existed. !!! What we go was a couple of slices of questionable lamb, non-nutritional vegetables...covered with red jus, to take away all evidence of what we were actually eating. Like all school dinner desserts, "Apple Crumble" didn't have any crumble !!! An unmitigated disaster. The Breakfast Buffet was great, other than every single item was stone cold. Did someone forget to light the flames ?????
Given that Scotland has probably one of the best larders in the world, the food presented at the Atholl Palace, was an embarrassment and I was quite ashamed that the hotel had the audacity to offer this to tourists from abroad let alone locals like me.
I could use more colourful adjectives, but will refrain from doing so.
Finally, on the 2nd night, the roast venison, turned out to be a stew, which bore an uncanny resemblance to "stewing beef"....the root vegetables, had been "mashed" resulting in something akin to a "bowl of sick" !!!! Disgusting....no thought on presentation or again nutritional value. An absolute disgrace.
To the Manager.....send for "The Hotel Inspector".....after you get yourself a chef !!!!
The only redeeming feature were the staff, who must have been embarrassed with the fayre produced. Oh forgot, we seemed to be on a speedy conveyor belt......50 minutes for a Three Course Dinner......world record......simply great for the digestion !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pump/generator room and don't eat in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As you can imagine, I was most disappointed to read the review of your experience at the Atholl Palace Hotel. At the Atholl Palace, we pride ourselves on our high standards of our food and customer service, therefore I am extremely concerned that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further, so that we can avoid this happening again in the future. If this would be of interest, I can be reached on dougal@athollpalace.com or 01796 472 400.

Kind Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We first got together at Atholl Palace Hotel 27 years ago, and have returned a number of times since then for romantic nostalgia. We love it, for perhaps obvious reasons.
Regarding the place; see other reviews... yes, beautiful. That is why we go back, and doubtless will again. 4 or 5 stars for that bit.

We made something of a mistake having dinner though. For two courses set at £25/head, we basically got a plated meal (in case you do not know, that means stuff that has been pre-made, and kept hot or re-heated, and we are not talking sous vide...).
I ate some soup, which although tasted home made, was quite bland, but edible. The main course was a major let down. I had gammon a la school dinner, served with cauliflower florets in a crispy crust. Well, perhaps it had once been crispy, but an unspecified time under a red lamp or some such had left it like something from an off day at KFC. There was also a glutinous 'sauce' which made no reference to its billed ingredients on the menu.
Basically, this food was old-school (pre-gastro pub) pub food. That would be OK in your local, but for £25?? In an establishment of such physical grandeur? There was quite a large proportion of the menu required a supplement too.

At a visit a few years ago, we had a similar experience, and indeed when complaining to the waitress that it was simply 'disappointing' in such a lovely place, she said that it was plated (then), but that the a la carte was good, and freshly made. We tried that the next night, and it was marvellous, although naturally pricier! Like something from a different restaurant. The price difference was no problem, since we only wanted good food. Sadly, there no longer seems to be an a la carte option, which is what we had planned for when we booked.....

Lastly, I would add that my partner had a more enjoyable experience, although the cocotte starter was 'basic', and we paid an extra £5.50 for the 'quite tasty' guinea fowl option. So, that was some £30 for her two courses.
London is supposed to be expensive, but I guarantee that there are hundreds (actually, maybe thousands) of places that for £30 would STUN you with their flair and quality; it is not about producing good food for that sort of price and still making a profit. This can easily be done as the places I allude to testify. Clearly, here it is about maxxing the profit margins for indifferent diners, and this agenda has been pursued strategically, presumably to subsidise other aspects of the business.

Here was a cynical menu designed to exploit trapped coach parties. It did not spoil our visit though— still lovely. Just don't eat there if you like nice food...
...Hence the overall rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As you can imagine, I was very disappointed to read the review of your experience at the Atholl Palace Hotel. At the Atholl Palace we pride ourselves on our high standard of food and our customer service, therefore I am extremely concerned that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further, so that we can avoid this happening again in the future. If this would be of interest, I can be reached on dougal@athollpalace.com or 01796 472 400.
Kind regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it so leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atholl Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.