We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks Like A Palace From The A9 And Close Up!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atholl Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atholl Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Atholl Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
North Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Looks Like A Palace From The A9 And Close Up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I have to say that I simply loved my stay at the Atholl Palace Hotel. To see it has a guest rating of 2.2 out of 5 on some sites is truly shocking. The grounds alone are magnificent, with acres of space, walks, tennis courts, fountains, streams and more. The look of the Hotel is nothing short of spectacular, both from the A9 road, and up close. The interior is dated in areas but is clean and the decor is very fitting. I really did feel I was staying somewhere very special. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful, as were those at the bar. Bar prices were about £4 a pint or short with mixer, and I enjoyed a couple of drinks on the outside benches, overlooking the beautiful scenery in the evening sun. We ate in the bar, which is a slightly different, slightly cheaper menu from the main restaurant, but it was delicious. I had a fish starter which was all fresh and beautifully presented, and my chicken main was also excellent. Two courses each for two persons was less than £40 - which for the standard of food, was very reasonable. The rooms were nothing too special, but the bed was comfortable, the shower (and toiletries) were excellent, and the tea/coffee/buscuit tray was well stocked. The only bad thing I experienced.....was having to leave! I did not get chance to use the leisure facilities due to work, but judging by the rest of the splendid hotel - I would imagine that they would be of a high standard. I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review the Atholl Palace Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and I hope you managed to enjoy the summer sunshine we have been experiencing! I will pass your comments onto the rest of the team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future!
With best regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    286
    165
    110
    62
See reviews for
184
392
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed for one night as my wife and I were going to Pitlochry festival theatre .I phoned before booking to ask what time they started serving dinner and was told 6pm, so I went ahead and booked as the theatre show started at 8pm .On arrival they said dinner was 6.30pm and if I wanted a meal to use the bar and have a supper menu .Needless to say I was not a happy chappie as this was all arranged for my wifes birthday .but happy endings as the very nice young lady in reception along with the head waiter James arranged for us to have an early dinner which we thoroughly enjoyed !! Our room was a superior double room with lovely views over the Tummel valley .It had an extremely comfy bed but the toilet left a lot to be desired, the soap had been left from previous occupant and there was no toiletries at all I had to ask for them .the shelf which is normally above the sink for holding toiletries etc was above the toilet cistern ,also there was no towel rails at the sink ,there was one small rail on the back wall !!! .Lastly the shower only run cold so it was just as well we had a bath .Dont know who designed the bathroom !!.Apart from that the hotel was beautiful and the grounds were magnificent. Restaurant staff were first class ! I would go back but not in a hurry !

Room Tip: Rooms with a view ie Tummel valley are very nice but I would say not worth the extra !.You can see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay.
At the Atholl Palace we welcome all feedback, good and bad. We pride ourselves on our high standard and on this occasion we have failed. I will certainly speak to the housekeeping staff regarding the lack of amenities in the bathroom & for this I can only apologise. We will certainly do our best to rectify the points you have mentioned and hope this will not deter you from visiting us again.
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just got back from staying at the Athol Palace lodges (3 bedroom Tay lodge) for 4 nights. When we entered the lodge which is more like your own house we were amazed at the standard of the rooms and how big they were. The facilities on site were also great to use sauna/steam room/jacuzzi and pool all were never that busy. We got great weather so spend a lot of time in the garden and made use of the BBQ area. Pitlochry really is a beautiful town and everyone was great in the hotel and in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review your stay! We are delighted that you enjoyed the Tay Lodge, and managed to enjoy this stunning weather we have been lucky enough to have!! I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel & Lodges again soon.
With best regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed last week for "quick" honey moon break - had a wonderful stay
We loved hotel - surroundings - James in dining room was extremely helpful - but could have done without the Irish owner who,came to our table and wouldn't goaway!!!
Overall a really nice place for a break - walking distance to lovey village, Food excellent, rooms warm and comfortable room, grounds splendidly colourful - spa area great. Would recommend

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay. It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the hotel and I will pass this onto James and the rest of the team.
We are delighted you enjoyed your Honeymoon break, please accept our congratulations on your wedding and we wish you all the best for married life!
We very much hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon!
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were here for a wedding, they had lost our reservation, though still had my contact details, and seemed perplexed that wedding guests might like to get into their rooms to change before the ceremony! When we did finally get a room, the shower was just a dribble and didn't get hot. They were nice people but didn't seem to have much of a clue about customer service. I was really disappointed in the service of the hotel, many years ago my parents spent their honeymoon here and it was wonderful then. The location however is amazing and Pitlochry is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to hear that you had trouble getting into your room early before the wedding, we do try our best to have all the rooms ready for early check in, but sometimes this is not possible due to a busy checkout that morning. We do however welcome all feedback, good and bad and pride ourselves on our high level of customer service. One this occasion we have failed somewhat and we can only apologise. We will certainly do our best to rectify the points you have mentioned and hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel in the near future.
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked a spa visit and lunch at this impressive-looking hotel. On arrival we were directed to the Spa, No staff around so eventually we just signed the sheet, went and changed and looked after ourselves, we would say the spa was very nice, clean and although the plunge pool was not working everything else was fine. We were the only guests using the spa and we did see a couple of spa members of staff walk past it was not until we were going to get changed that finally they spoke to us and sorted our lunch vouchers. Had we been greeted earlier there was every possibility we might have booked a treatment so missed opportunity for sure.

We went to the Veranda restaurant at 12-20 and advised the waiter that we had a table booked for 12-30, he invited us to take a seat but then the head waiter said, its too early and we were told to go and sit in the area outside the restaurant. Suggestion here, maybe would be good to say " I am sorry, the restaurant won't be open for ten minutes but would you like to take a seat in the lounge area, can we get you a drink while you are waiting?" missed opportunity number 2!
Once the restaurant was open we sat down, elegant surroundings, white tablecloths etc but laminated plastic menu, really not the image, nor Vanessa Feltz on Radio Two being broadcast as comfort music, surely a hotel of this standard can do better than that. Chicken on the menu not free range, of course we would expect that from KFC but not a top end hotel, this meant the menu was somewhat limited from our perspective.
We ordered sandwiches, which arrived promptly and were well presented, we also ordered dessert, Clootie Dumpling, why did it take 40 minutes from clearing our plates to getting our dessert, after all it was only sliced from a bigger pudding and heated in the microwave?

With a full restaurant we might understand, however there were only 4 or 5 diners and therefore the service was not of a good standard in terms of promptness, although it was polite. A small note we also had to ask for a dirty fork to be replaced.

Maybe we were unlucky but facing the economic challenges of today this hotel needs to shake itself up a bit, a small amount of attention to detail and we would be planning a return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay.
At the Atholl Palace we welcome all feedback, good and bad. We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service and on this occasion we have failed. For this we can only apologise and will certainly do our best to rectify the points you have mentioned.
We do hope this will not deter you from visiting us again.
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

A girlie break for a big birthday and we had a great time. The building and grounds are amazing and live up to the “palace”. Four of us booked the one night spa break and must say it was great value including afternoon tea, a spa treatment dinner bed and breakfast.
We has two adjoining rooms on the second floor one large and one small. Both had great views were clean, but could do with updating. The smaller of the two rooms only had a shower.
Our first stop was afternoon tea, our young Irish waiter was very friendly and welcoming with just the right amount of banter, offering to open windows as we were all fanning ourselves with the menus. Whilst having our afternoon tea we enjoyed watching the guests who had assembled for a large wedding that was on in the hotel.
Next stop was the spa, two pedicures a message and a facial, the girls were very welcoming and friendly put us at ease and our treatments were very relaxing.
After the spa we went to the bar for a drink. but the service was exceedingly slow – had to phone reception to get someone to come and serve us. Not sure if this was normal or because of the wedding. We were not the only people in the bar there were two other groups, the barman left every time he had served one group and the had to be phoned again.
Dinner was just ok the risotto starter was a bit dry and there was a poor choice of vegetarian dishes. We were told that after dinner coffee would be served in the lounge outside the restaurant, we had to ask twice for this, not sure if the service was slow because of the wedding.
Breakfast was good, self serve buffet and everything was fresh and warm. It was very busy and there was a bit of a queue at the one toaster.
All in all a great night, well worth it and yes I would go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay.
At the Atholl Palace we welcome all feedback, good and bad. We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service and on this occasion we have failed. For this we can only apologise and will certainly do our best to rectify all the points you have mentioned.
We hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel in the near future.
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it so leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atholl Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.