We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel in stunning location but looking a bit tired and in need of some tlc” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atholl Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atholl Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Atholl Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Falkirk
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Old hotel in stunning location but looking a bit tired and in need of some tlc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Our friends were staying here so we decided to visit for lunch one day and afternoon tea the next.
Lunch was very nice and service friendly and efficient.
Afternoon tea was ok. Could have done with more sandwiches and less cake and we had to keep asking for more tea as there was only one teapot between 5!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your visit to the Atholl Palace Hotel. It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the hotel and I will pass your comments onto the rest of the team.
We hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon!
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    286
    165
    110
    62
See reviews for
184
392
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

When it comes to hospitality and customer care, it's all about perception, ambience and getting it right. The majority of the staff at Atholl Palace strive to achieve this. The 3 day break we had that I booked for my husband's 50th birthday was well worth it. From the initial booking where our comfort and needs were considered right to the last morning we were met with a warm welcome and understanding. Nothing was too much, everything from the cleanliness of the whole hotel to the relaxed atmosphere was excellent, we were treated as individuals despite the hotel being very busy.
So why haven't we scored 5 all the way through?
Most people emphasis the negative 1st, that is why we have given the positive 1st. The negatives are these: attention to detail, little things like the tiles on the Jacuzzi where some were missing, the grouting was old and discoloured; the steam room was in need of attention, there was a hole in the ceiling above the Jacuzzi where the ivy was growing through. The pool and the Jacuzzi were cold. The snooker room and table were in need of some much needed attention. Thetoilet in our bathroom was loose and the bottom shower cover was missing. These are all cosmetic issues that can easily be rectified. The final negative is not so easy, a managerial member of staff was rude, discourteous and unprofessional yet did not seem to recognise there failings. Other restaurant staff could not understand simple questions, I did raise this with the management, however I have yet to discover the outcome.
All in all we would recommend this fantastic hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay. At the Atholl Palace we welcome all feedback, good and bad. We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service and on this occasion we have failed. For this, and your other points about the cosmetic issues in the spa, we can only apologise and will certainly do our best to rectify the points you have mentioned.It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the hotel and I will pass this onto the rest of the team.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon!
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Just went to the hotel for a meal not as a resident. Thought we would splash out a little and have a slap up meal before heading home. Service was very good. Friendly staff but oh dear the food was very disappointing. The hotel is four star but the food was distinctly three star. The wife had to send the starter back. A basic fishy risotto very dry and unappealing changed it for a basic salad. The main meals again were not particularly inspiring. Over cooked Angus steaks on a bed of mash with a couple of leaves of water cress. And for dessert boring basic ice cream. Very tasteless. I have to say the Moulin pub just up the road had better food for half the price. Still I suppose the price included the pretty views from the windows overlooking the valley below. Not inspiring and rather disappointing really for such an acclaimed hotel.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent visit to the hotel.
At the Atholl Palace we welcome all feedback, good and bad. We pride ourselves on our fine dining and on this occasion we have clearly failed. For this we can only apologise and will certainly do our best to rectify the points you have mentioned.
We do hope this will not deter you visiting the Atholl Palace Hotel again in the future.
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have stayed here 3 times now and for the Etape Caledonia every time over the last 3 years. It is not worth £200 for 1 nights B & B. This year our bathroom door didn't event close and the window in the bedroom didn't close fully either (left a gap of around 1 inch). Breakfast for the cyclists is OK but come on guys just because we are up at 5.15am and want porridge you could atleast do somehting rather than just plonk an exceptionally large pot full of porridge on a table. No bananas either at breakfast - again at £200 I would have expected this given the event that was going on. Location is great certainly for the start and finish line and the grounds are lovely as well - we use the pool before and after the event and my husband and son make full use of the 9 hole mini golf course. According to my husband the breakfast for regular guests was not great either. We don't eat in the hotel at dinner as again a pasta meal the night before at over £15 is a bit of a rip-off and I thhink more and more now that some hotels are just starting to charge whatever they want becasue they know anybody taking part in the event wants to stay as close as possible. I don't mind paying £200 for a decent hotel with no faults etc but think this is now well over-priced even for the convenience of the location

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay.
At the Atholl Palace we welcome all feedback, good and bad so thank you for taking the time out to post your review. I completely take on board your comments about the early breakfast, and regarding the the fact that your window/door didn't close properly! We will certainly do our best to rectify these points immediately!
We hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again and look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel in the near future.
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel looks absolutely stunning from a distance and up front, but the room did not live up to expectations. Ours was very small and cramped. The hotel facilities are excellent and the surrounding gardens and walks are stunning. The big disappointment was the service in the restaurant. The head waiter should probably consider a different line of work due to his dour demeanor.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay.
At the Atholl Palace we welcome all feedback, good and bad. We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service and on this occasion we have clearly failed and we will certainly address these issues. For this we apologise, and we hope that you will visit the Atholl Palace Hotel again in the future.
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were going up to for a wedding at the hotel. A friend suggested that for a little more than two nights hotel accommodation we could go up for a week and share a self catering apartment. £600 for a spacious 3 bed lodge. Light, ample room for 4 adults and two energetic young boys.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Bonus : you get to use the spa facilities at the hotel. The ladies treated themselves to some massages and the boys got to swim in the pool. Also there was a small 5 a side football pitch on the grass outside the lodge. afternoon tea was very good value.
Downside : I didn't get to use the pitch and putt. Spa doesn't always have someone on reception.
The hotel is very grand. From talking to the people that stayed there the rooms are good but not luxurious. The hotel seems to be in the process of refurbish them slowly. As the hotel's on top of a hill the views from the bedrooms can be outstanding.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay in our lodges. It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the hotel and I will pass this onto the rest of the team.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon!
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked in for one night to celebrate a friends wedding. Arrived late afternoon and found reception staff very friendly. Upon entering the room I found it to be nice enough but the view out of the window was spectacular. Ordered room services which came fairly quickly. £20 for soup and a sandwich, but it was good quality. Attended the wedding reception and heard that the whole day had gone without a hitch and that the staff had been fantastic, as had the food. Unfortunately I can't say the same for some of the evening bar staff. There was one girl who didn't know how to smile and everything seemed too much of an effort for her. Then there were the two guys who thought it was OK to slag off customers in their "native tongue" until that is, I told them that I speak three languages, including there's, and knew what they had just said about me. Needless to say they were very shocked, but denied all knowledge. My only other criticism was the bathroom in my room. The shower pressure was "non existent" which you do have to expect from an older building, but also I had a 8" step to get up into the bathroom from the room, which I forgot about on the way back out and nearly broke my neck. Our breakfast the next day was fine, with a good selection of both full Scottish and Continental on offer. We had a swim in the pool before checking out, which was lovely. Overall, the place is a beautiful piece of history, the views and surroundings are stunning, but some of the staff need replacing very quickly.

Room Tip: Ask for one looking out to the front of the hotel and third floor or above for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay. At the Atholl Palace we welcome all feedback, good and bad. We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service and on this occasion we have clearly failed. For this we can only apologise and will certainly do our best to rectify the points you have mentioned.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the overall experience of your stay, and we very much hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel in the future.
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it so leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atholl Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.