We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful weekend stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Trees Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Trees Hotel to your Saves list
Pine Trees Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Strathview Terrace, Pitlochry PH16 5QR, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Kinghorn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful weekend stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A great break, superb air conditioning in the room, not something you normally associate with Scotland. Lovely hotel and staff, very professional. Great breakfasts with quality ingredients ( Bacon that actually tastes like bacon).
Dinner was from a small menu but the quality was exceptional.
We are happy to recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Room 25 has a small balcony over looking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    95
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
42
216
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for my 50th birthday for three nights in the suite. Set in wonderful surroundings the hotel maintains the Country house grandeur that is its history. The lounge and bar areas are full of comfy chairs and sofas in keeping with its character and the sweeping staircase is stunning.
On entering the suite we were wowed by the size and the original features, as well as the king sized four poster bed! If I had to find a negative then it would be the bathroom layout could be better. The staff were all very welcoming and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast cooked to order with local produce, my partner in particular thought the black pudding was outstanding. A short walk into town (5 mins), plenty of restuarants and shops for all tastes. Will be back next year, well worth the 6 hours travelling time.
PS. after reading the history of the hotel , we would love the pitch and putt back on the front lawn!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insch
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here for three days while hill walking around Pitlochry and it was a beautiful relaxing hotel. We were made to feel very welcome and the service was exceptional. It is close to the centre of Pitlochry but feels like the country as it is so quiet and peaceful. No vegetarian breakfast options but the scrambled eggs was the lightest and best I have ever had. I would certainly go back and recommend it to couples wanting some quality time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at this hotel having had to leave another hotel a short distance from here due to unacceptable standards we were lucky to get one of the last rooms available and how lovely it was, clean, cosy and everything you needed. Staff were fantastic, breakfast was good, my only wish would be to see vegetarian sausages as an option. Evening meal was superb and would love the recipe for the French onion soup it was devine! Short walk from town makes this hotel perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel building (with fascinating history) is set in lovely grounds. It offers a good breakfast and great evening meals; the bedrooms are comfortable and clean. The staff are helpful and attentive, supervised by the owner. The location is easy to find and a short walk from the main street. We have been before and we will go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel is in a quiet location yet a short walk (down a hill) to the main street in Pitlochry. Our double room was very clean and comfortable. Dinner was included as part of our deal and was very good. We spent a little more for the steaks which arrived perfectly cooked and worth the extra. Desert was a little basic but enjoyable all the same. Our wine at dinner (Chianti) was really good for a fairly reasonable price. Service in the restaurant was excellent.
Don't be put off by first impressions; it is a bit dated in the downstairs area with lots of sofas and it is very quiet during the afternoon but by dinner time there was a lot more life in the hotel.
Pitlochry is a great location for walking, especially if you like river walks, many accessible a short walk from the hotel.
Would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed with my partner for four nights while we were attending the theatre. This is an excellent hotel in a beautiful setting. The staff are very efficient, rooms are spotless and comfortable and the food is first rate.
We have already booked for a second stay in December

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Trees Hotel

Address: Strathview Terrace, Pitlochry PH16 5QR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Trees Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pine Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Trees Pitlochry
Hotel Pine Trees
Pine Trees Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Trees Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.