We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxing Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Trees Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pine Trees Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine Trees Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Strathview Terrace, Pitlochry PH16 5QR, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Pitlochry
Montrose, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Relaxing Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I have just enjoyed a one night stay, on a dinner bed and breakfast deal. We were delighted with the quality of service from all the staff. We have stayed in 5 star hotel accommodation and not been looked after too such a high standard. The hotel had a real festive feel to it, and we really enjoyed sitting in front of the log fires with a drink or two just relaxing. The dinner menu choice was very good, the food was of fine dining quality. Breakfast was also very impressive great choice and service yet again.

Thank you and your staff for a really pleasant stay and Happy New Year to you all.

Stayed 29th December 2012, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review. We hope you had a wonderful time for Christmas and Hogmanay and we do look forward to seeing you again in 2013.

Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    68
    14
    5
    8
See reviews for
31
163
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairn scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

By far the best hotel meals I have ever tasted. The breakfast and evening meals were top draw. My wife and I are very fussy, and hard to please when it comes to dining out, but have to say we could not fault the choice and quality of the food, our congratulations to the chef and his assistants. The restaurant staff were all very attentive and made us feel very welcomed. The room was a virtual mini apartment with a walk-in wardrobe, a small separate study, a six foot double bed with sofas and small table and chairs for those wet evenings playing cards and having a hot toddy, and a very large ensuite bath and shower. The only downside was that the room was hot during the night and all windows had to be opened. At first I thought that the price for the 3 day package was a little on the high side (went with friends), however the meals and friendly staff made all the difference and well worth the experience. Thoroughly recommend this hotel for peaceful short or long stays.

Room Tip: Strongly recommend the superior bedroom in the annex. It does involve a minute’s walk to the hotel f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas Break with us - we certainly enjoyed your company and look forward to a return visit in 2013 hopefully!
Thank you for your kind comments.

Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Lovely hotel, peaceful, comfortable with very friendly staff. We stayed for one night dinner, bed and breakfast. Dinner was excellent as was the breakfast. Rooms were of a high standard. We will be returning sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I have just enjoyed a one night stay. We booked to enable us to go to The Festival Theatre and we were delighted with the service and found the hotel itself very clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed the 'personal' touch of having our bag taken to our room and found the staff very considerate and attentive-nothing seemed to be a bother to them-even having our drinks delivered to our table when we returned from the Theatre. The hotel had a real festive feel to it as well. The breakfast was excellent and it was so nice to have hot food to the last bite.
Thank you and your staff for a really pleasant stay and Happy Christmas to you all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Many thanks for your kind observations and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We love to see people coming back again so we hope to see you in 2013 after you have had what we hope will be an enjoyable Festive Break.
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Lovely hotel, friendly staff and wonderful food. We will definitely be back to this lovely hotel. One small criticism is perhaps the layout of the dining room as the tables seem very close together - so not much privacy. However the food more than made up for that as it was really excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I along with our small dog Jock have just returned from very relaxing two night stay at Pinetrees hotel. This is our second visit over the last 18 months and it lived up to its previous high standards. The visit commenced with a warm welcome from the staff on entering the hotel and this continued throughout the visit. The superior room and bathroom were very comfortable and the food was to an excellent standard with varied choices on the menu. We enjoyed sitting in the lounge after dinner with our dog who was also made very welcome by the staff who made a big fuss of him including his complimentary pieces of cheese. If you need to stay in Pitlochry then look no further then Pinetrees hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Pine Trees and we appreciate your comments with regard to our food offering and we are so pleased you enjoyed your meals. We believe that meals are a most important part of your stay anywhere and we would be most disappointed if we failed to live up to our own high standards.

Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D & G
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have always liked Pitlochry sine the far gone days of caravanning at Milton of fonad. Celebrating my wife's birthday we decided to have a couple of night at Pine Trees. The first thing that has to be said is the staff are top class. Cheerful, helpful, attentive - obviously want you to enjoy a relaxing time with them. We had the " birthday meal in the hotel. Excellent fayre, well presented, apetising . Similarly breakfast offered a wide choice ( I had smoked haddock with poached egg first morning and grilled kipper second ....... but I am a 'fishy' person !
the room was spacious, bed comfortable and the heating ( sub-zero outside ) controllable at a touch. The room was a somewhat odd shape - on second floor room 25 - and I had to watch my head carefully - prone to bang it and there were a number of hazards. Perhaps I should add it was categarised " a superior room " It was a nice hotel to celebrate

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid 25 who - like me have no hair to warn about hazards !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pine Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Trees Hotel

Address: Strathview Terrace, Pitlochry PH16 5QR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Trees Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pine Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Trees Pitlochry
Hotel Pine Trees
Pine Trees Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Trees Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.