We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Three Day Break".” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scotland's Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"Great Three Day Break".”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Had a three night stay and must say enjoyed it having been before staff were very friendly and our room was very comfortable.We really enjoyed the taster menu it was a good opportunity to sample a variety of flavours. The staff in the dining room were very pleasant. You had a taster spoon followed by choice of starter from the daily menu then a small cup of soup ,main course and desert and an oat cake with a cheese taster to finish off. We both enjoyed the Roast Lamb and on the following night we had the Sea Bass. However the only downside yet again as last visit was the Porridge for breakfast it was like wallpaper paste with lumps and did not look very appealing at all. The cooked breakfast was good and plentiful however I left the sausage on the first morning as it tasted of herbs my other concern was of the serving of hot plates sure you want your meal on a hot plate but the plates that we were served on the last morning were overly hot and you could feel the heat coming off them the waitress did give us plenty warning and said she could feel the heat coming through her cloth. However overall a excellent stay and will return.

Room Tip: We choose a Twin room and got a great room with single and double bed (Room 207) however can be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    375
    199
    142
    98
See reviews for
149
578
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed during the Etape Caledonia, in the Bank House, a separate building next door to the hotel. The rooms were comfortable and a little old fashioned. The breakfast was great and the staff were all welcoming and helpful.The spa package was good value and very relaxing. There is a small pool, sauna and gym. The booking system for treatments was difficult to fathom as bookings were changed without letting us know.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have just returned from a three day break at the Scotland's. We booked a deal and found it to be great value for money. We have stayed at this hotel before so knew it was a little old fashioned but that is really part of the charm.
We were travelling with our dog so asked for a room in the annexe We had a ground floor room in the Bank House that was warm clean and cosy. Not much of a view from the window as we were at the back but really peaceful and ideal access for the dog. The dog was allowed in to the bar area and the residents lounge.
We really enjoyed the taster menu it was a good opportunity to sample a variety of flavours. The staff in the dining room were pleasant and the food was always served on nice hot plates. You had a taster spoon followed by choice of starter from the daily menu then a small cup of soup ,main course and desert and an oat cake with a cheese taster to finish off.Full marks went to the herb crusted salmon and the cheesecake !
There was a good choice of hot breakfast which suited us but continental breakfast seemed quite limited. We didn't use the spa so can't comment on that.
Everybody we met seemed to be enjoying their stay.

Room Tip: Bank House rooms good for doggy visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

2nd time at the Scotland hotel still first class, beautiful scenery, exquisite food, lovely clear pool ,nice and wonderful staff, thank you again for a fantastic weekend away ,cant wait to go back next year

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed with a party of 50 guests this weekend and I was astonished at the poor deal on food. Our dinner consisted of a bite sized starter each night and a main course which was starter size as was sweet. The service was slow an d when we asked for vegetables the first night were told that was all we were getting. We could not connect to Wi-Fi from our room or anywhere else in the hotel despite the receptionist trying. Our room door was very difficult to lock with poor instruction and to top it off on the Sunday night we had a quiz which finished at 11 pm I asked at that time for a glass of water and ice and was told no bar closed try lounge bar it was closed also. My husband eventually got one from the night porter he was appalled at the reaction we received. If it had not been for the excellent company we were with We would not have stayed really POOR

Room Tip: Higher floor better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darvel, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was a birthday treat for me. My husband and I both loved the food, the staff were excellent, rooms clean and adequate (floor boards a bit creeky), bar drinks a bit pricey but you don't have to drink in the bar, we didn't use the spa/pool/gym facilities so cannot comment on those. we would definitely visit again and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I booked into a twin room on a spa break with my daughter, as i have been ill for nearly 3 years and this was a trip for her and i to have some relaxation. We booked in advance, about 6 weeks prior. When we booked we were told the Spa was busy on the Monday and we had to take the last two appointments on the day (Spa breaks staying on a Sunday, treatments must be taken on a Monday) We arrived on Sunday 20th and checked in. We asked if there were any cancellations that we could get treatments earlier in the day, we were told we could not as 1 lady had booked a whole 4 hours of treatments, 2 hours before lunch and 2 hours after. We told the hotel we were not happy that 1 person was able to book so much of the Spa time. Our room was ok, pretty basic and not a lot of room, but clean at least. On the Monday morning after breakfast we again checked there had been no cancellations, and asked the receptionist what we were to do as we had to book out of the room by 11am and we wanted to use the gym and pool, as we had to wait till 3pm for the 1st treatment. The receptionist said we had to book out but we could use the facilities. At the gym then we went into their lovely pool, however when we came out of the pool to shower, we discovered their was no shower gel or shampool to have a wash with (our suitcase was in the boot of the car). Then to top it off there was no hairdryer! We turned up at the Spa at the allocated time, to meet with a heavily pregnant therapist who announced that she could not do me a pedicure treatment or any of the treatments that my daughter wanted either. The purpose of our trip was a treat as i have been very ill. The therapist said the only treatment she could do was a back, neck and shoulder light massage (no use for me, as i have a frozen shoulder as well at the moment), or a head massage or a facial (both of which are no use to me as i have Giant Cell Arteritis and cannot allow anyone to massage that area because of headaches) She said if i lay on the bed she would file my toe nails and put polish on them. This seemed the only option for me, so i agreed. After i was done i sat for the whole time without socks or shoes on that it took for my daughter to get the back, neck and shoulder massage (which she says the whole time she could feel the therapists bump rubbing on her). Then i put my socks and shoes on and we came home, to find when i did get home, my socks had stuck to the big toes and it was a mess! Nothing like what a spa is supposed to be like, certainly not relaxing!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotland's Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.