We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic three night break with our dogs B¬)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Scotland's Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic three night break with our dogs B¬)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay - a lovely room, excellent meals from a menu that changed nightly, free use of pool and spa facilities including sauna, steam room and gym, friendly staff and best of all, our two labradors were allowed everywhere apart from the dining room and spa area. Just off the main street in Pitlochry, we were within easy reach of shopping, sight-seeing and walks. Other guests ranged from young families to mature couples and I would recommend Scotland's Hotel and Spa to everyone, whatever type of trip you are planning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with, thank you for all your lovely comments and glad you had such a wonderful break with us, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    401
    213
    149
    101
See reviews for
162
605
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had high hopes for our first night in Scotland and was so very disappointed. The pictures we saw online were deceiving. The bar area is very small. Our room was also very small. We spent 4 nights in Scotland, including one night in a wonderful castle. This hotel was the highest price, and not worth it. Our reservation was listed as "Hotel & Leisure Club" We decided, being from the U.S., that "Leisure" must mean retired and over 70. I would not go back, even if it was free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us, very sorry to read that your room was on the small side we do offer suite's and executive rooms that can be upgraded too for an additional charge, we do have a leisure club and yes its not the largest but its their for all our guests to use. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were traveling with friends. Of all the hotels we stayed in, this was the worst. It's dated and musty. Our friends room was half the size of ours for the same price. It was the highest priced of all the hotels we stayed in. Our friends asked about it and we're ignored. Their staff really didn't care in the least. We certainly won't return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, not sure whom you spoke too but my staff in general are all very polite and very surprised that they never gave you an reply to your question, really just depends when you book the earlier you book sometimes the better the deal or if theirs more rooms too sell then its the other way round. The hotel in general has been very busy for the last 6 months. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirling
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel is housed in a fine old building with a grand staircase and tiny lifts. Theres ample car parking spaces. On booking in and other requests the reception staff were always friendly and helpful. The room we had was both clean and adequate. The bathroom had both bath and shower which is always good. We were there on a DB&B package. The breakfasts were excellent. The full scottish was not overpowering and the fish was great. The evening set menu was really good and had obviously had some thought put into it. The waiting staff were efficient, professional and courteous. After food, the upper seating near the bar is a great place to enjoy a G&T.
We went mainly to enjoy the spa facilities. As long as we timed it right we had the place pretty much to ourself thus avoiding the old person jacuzzi hijack scenario. The steam room, sauna and pool are quite small but again timing is everything. My only issue was the £1 towel charge. We just took our towel from the room and recieved fresh ones from room service anyway.
All in all a very pleasant and enjoyable break.
PS If your looking for a sandwich in Pitlochry, the deli beside the butchers just down from the hotels really good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stya with us at Scotland's Hotel, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your comments onto all my staff, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkeithing, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

booked a short mid-week break, checked in couple of hours early !! ;0) staff were very friendly, service was 1st class from start to finish. Decor of hotel is lovely, rooms are spotless & well decorated loved the victorian style. The restaurant food was really nice & breakfast spot-on & served very quickly !!. Would certainly go back again, really didn't want to come home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, glad that you had such a lovely stay and that everything went well, thanks again for all your kind comments

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I found this hotel average. I have no real complaints, however, I do not think they should be advertising as a 'spa weekend' because it lacked any form of what you would expect from a spa experience....

Negatives
No robe or slippers supplied
Towels - asked for £1 for using a towel to take to the pool/sauna area!
No hairdryer in ladies changing room
Dinner - had to ask for water; no bread offered; starter - pate came on lettuce, no toast, bread or anything, and no offer of bread (again)! Dessert - creme brulee- served cold, cup was freezing so clearly had just came out of fridge.
We did not feel pampered at all. The treatment area was relaxing, however it was quite far from our room and since no robes were offered, we had to go there dressed, this meant after the treatment we had to get dressed again and go back to our room. I'm maybe being slightly high maintenance here but it felt more like we had booked a hotel with the option of having treatments!
Reception staff didn't know what deal we were on when we arrived so we had to explain how much we paid and what treatments we had booked. They spent 5 minutes looking online! I assumed a hotel would know what we had booked since we booked direct not through an agent.

Positives
Cheap deal
Nice view from our room
Nice pool area
Hotel was easy to find and within walking distance to high street

I would recommend if you are looking for a cheap, decent stay, but as a spa experience, I would recommend paying a wee bit more and going elsewhere.

Room Tip: Our room had a nice view Room was quite basic but clean and served it's purpose
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, sorry you never enjoyed your stay with us and that some aspects of your stay was a let down. its the little things that make a break and it seems they were missed my apologies for our lack of attention to detail. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Me and my husband booked a weekend away for our first wedding anniversay, the room was very expensive and not worth the money!the wallpaper on the ceiling was falling down, the chairs were stained, there was damp mould all over the bathroom, when the bath was filled it was not siliconed to the wall therefore leaving a rather large gap, the bath rail supports where hanging off the bath, the bath robes provided had seen better days and to be honest should not have been given to customers.it was awful.you didn't even get to take a breath at breakfast or dinner between courses as you were served overly priced food that had obviously been sitting on a hot plate. The spa did not have any towels available and so we were given a hand towel each to dry ourselves. Overall this was a very poor experience for an occasion that was so special. Would not reccomend!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and please accept my apologies that this was not as enjoyable as it should have been, the problems with the bedroom have all been dealt with already my apologies that you had to bring this to my attention. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotland's Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.