We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knockendarroch House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Knockendarroch House Hotel to your Saves list
Knockendarroch House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from £170 DBB
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

What I have to say has already been said.

I'm a bit of a perfectionist, and having stayed here on a few occasions have found the prefect place to unwind.

The staff are brilliant.

.Will be back in the very near future .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear bodyguardscotland, I am so glad we continue to meet your 'perfectionist' standards! Delighted that you are able to unwind at the Knockendarroch, and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    46
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
341
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were looking for somewhere not too far from home but far enough for it to feel like a real break. On arrival at Knockendarroch House we were greeted by the ever friendly member of staff, Maria, she checked us in & then showed us round the public areas before carrying my case up to our 1st floor room. We were in Room 3 which being on a corner had double aspect windows with views over Pitlochry one way & the hills from the other. This was a lovely room to be spending a few days in.
The bed was huge with a fab big headboard, bedding was a good quality cotton with very comfy pillows & an extra blanket in the wardrobe. There was a kettle with cups/mugs and we were supplied with tea/green tea/fruit teas/coffee/decaff/hot choc & a couple of biscuits. What we also really liked were 2 small bottles of water, one still & one sparkling, a really nice touch.
As I have dietary requirements, due to surgery, I was shown the menu in advance in case the chef needed to change anything. As there was such a good choice I was able to choose my dinner with very few changes.

Our first night we decided to go straight into the dining room & were given a choice of tables. The atmosphere in the dining room was lovely and we would have felt comfortable even if there had been no other diners. Despite it's being a Sunday night near the end of Feb there were quite a few other residents.
The choice from the menu was impressive for a privately run 12 bedroom hotel, with about 3 choices for starters, 4 choices for the main course (meat/chicken, fish, game & vegetarian), then a choice of 3 desserts or a platter of cheese.
Pre-dinner canapés were absolutely yummy, especially the little hot haggis balls.
Once seated we were offered a choice of freshly baked rolls or bread & always given iced water.We appreciated the linen tablecloths and large linen napkins. Whilst the lights were dimmed, each table had plenty of light, making a pleasant dining experience. There was unobtrusive music being played at a low level and all in all it created a very comfortable atmosphere to sit quietly or chat. Most guests coming in to dine greeted other diners, again this was because the hotel created such a homely comfortable atmosphere.

The food was just wonderful and so beautifully presented, in fact we thought it among the best food we had ever eaten, beating good restaurants & cruise ships. Nothing was too much trouble for the chef or the staff. All in all we left the dining room extremely well satisfied and pleasantly full.
Various evenings I had duck, fantastic tender venison, pigeon, beef & pork. The menus were well thought out and they were generous portions without being too much.
Staff were unobtrusive but always there when needed and very efficient and friendly.

After dinner we retired to one of the big 2 lounges, each with a good choice of comfy chairs, leather chairs & sofas. Each lounge had a log fire which were lit either before dinner or early afternoon when we returned to the hotel. We were offered tea or coffee after dinner & all the guests chose to take this in one of the lounges as we could sit back and relax. We also got to enjoy the very yummy fudge although most evenings I had to leave it as I was full.

We slept really well although initially we were mildly concerned about outside lighting coming in through the curtains which didn't quite close at the sides or middle top. This turned out not to be an issue as the lights were switch off at some point.

Our room had a large bathroom with shiny shiny taps & showers. There was a shower over the bath, not a power shower & another hand held shower connected to the bath taps. The bath was a little short & not very deep but there was always a lot of lovely hot water. We were provided with lovely soap, bath+shower liquid, shampoo & body lotion. In addition to this there were cotton buds & cotton pads, a wee sewing kit, small shoe shine & of course a hairdryer. The white towels were generously sized and the bathroom was heated by a large upright radiator.
Compliments to whoever cleans the bathroom as it was always immaculate and all the chrome left really shiny. Our only niggle with the bathroom was the fan which did carry on for quite along time after using the bathroom but to be fait as there was no window this was the only means to demist etc. Again there always seems to be plenty hot water whenever we need it.
There was a wall mounted tv in our room but we never used it. We did take advantage of the x2 comfy armchairs in our bedroom & read a lot as I needed to rest most afternoons. The views were impressive even through the Scottish rain.

One afternoon we chose to have tea & scones in the lounge. As soon as we mentioned this, a member of staff lit one of the fires for us. The scones were freshly made & arrived warm with butter, jam & cream, they were lovely. It all felt as if we were special and being treated in a very individual way.
We met Liz, the owner, at breakfast, she was very cheery and we always saw her smiling. Guests could sit at any table, this was rather nice as it meant we could try out tables by the windows or not.
Hot tea was brought in lovely big white teapots, always with a jug of hot water. Initially we only got one slice of toast each and thought it a bit mean but we reckoned the idea was that we could then order more and eat it while it was hot.

Breakfast really did set us up for the day, the 3 days we had it we didn't need lunch; that might have been because the hotel were generous enough to serve breakfast from 08:00 - 10:00 which we thought was extremely accommodating for guests in a small hotel. The late finish meant we could have a lie-in and not rush down for breakfast.
I love poached eggs and it is quite a skill to cook one properly, the chef in the kitchen presented a wonderful cooked breakfast, cooked to perfection. We felt that all food products had been sourced with much consideration as it was of such a high quality. The eggs had glorious golden yolks and were very tasty.
When we were staying there were 2 lots of guests who had their dogs with them although they were only allowed in the bedrooms and not in the public rooms, you would hardly have known they were there at all.
There is free wifi which works very well downstairs but is slower & more patchy in the rooms, only to be expected in a house this large but we managed to get emails & even download a tv prog.

All in all we felt we were incredibly lucky to have found this small hotel. They have managed to pull together all the best bits of what one would want when staying in a hotel away from home. I did choose the Knockendarroch as a result of reading reviews on Tripadvisor and am so pleased we booked a stay here. We were treated us in such a welcoming manner it was as if we were returning guests and not first timers.
We would love to return to this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it to family & friends. With any luck we can block book it in a few years for my 60th & invite friends & family to join us - it would be like home from home but way better & with good food.

Room Tip: We had Room 3, above on of the lounges and being on a corner it had 2 large windows. The room was bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Signing-Annie, Thank you for your very kind review, which is officially the longest we have ever had! We are absolutely delighted that the Knockendarroch was just what you were looking for, in all aspects, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back!
Best wishes from all of us
Liz and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

A warm welcome was received here and the pleasant demeanour of staff was evident throughout our stay. They have some real gems here.

I should point out, perhaps, that this style of hotel might not suit everyone as it is very quiet and rather formal. We're ok with it but noted 2 youngish couples who looked like they were feeling a bit out of their depth in this rather reserved environment.

Food was good with a nice menu but, oddly, I was not served or offered any bread or roll with my soup starter. We'd been given a tiny piece each to start with, when we were taken to our table ( which had been eaten long before the soup arrived). Yes, I guess we could have asked for more but should guests really have to feel like "Oliver" and especially when we'd ordered soup?

Our room was very disappointing - small and lack lustre ( all beiges with a rather depressing picture on the wall) . Absolutely no nice little touches of colour and absolutely no pretty little feminine touches. Very plain and functional with a distinct lack of space. It was clean enough but just not what we were expecting at all. Seems we got one of their most basic rooms though we did catch a glimpse into one or two others during cleaning and they looked a whole lot nicer. The room was definitely not up to scratch for the amount pad.

It's really the staff and the nice public areas that have earned it 4/5 from us - Sadly, our accommodation on its own would onlynhave scraped a 3/5. Try it yourself and see what you think.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear anne8527, Thank you for your review and your kind words about the team at the Knockendarroch. The colour scheme of your room is the most requested, so I am sorry this wasn't to your personal taste. All our rooms are different, so please come back to see us again!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed for one night (dinner, bed & breakfast) with my partner as a birthday treat for him. We had the most wonderful time. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the staff in the restaurant & lounge in the evening were so nice and made you feel very relaxed. The hotel is beautiful, with a lovely lounge to relax in before dinner or even during the day. The room was a balcony room with lovely views and it was clean, warm and comfortable. The hotel is ideally suited to take a walk into Pitlochry, which is what we did to make the most of the good weather.

Dinner began with canapes and drinks in the lounge, before being taken through to the dining room. We had a table tucked away in the bay window, beautifully set. The food was just delicious, and full compliments to the chef. They had even written Happy Birthday on my partner's desert plate, which was a lovely touch. It was then back to the lounge for tea & coffee as well a few more glasses of wine. Breakfast was very tasty, not at all greasy, and set us up for the day.

Next time we'll make the most of a weekend and stay for longer rather than just one night. Thank you Knockendarroch for such a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The Balcony room is beautiful for a special treat - however I have no doubt any of the room will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Jenni B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and delighted that you will return for longer next time!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Excellent food both at breakfast and dinner. The decor is both contemporary and in keeping with the age of the hotel. The level of cleanliness and the attention of the staff were far beyond the tariffs that they charge for the rooms and facilities.
This is a real find and exceptionally well managed hotel. Service is discrete but personable and not overbearing. Liz keeps a watchful eye over the guests and she is a master of her craft in keeping standards in this small but well located hotel.
I will definitely returning soon.

Room Tip: There is only one bedroom on the ground floor (good if you are stair impaired). Bedroom 2 was deligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch House Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear andrew m, We do certainly aim to keep our standards as high as possible and it is rewarding when this is recognised by our guests, so thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrose, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here for a two night February break, on the recommendation of friends, and found the Knockendarroch "perfect" in every way. From the inviting lounges with open fires, to the spacious bedroom and bathroom with quality furnishings,to the restaurant with superb and well presented food, including Highland produce,to the attentiveness of staff ,the Knockendarroch House Hotel offers delightful and perfect accommodation in a stunning part of Scotland.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch House Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear margaret b, Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and very grateful to your friends for recommending us! We would love to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The warmest of welcomes, well-appointed rooms and the most relaxing lounges with log fires. A quiet and comfortable environment that all of our party appreciated and enjoyed. Topped off by genuinely delicious dinners and breakfasts - we will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch House Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear TGI14, Thank you for choosing the Knockendarroch as a meeting point for your party, and thank you for your kind review. Please come and see us again!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knockendarroch House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch House Hotel

Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 12 bedroom 4 star hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. All rooms are individually styled, with an option to choose from larger premier rooms or rooms with private balcony. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Knockendarroch House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch House Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knockendarroch House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.