We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so much!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blair Athol Distillery

Blair Athol Distillery
Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
+44 1796 482003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 14 Activities in Pitlochry
Type: Distilleries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blair Athol Distillery is one of the oldest working Distilleries in Scotland established in 1798. We are open to the public 348 days a year and are the spiritual home of Bell's.
Weybridge
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not so much!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It could be that the tour of the distillery is good, but we had seen some of these already, so I cannot comment on their tour.
The shop options are relatively poor for Blair's own product. We have been to distilleries where the shop is the showcase for all their brands and expressions. Not so here. Very poor compared to their competitors. The feel here is corporate and set-up for coach parties who like blends. If you like a good blend, you are going to be okay.
I should say that the guy running the shop was very good with us and provided lots of information.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    33
    14
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Odd atmosphere, but interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Found all the information interesting, but something just felt off. I think our guide cracked a few jokes that weren't very well received, and it soured things. My partner was carrying an Edradour bag having been there earlier, and the guide didn't let it go unoticed.
Got the feeling being owned by Diageo takes away from the place somewhat.
Try the Edradour tour up the hill for a totally different experience!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Okay, but just.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The guide ( an older crotchety gentleman, with thick accent) explained the making of whisky with passion and told it in a captivating way. We were the only two Americans in our group and for some reason, after countless derogatory comments from the guide, it became vey apparent that he dislikes Americans. I think it was clear to others as well and I found it interesting that not one single person made a purchase at the end of this tour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A taste of Blair Atholl and "water of life"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A very useful tour to understand whisky production. Our guide was very good and made the tour interesting. A taste of "Blair Atholl" whisky was included as part of the tour. Further up the A9 is the Dalwhinnie distillery and is probably a better place to visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Blair Athol Scotch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We managed to make it to Blair Athol Distillary too late for a tour, but we did have time to sample some very good scotch and even bought a bottle to bring home to the U.S.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blair Athol Distillery also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Blair Athol Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blair Athol Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.