We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The first and best foodplace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pasha

Pasha
101 Atholl Road, Pitlochry, Scotland
01796473366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 47 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Price range: $20 - $41
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Authentic mediterranean food with a very wide choice of mezes, casseroles, grilled meats and vegetarian options. I found the portions were very generous and the prices compare to the average in Pitlochry. I believe this is a new restaurant and can thoroughly recommend it with it's central location, large premises, elegant decor and friendly staff. I'm sure the rest of the food would match up to the lamb shank, which was beautifully cooked.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“The first and best foodplace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived from EdinBurgh to an appointed visit at Blair Athol destillery. After an interesting tour and tasting we wanted som food. The staff att the visitors center had some good suggestions. The car still at Blair Athol we walked towards the town city. The were no possibilities for seating for a couple of hours at the first place.We continued the walking. Then we looked at the menu Pasha on the opposite side of the road. They had a plenty of dishes from different kinds of kitchens. I had Lamb brochettes, because this was going to be my first dinner in Scotland. . We ordered different kind of food all us. The pizza had the longest time, but when we got the food all of it were ready at the same time. The restaurant looked more as a fast food place from outside, but the menyu was interesting and a very nice interior. A lot of different beers and wines (even single glasses of wine) to choice between.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    56
    23
    23
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Order Turkish food - fantastic lamb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I think this restaurant has an identity problem. We nearly missed it totally as the neon signs and slightly odd decor made it look a bit like an unexciting cafe from outside. However inside it was comfortable. The service was friendly and excellent. We ordered Turkish dishes and got a really fantastic meal, with the most delicious tender, top quality lamb. But the menu was far too big, and frankly 'all over the place'- trying to please 'everybody' perhaps - understandable but not easy in a place like Pitlochry - so it was easy to see why some people might inevitably be disappointed. I'd say, definitely give this place a go for mediterranean style dishes, but go elsewhere if you want traditional cafe staples like steak pie or fish and chips.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Started badly and got worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We called here on the strength of the reviews and had a midweek meal.
Premises:
Looks great from the outside with new seating but if you go further in it looks like a 1960s cafe that has not been refurbished.
Food:
We had a cold and a hot mezze for starters, but this is not Turkish by any stretch of the imagination. The cold mezze had all the variants on the same plate and in contact with each other. It was also covered in oil.
The hot mezze looked like a randon assortment of ingredients. The calamari was incredibly small but hot and tasty which was not reflected when one of us chose it as the main course. In fact the calamari served as a main course was the worst I have ever seen it must have been frozen because all the pieces were exactly the same size and resembled cardboard on the outside and rubber bands on the inside.Inedible.
The mixed grill had a small lamb chop that was 80% bone, a kebab that was gey and cold and tiny chicken pieces that were dangerously under cooked ( raw) in the middle.
We left more than we ate of the main courses.
Total cost including one bottle of house wine £60.
Possibly the worst meal we have had for quite some time.
If the local chippy had been open we would have called in!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Food very mediocre--omelette you could sole shoes with, gammon steak charred, ale+steak pie which had more pie than steak, rubbery calamari, soup comes after the main courses!
Service slow--but pleasant.
Won't be back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Welcoming and friendly staff, good choice of food and great with children. Food was very tasty, although alittle pricey.
Will definately return again the next time I'm in Pitlochry.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasha also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Pasha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.