We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A REAL Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Green Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clunie Bridge Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Compilmentary tickets
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Pitlochry
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A REAL Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Despite living in Perthshire we wished to visit the Pitlochry Festival Theatre and did not welcome the drive home each night. After some investigation we decided to stay at the Green Park.

The location is beautiful, as is the hotel and its grounds. The lounges, dining rooms and the bar are all comfortable and welcoming. The rooms are just what we have come to expect and the whole place is a peaceful rest from the usual traumas of present day life.

The staff are all very pleasant, caring and very efficient. Alistair, the Manager, is a real character who is ideally suited to running a hotel of this type.

Our evening visits to the Theatre were made so much more pleasant as a mini-bus is laid on to collect guests and to return them to the hotel after the shows.

We certainly made the correct decision.

Room Tip: Book in good time as the hotel is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Graham P,

It's not often we get three reviews in a short period of time, so thank you very much for taking the time and effort to help our cause!

In that you were also kind enough to mention me by name, the two of you are clearly guest of great distinction and perception. My children ( and wife Diane ) are not always as fast at appreciating my finer points - or any of my points for that matter.

We hope to welcome the two of you to the Green Park in the future, and thank you again for the revue.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
159
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Insch
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

After a much awaited visit to the Green Park Hotel, we were delighted with all aspects but especially our large room with panoramic views of the garden, mountains and Loch, it made us feel like royalty, Victoria & Albert perusing their estate.
Thankfully our fellow guests were age advantaged and a wealth of lively conversation!
The housekeeping was immaculate and the food 5*, as was all the staff we met.
On behalf of ourselves and the the 2 dachshunds we thank you for a most comfortable stay and hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sasdax,

A thank you from us all for your charming review, and for choosing to join us at Pitlochry and the Green Park. We very much appreciate you going to the time and trouble.

Tonight marks the start of "The Enchanted Forest", which continues to go from strength to strength. It's back at its original venue of Loch Dunmore on the western edge of town, and by all accounts ticket sales are stronger than ever. Past guests who have viewed the Enchanted Forest, have commented on the positive effects of a pre-dinner sherry or two.

Thanks once again for your very kind review, and we hope to welcome the two of you again for many a show in the future.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived as 'refugees' from another Pitlochry hotel, having had a most disagreeable stay there the previous night. The contrast was immediate and marked. On arrival, our baggage was whisked up to our room, We were made most warmly welcome and invited to have afternoon tea, biscuits and cakes in the main lounge. The bedroom was beautifully appointed with stunning views across Loch Faskally. Two copious armchairs were strategically placed in the bay window area with binoculars provided for a close up view of the abundant wildlife. The room breathed comfort, good taste and welcome. Afternoon tea was succeeded by complimentary sherry at 5.00 pm, a most civilised touch, followed by early dinner for theatre goers at 5.45 pm. This was in the very smart conservatory/dining room and was a delight - a good choice of original dishes served on immaculately set tables. The staff were attentive in the most pleasant fashion. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We had more than adequate time to enjoy our meal before taking the minibus to the theatre (well worth a visit, by the way). On our return, we enjoyed a nightcap in the snug bar, looked after by a solicitous staff member. Breakfast next morning began with one of the best buffets I have experienced followed by your choice of breakfast favourites from an extensive range.
The Green Park knows how to look after its clientele. After our dire experience elsewhere the night before, it came as a green oasis of comfort, pleasure and complete satisfaction. Thank you Green Park for restoring our faith in hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor have stunning loch views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear RMSalba,

Many thanks for not giving up on the area, and for taking a chance on a stay at the Green Park. We were delighted to read that your spur of the moment stay was a success.

The theatre season this year has been particularly strong, and "The Steamie" and "It's a Wonderful Life" are coming on stream very soon which should keep the cast very busy up until Christmas. Your'e right about the popularity of the theatre bus which more and more guests are using, as it makes the evening's entertainment go that bit more smoothly.

Thanks once again for taking the time and trouble to post such a generous review, and we look forward to welcoming the two of you again in the future.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family ).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a modern version of a fine old tradition!! Gracious upscale on the edge of the Highlands, the Green Park deserves every possible accolade. We also found by chance having grown tired of too many days of driving ....and what a serindipitous chance that was. The warmth of welcome from owners down thru staff is genuine and adds to the luxury of the rooms, the splendid loch-side setting and a marvellous menu. This part of Perthshire has a long tradition of catering for people seeking a peaceful and comfortable retreat. The guests all appear to be repeat visitors, and no wonder. This would be a frequent stop on my journeys if it was closer to America!! No rigid dress code but the older guests DID favor ties and jackets for dinner!! Top end of the travel budget and worth every penny!!! You really DO get what you pay for at the Green Park. Sad to leave the perfect ending to a Highland sojourn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear larach,

Many thanks for taking a chance on the Green Park, and for going to the trouble of posting a review. We were delighted that your luggage finally caught up with the two of you.

It is a shame that the U.S. government didn't close down until you got back to Atlanta, otherwise you could have continued your Scottish sojourn until the Democrats and Republicans agree to disagree. At the rate they are going, you could have voted in next years referendum.

Thanks again for the lovely review - and we hope that your cold has cleared up completely by now.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We came upon the Green Park quite by accident - at the end of a long walk, we returned to Pitlochry and went into the hotel to investigate the possibility of coffee. We were greeted warmly, given coffee and biscuits at no expense ("Don't be silly about payment, our guests just help themselves during the day") and we loved the decor and views of Loch Faskally. We decided to take Mum to this hotel for her birthday treat and the trip was a splendid success. Super food (sherry before Dinner was much appreciated), lovely rooms and a delightful atmosphere. Yes, many of the clientele were elderly but I thought it excellent that they had found an enjoyable niche and many of the rooms had flat, easy access. Try to request a room facing the loch.
Guests who stay for 4 nights in high season are given a complimentary theatre ticket.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear AnonCountyDurham,

Many thanks for the super review, and delighted to read that stop for coffee turned into a birthday stay for the two of you and your Mum.

Your walking bug is shared by a band of our staff led by our head chef Chris. Not wanting to go through his mid-life crisis on his own, he has roped together a half-dozen of the staff who have become confirmed "Munro Baggers". Most of them are already over the hundred mark, and they are having to travel further afield to bag another 3,000 ft hill. Please rest assured that my mid-life crisis will just be along the lines of a normal boring breakdown - probably in the dining room.

Keep up the walking - and thank you again for the review.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A real oasis of luxury amid an area of fantastic scenery. The staff, which I think are the real heartbeat of any customer centred organisation, are so friendly and courteous nothing is too much.

The hotel has a family run feeling, which adds to although a more informal atmosphere, it detracts in no way on the professionalism of the staff. It is kept spotless, which again reflects the staff as well as ownership.

And the food - where do you start - we stayed for dinner bed and breakfast. The 4 course dinner can only be described as fantastic, a dinner that would complement any 5 or 6 star hotel anywhere. Breakfast too, such a huge choice is available from healthy to full a Scottish breakfast.

But there are countless small touches too that are forgotten by the big hotel chains, such as free wi-fi, complimentary tea, coffee and light refreshments available all afternoon, or a complimentary sherry before dinner and tea or coffee after dinner in the conservatory.

An ideal oasis of luxury from which to explore this beautiful corner of Scotland.

Room Tip: Can't fault any room, ours overlooked Loch Faskally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear JohnP55,

Thank you for such a generous review, and we hope that the rest of your Scottish holiday was a success. You are absolutely right about the staff being the heartbeat of any hotel, and we consider ourselves very fortunate to have the staff that we do.

The summer weather continues to be fine, which should help all of the runners in today's Pitlochry 10 km. Four of us from the hotel will be taking part, though I see my role as more of a walker than as a runner. I believe that there is a van which sweeps up those who fall by the wayside, and being the well prepared manager that I am, I have already reserved a seat.

Thank you once again for choosing to join us at the Green Park, and for the lovely review.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Norfolk
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Overtones of grandeur and more relaxed times. A beautifully managed hotel, kept in excellent condition with superb service throughout. Excellent food and service in the restaurant. Plenty of staff and not overly formal. One really can't fault any department in this classic stylish hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Fotofinder,

Delighted to read that your stay with us was a pleasant enjoyable one, and thank you for your kind revue.

Here at the hotel the sun continues to shine, Diane and the kids are still putting up with me, and a steady course is being sailed by the staff. What could be better.

We hope that the return journey to Holt and the deep south was a safe one, and we look forward to welcoming you both again in the future.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Address: Clunie Bridge Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Park hotel is to be found on the western outskirts of Pitlochry, enjoying unrivaled views over Loch Faskally from its lochside position. Set in three acres, the Green Park is within strolling distance of the shops and a pleasant walk from the Pitlochry Festival Theater. The Green Park hotel is run by two generations of the McMenemie family, in a manner suitable to the character of the house and its setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Green Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Pitlochry
The Green Park Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.