We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poplars Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poplars Guest House
Save
You added Poplars Guest House to your Saves list
27 Lower Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5DS, Scotland (Formerly Poplars of Pitlochry)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Cardiff
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Me and my partner recently stayed here for 2 nights as we attended the Glenfiddich Piping at Blair Castle. We absolutely loved everything about our stay, the welcome on arrival, the service, the room, the breakfast, the entire house is really stunning, I would find it hard using it as a B&B, would want it all to myself! Will most definitely book here next time we are in the area which will hopefully be Oct 2015 for the next Glenfiddich event. Thanks! :)

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights with my family. Great location only 5 minute walk into centre. Kids loved the freshly prepared cooked breakfasts. Natalie and Jason great hosts. Made us feel really welcome. Will definately go back.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We stayed the The Poplars for two nights while in Scotland for the Ryder Cup. Nathalie and Jason could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. The room was spotless and comfortable and the breakfast was delightful. The first morning we had to leave very early for the golf and a lovely "bag' breakfast was waiting in the foyer for us as we left. If ever in Scotland again (we hope!!) and if ever in Pitlochry again (we very much hope!!) we would love to stay at The Poplars again. We loved it.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 2 nights in Room no.1 (apparently the largest available). We'd done no research on the area, but we didn't need to worry as Nathalie was on hand to offer suggestions to keep us occupied during the day, and places to eat at night.

Our bedroom was a great size and very well laid out with a seating area in the bay window area offering brilliant morning views.

Bathroom was equally as impressive in size and standard.

Breakfast was spot on, with a good variety for both vegetarians and meat eaters. The good quality of the sausage and black pudding didn't go un-noticed.

Overall - I can't recommend Poplars enough, and we'll definitely be staying again if we are in the area again.

Great location (just one street back from high street)
Superb hosts
Top breakfast
Lovely rooms

What more do you need!?
Thanks for our stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We stayed for two nights was greeted by the lovely nathalie who showed us to our room. We stayed in room 2 it had fantastic views it and was very clean with modern furnishings. Breakfast was amazing the porridge with whisky is a must have. We can't wait to go back loved it that much I didn't want to leave

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We have stayed in Pitlochry before, this was by far the best Guest House we have tried. It was all just so very good and we couldn't fault it. There was a problem with our duvet being too warm, I mentioned it and it was changed without any fuss or bother. Hopefully we shall return back to this little gem of a place. I must also mention that I now enjoy my porridge with a small drop of whisky on it. A good wee habit I picked up there.

Room Tip: We stayed in room Number 1 which had beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Stayed four nights at this beautiful guest house. Pitlochry is a bit touristy with a B&B, guest house or hotel every few feet on the main drag - Atholl Road. The Poplars is up off that road and thus, is quiet and not bothered by traffic noise., but just an easy, short walk to the town centre. It is a stately and elegant, but welcoming and warm, sanctuary run by a charming young couple, Natalie and Jason. We stayed in a twin room which was small, but nicely appointed with an en suite bathroom. The room has all the amenities with comfortable beds. The only suggestion I have is that it would be convenient if they would add a hook in the bathroom and a tray for shampoo, etc., in the shower. The breakfast is delicious. One can have as much or as little as one desires. Natalie has very astute suggestions for dining. She never steered us wrong. Thank you , Natalie and Jason, for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poplars Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplars Guest House

Address: 27 Lower Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5DS, Scotland (Formerly Poplars of Pitlochry)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poplars Guest House, our elegant Victorian bed and breakfast. Located within stunning Highland Perthshire in the charming town of Pitlochry.Perfectly located to explore all of Scotland. Wander through breath taking scenery, go white water rafting, be enchanted by the castles or just relax and unwind. Everything is on our doorstep.Being comfortable and relaxed in our guest house is important so browse through our lovely rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poplars Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poplars Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.