We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Admirable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pitlochry Festival Theatre

Pitlochry Festival Theatre
Port-Na-Craig, Pitlochry PH16 5DR, Scotland
01796 484 600
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Pitlochry
Attraction details
Eye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
112 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Admirable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Having loved the film, I wondered how this desert island story would be handled on stage. The answer was, with great imagination. We had a substitute actress due to illness who didn't know the part, so had to read from a script. This was neatly handled by both of the spoilt girls spending their time with a head in a book. The relationship between Crichton/Gov and His Lordship/Daddy was perfectly played and the timing of the possible discovery of the truth of the island brilliant.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giles c, Public Relations Manager at Pitlochry Festival Theatre, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed the performance of The Admirable Crichton (despite the unfortunate but rare hiccup!) and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    150
    23
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Whisky Kisses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great show, original music and a funny storyline. Went with my husband and two children aged 10 and 8. We were most probably the youngest people in the theatre as there seemed to be a lot of bus tours with senior citizens, however we enjoyed the show and would consider visiting again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giles c, Public Relations Manager at Pitlochry Festival Theatre, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your visit to see Whisky Kisses!

We do tend to have a lot of groups thanks to our generous group discounts! ;-)

I hope to welcome you back to Pitlochry Festival Theatre soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yellow on the Broom.pitlochry theatre..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Wonderfull voices and acting had read the book prior.The. story was well told and re. enacted tears at the end with rendition of Yellow on the Broom.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giles c, Public Relations Manager at Pitlochry Festival Theatre, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to see The Yellow On The Broom and hope to welcome you back soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful theatre in Perthshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

A very high quality theatre set by a river. It puts on plays of all types with a very high standard of production (nearly West End!!)
We come every year to see at least two plays.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giles c, Public Relations Manager at Pitlochry Festival Theatre, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this glowing review!

We very much value our regular customers, and I'm glad you enjoy your time here at PFT.
We look forward to welcoming you back :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A great place to see a great cast and a fun play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We happened to stay in a hotel right next to the Theatre, and so we stopped in to see what was playing. The play was "The Admirable Crichton" by J.M. Barrie, who wrote Peter Pan. We were not familiar with the play, but decided, based on the playwright, to see it in all events. We loved the play and the cast. We talked to the people sitting next to us,who said that they were from Edinburgh, but came to Pitlochry every summer to see two or three plays.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giles c, Public Relations Manager at Pitlochry Festival Theatre, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review - I'm glad you stopped by and enjoyed The Admirable Crichton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitlochry Festival Theatre also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Pitlochry Festival Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitlochry Festival Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.