We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got more than i bargained for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McKays Bar & Restaurant

McKays Bar & Restaurant
138 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AG , Scotland
+44 1796 473888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 43 restaurants in Pitlochry
Price range: $9 - $51
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: McKays Pitlochry is a traditional Scottish pub and live entertainment venue serving the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits as well as showcasing the best local, national and International acts. It is open from noon each day till late every night and is a true alternative destination in the Scottish social scene.For more information on the full music and entertainment programme click herePitlochry's great value pub entertainment and food venue at McKays bar and restaurant we are becoming well known for our steaks and pub classics like fish and chips and steak and ale pie. We serve a variety of dishes to cater for every ones tastes. Each day we have a special promotion. Food is served from early to late.McKays Bar and Restaurant are delighted to announce that there is WiFi on the premises for all customers' use.While in the pub you can watch sports, listen to live musicians or join in our themed nights, which we run through out the year. We also hold a late license that allows you to party on into the early hours to live music, and the sounds played by our resident D.J Hen parties, sports tours and clubs are all welcome.About McKays Scottish Bar and RestaurantMcKays has been providing hospitality for over a hundred years, we pride ourselves on our service and quality. In recent times we have refurbished our bar and restaurant area, making it an ideal place to relax, eat and be entertained for young and old, whilst enjoying true Scottish hospitality.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Got more than i bargained for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A rather cosy pub in the centre of Pitlochry, a varied menu, had a pint, soup and Steak and ale pie for £19.15 rather enjoyed it. Then I was asked if I would like to take part in a whiskey tasting event.
The first lot were nearly finished, only three of us meant Ian the man conducting the event could give us bigger measures, no complaints there. The first one was Blair of Atholl distilled at the Bells distillery this was rather pleasant especially when rolling it around the tongue, he then demonstrated how a drop of water killed the taste. Followed by Singleton then Talisker. He informed us of how the peat taste was from the smoking of the hops. Topped off a very good night

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKays m, Public Relations Manager at McKays Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Gypsy60_11

Thanks for letting us know you enjoyed out complimentary whisky tasting evening after a delicious dinner! We start the whisky tasting again in April so we hope you will come back and enjoy them again.

Many thanks

Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    107
    129
    49
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Made our Lunch a wonderful Birthday experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a pre-booked lunch group at the restaurant, and I brought some candles with me to the restaurant hoping we could do just a little birthday moment for one of the students in my travel group of 45 high school students. The entire staff proceeded to bring out each slice of cake with a lit candle in it for our entire group, singing all the while. We had a surprise vegetarian order which they also accommodated with ease, despite no advance notice. Everyone was very friendly and incredibly helpful. Thanks again to Peter, Jackie, David, and the woman behind the bar whose name I didn't catch! You're all lovely. Good food, great service! We'll definitely be coming back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKays m, Public Relations Manager at McKays Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Bigschoolgroup

Many thanks for letting us know you and your group had such a great time while here at McKays. We hope you will return again next year.

many thanks

Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Average pub grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I went in for a drink around noon and were pleasantly surprised at the inside, as exterior a bit jaded.
We had a couple of drinks and decided to come back later for dinner.
We both had fish and chips, a bit overpriced at £11.00 but probably average for the tourist trade.
Service was good we were served by very pleasant staff.
Would return for drinks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKays m, Public Relations Manager at McKays Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Hmbpaisley

Many thanks for telling us about your experience when coming to McKays. The building is of some age but we have done quite a lot of refurbishing over the past few months to modernise the interior of the bar, we hope you have some time to pop by soon to see the changes. In the winter months we have lovely roaring fires on, along with live music and complimentary whisky tastings as well.

I hope to see you again soon

Many thanks

Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Give this place a miss!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Went here while on a trip to Pitlochry as saw some pretty good reviews. Was disappointed however and after reading the last review I can see we were not the only ones to have out drinks served in dirty glasses ( mine still had lipstick from a previous customer on it ) overpriced and unwelcoming atmosphere. Plenty other nice wee places to try in pitlochry

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKays m, Public Relations Manager at McKays Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Missjaxxx

Thank you for letting us know that you did not enjoy your experience here at McKays. We of course try at all times to give a high standard of service and can only appologise if you did not get this while you were here. We do hold weekly staff training meeting and I can only presume that we had a bad egg on board at this time. Again i'm very sorry if you were not looked after and do really hope you will come back in again some time soon

Many thanks

Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We eat here and then had drinks here at night.
Definitely a Bar and not a Restaurant serving very average food. we both had burgers which were poor and quite over priced. service was from very grumpy staff who were more interesting in talking to the other bar staff than the customers. seats were uncomfortable, very strange interior.

Having drinks here didn't fare any better, ordered two drinks. Pint of lager very expensive. Girlfriend ordered a vodka and cranberry, it smelt very strange, like sour milk had been in the glass prior, thinking possibly the glass had not been washed properly i asked at the bar for another drink instead, Instead of a new drink i was told by a very rude gentleman that he wasn't falling for this one!, not quite sure what he meant, so explained again and he said nah doesn't work like that and then walked away to another customer. asking a different staff member now if i could simply have a new glass. no this was too much as well, the other man comes back over shouting at us again, so walked out.

Cannot believe i had to withstand such rude behaviour from a member of staff, whatever happened to "The customer is always right" or even "Treat your customer kindly"

Won't be returning thats for sure

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKays m, Public Relations Manager at McKays Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Duntraveler93

Thank you very much for notifying us about your experience when in McKays, If possible can you please email me on info@mckayshotel.co.uk and just explain exactly what happened while you were here. We do not condone any one being rude to customers and I would like to make sure this will never happen again. I'm truly sorry about this.

Many thanks

Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McKays Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to McKays Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKays Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.