We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buttonboss Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Buttonboss Lodge to your Saves list
Buttonboss Lodge
25 Atholl Rd, Pitlochry PH16 5BX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stirling, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed 1 night at Bottonboss and we had a very comfortable and very clean accomodations. The gardens are beautiful and the location is right on the main street within a short walking distance of the centre of town. Lots of room for parking. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful.

Room Tip: Great location and lovely rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian L, Manager at Buttonboss Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let me know you enjoyed your stay at Buttonboss Lodge and that everything was good for you.
It's lovely to be appreciated and even better to know you had such a great visit.
I hope we will welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

B&B is perfecy situated in lovely village Pitlochry. The room is very nice, large and clean. The welcome is friendly with cup of tea. Breakfast is tasteful and there is enough choice. In surroundings there are enough visits to make: walks, shopping, visit whisky distillery, queens view, blair castle etc. Would definitely recommend this b&b.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here over the weekend Friday to Monday and would highly recommend this place. Myself, my partner (who's 40th birthday present this was) and another couple stayed in the cottage attached to the hotel for the 3 nights. On arrival Christian greeted us and offered us tea and coffee but we declined because we had brought some wine but we watched as other guests arrived and they were all offered the same and got trays of refreshments and what looked like lovely homemade biscuits. we sat in the garden on arrival as the weather was lovely and they gardens are beautiful so well maintained and pretty, there are 3 large picnic benches for guests to use. Christian came out to chat with us and to check we were ok and he was really helpful giving us plentiful information about the village and where was good for food and drinks, shops to go to etc.
The hotel is beautiful as is the cottage, really nicely decorated and homely with plenty of supplies such as tea, coffee, biscuits and toiletries. the cottage has 2 large bedrooms with a double and single bed in each room and then downstairs a lounge are with sofa, chair and tv and the bathroom is also downstairs and has a bath and shower. the cottage has its own entrance around the back of the hotel and you can also access it through an adjoining door in the hotel. breakfast was included in the cottage also and we just had to walk through the adjoining door to the dining room. breakfast was AMAZING! you could help yourself to cereals, fruit, toast and jams etc then you could have a cooked breakfast and request almost anything, the full Scottish breakfast was amazing the best I have ever had - bacon, sausage, potato scone, mushrooms, tomato, black pudding, haggis & eggs. The cottage was ideal for our party as it allowed us to have the lounge area for gathering for drinks before we headed out in an evening and also allowed us somewhere to relax other than our hotel rooms - basically the luxury of staying in a hotel with the added comfort of self catering - best of both worlds! there is also a lounge are within the hotel for guests to use.
Christian was very kind and allowed is to put some wine in his fridge and ice packs in the freezer, this was really lovely and all the other people who worked in the hotel were also kind and friendly always asking if they could do anything, if we needed anything and if we were ok.

The hotel is literally a 3 minute walk to the nearest bar/ restaurant and all the other places to eat/ drink in the village are within a 10 minute walk as are all the shops. It is directly opposite the tourist information. We walked to Edradour Distillery and this took about 40 minutes through Black Spout woods where we also saw the beautiful waterfall, we then spent the afternoon at the distillery and walked onto Moulin another tiny village where we had food and drinks and then walked back into Pitlochry, again this taking about 40 minutes. We also walked to the Dam and Fish Ladder from the hotel and this was about 15 minutes away. We walked as well to Blair Athol distillery which is 10 minutes from the hotel. We drove to Queens view which was about 20 minutes.
The whole weekend was amazing from start to finish and we couldn't have asked for a nicer and more pleasant place to stay.
Thank you very much Buttonboss Lodge - hopefully we will be lucky enough to return some day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian L, Manager at Buttonboss Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback about the way you were looked after while at Buttonboss Lodge. We do our best to ensure our guests feel at home and are able to make the most of their time in our wonderful town. I'm happy that we met your expectations and provided good value for you.
I hope that your trip overall has been a memorable one and that you'll drop in to see us next time you're in Pitlochry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here for one night whilst touring. We were warmly welcomed by Christian who made us tea and coffee before telling us about some places to see in Pitlochry. Our room was small but very clean, well furnished and comfortable. The en suite also very clean and well stocked. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked with a large selection. Christian again was on hand to see that we were well fed.
The Buttonboss is in a great location, within easy walking distance of everything. It was exceptionally good weather when we stayed and we enjoyed walking along the river and through the town. There are plenty of places to stop off for refreshments on hot days! The scenery is glorious around there, Scotland at its best.
I would definately recommend the Buttonboss.and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

When we arrived we got a very warm welcome from the staff, excellent food, very clean and would highly recommend this well presented guest house, well located with easy access to town centre, we would definitely not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C., Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at this B& B in Pitlochry. Everything about this place is great. We were greeted warmly by Cristian and his partner Barbara. Once shown to our room we were offered tea or coffee and cookies. We accepted this offer and had them at a table outside in the beautiful garden maintained by Cristian & Barbara. Our room was compact, but very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were wonderful each morning. The wifi connection worked great. This B & B is centrally located in Pitlochry within easy walking distance of everything. It is about a 5 minute walk to the train station. We will stay here again if we are back in Pitlochry.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at Buttonboss Lodge for one night at the mayday bank holiday.
For us as a family it was just perfect .
My sister, nephew and dog stayed in the apartment, while our parents stayed in the guesthouse.
Our accommodation was basically next door to each other which meant we could all enjoy tge comfort of the living room area if our apartment......and the kitchen where the fridge came in very handy for chilling our wine and keeping our snacks.
Plenty lovely eating places nearby for our evening meal, which as my dad struggles to walk to far was very convenient, as was there room being in ground floor.
Breakfast in the morning was cooked fresh to order and for big appetites like myself and 17 year old nephew this was perfect, while we waited toast, cereal, fruits and juices were also on offer.
Cristian was very pleasant and couldn't do enough for us, Infact I am all ready booked to return for 2 nights in June with my fiancé and of course our dog, who was made to feel very welcome too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buttonboss Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttonboss Lodge

Address: 25 Atholl Rd, Pitlochry PH16 5BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Buttonboss Lodge, a beautiful Victorian house located in the centre of Pitlochry. Only a few minutes from the shops yet set in its own peaceful, well-maintained gardens, where guests can sit out and enjoy wonderful views of the local mountain, Ben-y-Vrackie. We have ample private off road parking and a garage for motorcycle security, and free Wi-fi for the guests. Whether you enjoy theatre, fishing, walking, cycling, golfing or just relaxing Buttonboss is ideally situated to make the most of you holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buttonboss Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buttonboss Lodge Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buttonboss Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.