We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and location but no night service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Strathgarry Restaurant and Rooms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Strathgarry Restaurant and Rooms to your Saves list
Strathgarry Restaurant and Rooms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   113 Atholl Road, Pitlochry, Scotland (Formerly Strathgarry Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Pitlochry
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great rooms and location but no night service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have stayed here on three previous occasions but probably wont return due to the fact its a hit or miss whether your room is next to drunken singletons who come in at 2 in the morning and have a party. There is no reception, security or anything at night once the restaurant closes therfore leaving you in the hands of the gods. They should give you a number or something at least, we even heard of the police getting called because there is no way of getting a hold of management. Apart from that its a nice wee place and the breakfast is smashing.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the top next to the family room you might get a sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    85
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
39
112
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Had a lovely stay in the Strathgarry Hotel, I was staying in one of the superior rooms that was called Knockando, It was really nice with a big comfy Double bed, Was a great central location. I got the rooms on a Laterooms deal however if i had paid the full rate would mabye of been expecting a bit more, But overall, a really nice stay.

Room Tip: Not sure what the other rooms are like but Knockando was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This establishment although proclaiming to be a hotel is in fact a number of rooms above a restaurant. The room we had was a family room ( we have two girls) and we were really happy with it. The kids bunk beds had soft toys on them and they have obviously made an effort to make it welcoming. The woman who took the booking (please call back after 11:00) is not the owner and met us on arrival and showed us our room, all good so far. English is her second language, no issue there, except when you want local knowledge about Pitlochry and how to get to the Enchanted forest. After a few minutes I decided to use the internet as this lady had not been and was not sure where it was?! We had originally booked a table for dinner before going out but decided to eat when we got back as we were running out of time so I went down to the restaurant to cancel our 5:30 booking and tell them we would eat when we got back......Ok she says no problem........We got back at 8:00pm only to be told that the kitchen is closed!!! Wouldn't you mention that to your guests before they head out??? With two hungry kids........Great!!! I now have to go to the chinese takeaway and bring the food and plastic cutlery back to our room and eat on the floor. A Good nights sleep followed.....Then the following morning Breakfast doesn't begin until 09:00am. Our two kids are starving by 8:00am so I head out again to the local shops to buy cereal and milk for the kids. I meet another girl in the restaurant cleaning and ask if she can give me some milk as we have travel with weetabix and can give our youngest daughter something sooner. After searching around she comes back to explain in Eastern European, sorry we don't have! In a restaurant!!! C'mon!!
As this is not a hotel there is no reception and nowhere to go other than your room, fine if you are out all day but what about if it's raining and you decide to head back and relax. What a lot of scottish hoteliers don't realize is that part of the attraction in coming to Scotland is to meet scottish people. Not Eastern Europeans. No matter how hard they work!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Seven of us stayed in this hotel to attend this years enchanted forest

Four of us in the family room 'Dalwhinnie'
Two in a deluxe double room (eventually) 'Knockando'
and One in a single room 'Sheeps Dip'

upon checking in the member of staff who dealt with us seemed rather annoyed at having to check us in, the four of us were shown to the family room which was a good size and had a decent size bed, the bunk-bed room was well kitted out with lots of teddies and DVD's for the kids to watch, however, the bathroom is very small and due to the positioning of the towel rail it's almost inevitable that you will come against it which can give a bit of a jump if just out the shower.

My parents however were shown to a double room on the second floor which upon seeing was obviously not the deluxe room advertised on the website, I questioned the staff member about this and she all of a sudden lost the ability to speak English, however i managed to wrestle the booking confimation out of her hand and show her that it was supposed to be a deluxe room, upon which she went and got a different key to allow my parents into 'Knockando' which was a lovely room with a good size bed and good size shower room.

Sheeps Dip is a standard single room that yet again suffers from having a very small shower room, it's a good job it's a single room as it is very difficult to manoeuvre into the toilet and close the door.

Breakfast was very good if a little slow to be served, however we were never really in a rush.

there are only three parking spaces at the rear of the hotel and these are tight to manoeuvre in and out of.

We did not use the retaurant apart from at breakfast, but it was regularly busy.

We all enjoyed our time here but did not appreciate the dirty looks from the housekeeping staff on the morning we were checking out, the time to check out is 11am, however due to the amount of time breakfast took to arrive were did not leave until approimately 11:30 much to the obvious annoyance of the scowling maid.

Room Tip: Family room iss to the back of the hotel so quieter Knockando is a lovely double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I stayed here while attending this years Enchanted Forest and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. We booked one of the larger deluxe bedrooms which was a real treat and excellent value for money. Large LCD tv on wall and absolutely huge bed! The food in the restaurant is also excelent and with breakfast included in the rate you can't go wrong. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnybridge
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night as we were going to the enchanted forest. Staff very friendly and efficient, location fantastic in the centre of Pitlochry, however room was up 2 flights of stairs. Nicely decorated and spotless, comfy and clean bed but room was very small with a tiny window and slanty ceiling. Burn mark on carpet and T V did not work. However breakfast made up for this. I would stay here again but ask for another room.

Room Tip: If you want to eat in the Strathgarry book a table. We did not book and had to look for somewhere el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Comfortable & clean, great food, hearty well cooked breakfasts & delicious dinners, well done chef! Also pleasant welcoming staff! Most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathgarry Restaurant and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathgarry Restaurant and Rooms

Address: 113 Atholl Road, Pitlochry, Scotland (Formerly Strathgarry Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathgarry Restaurant and Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Strathgarry Restaurant and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathgarry Hotel Pitlochry
Strathgarry Restaurant And Rooms Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathgarry Restaurant and Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.