We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard to your Saves list
Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard
27 West Moulin Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EF, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Rooms B&B from £89
Ranked #2 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is our third time staying here and its just Magic ,Lovely rooms ,Great staff ,Great breakfast ,and the rooms are spotless ,loved the bath ,shower ,i pod dock for your music in the room and bathroom,love the wee fridge ,bubbly,+gin and t ,fit in just right ,and its a 5 minute walk to the main street ,McAys +The watermill recomended ,Jane &Calum and all your staff ,please take a bow yous are what its all about ,we will see yous later on in the year for another we stay.Highly Highly Recomend anyone who comes to Pitlochery to come here first ,a truley great place to stay .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigmhorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear MaurJam6,

Many thanks for your review - we were delighted to welcome you back for your third visit and look forward to seeing you again later in the year!

Your comments are very kind and Jane, Calum and the team are very pleased that you found Craigmhor Lodge a "truly great place to stay" both in terms of service and accommodation.

Until next time ...

With best wishes
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    54
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
93
737
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

First time in Pitlochry for quite a few years. I forgot what a lovely wee place it is!

I think you would struggle to find a better place to stay in Pitlochry than this. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms which was stunning. lovely decor, amazing bathroom with nice toiletries and spotlessly clean throughout.

The huge bed was very comfy. The traditional decor is coupled with smart technology with flatscreen tv, dvd player (you can borrow dvd's from reception), and they also have an iPod dock in the bedroom wall which has integrated speakers in both the bedroom and bathroom. It wouldn't work for me but that could've simply been my iPhone (and I wasn't fussed about using it).

The location is excellent. The lodge is surrounded by greenery and a little stream runs alongside it, yet it's only a few minutes walk from Pitlochry Main Street.

The breakfast was superb and as good as I've had in any top hotel, probably better.

We will be back, and hopefully we will be greeted by the owners friendly dug when checking in again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigmhorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear delmo73

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you found our rooms "stunning" and the breakfast "superb". As for Lola (the dug, she really is a terrible flirt!) I am sure she will welcome you again on your next visit!

We all very much look forward to seeing you again.

With best wishes
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed at. I took a short break with my partner to Pitlochry and chose to stay here for a night but we loved this place so much we stayed over for an extra night. We were in room 12 which is a deluxe room but well worth a few pounds more. Room was spotless and very well equipt, bed was massive and very comfy. Bathroom was huge with an excellent shower and bath but also the room has an ipod dock for your music which is controlled in the bedroom and the bathroom.
The best experience for me was the breakfast which is out of this world, great choice on offer from a light or full breakfast which is mostly locally produced , service throughout our stay was second to none and we will be definitely staying here again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigmhorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Terence G,

Many thanks indeed for your fabulous review - we are delighted you found our breakfast "out of this world", the service "second to none" and you loved the place so much you stayed an extra night! It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to the time when we can welcome you back once more.

Best wishes
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed early April on Tuesday and Wednesday nights.

Very warm, personal and genuine welcome from the owners
The two members of staff we met (Deborah and another lady) were incredibly friendly and helpful
Plenty of parking - spacious, well-defined parking spaces
Lovely views across the town and beyond, and views across the pond from the back
Huge beds
Big light and airy room with a seating area and table
Good TV and excellent DVD collection
Wireless works very well!
iPod dock in the room, connected to built-in speakers
Wee private balcony and seating area
Fancy wee coffee maker in the bedroom which made great coffee
Fridge in the room (but it's not noisy!)
Glasses/corkscrew etc
Bath robes supplied
Huge deep bath and separate huge powerful shower.
10am latest breakfast time!
Great options for breakfast and well cooked (and not stingy on the servings)
Short walk into town
Good recommendations for food (and they have a deal going with a local restaurant to get you a free glass of wine)

This was a fantastic find, and one which I reckon we will visit again. From walking in the door you were made to feel as if the sole purpose of the owners' existence was to allow you to relax and feel comfortable. And they do this without making you feel smothered or pandered to. And this attitude was visible with the other staff as well.

The accommodation is in a separate block from the main (original) building, with rooms arranged in a kind of motel-type arrangement, which gives a real air of privacy.

The iPod dock also powers a speaker in the bathroom which is a nice touch. Unfortunately, one of the other guests decided to crank this up as far as it would go on our first morning, and the sound just flooded into our room, but we couldn't be bother getting up to give them a knock... Lack of thought on the part of the guest as opposed to the establishment, though.

If you have a low-slung car watch the drive on the way up.

Fantastic couple of days - worth every penny - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Room eleven was just grand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigmhorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Dougie B

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and good review! Just to let you know the driveway is currently being overhauled and re-surfaced so the next time you visit us the driveway should be much improved!

We are all delighted you describe us as a "fantastic find" and very pleased that you found all the staff "friendly and helpful". We hope to be able to welcome you back some time soon!

With best wishes from all of us at Craigmhor Lodge

Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Craigmhor Lodge and Courtyard is the ultimate in luxury. The rooms are high standard, some offering balconies, underfloor heating in bathrooms and amazing shower. But unlike some luxury hotels, this one also offered a faultless, efficient and warm, friendly service. The staff and owners were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The buffet breakfast was lovely with a whole range of fresh fruits and cereals as as cooked breakfast options. The hotel was also welcoming to my 8 year old boy, and we had much fun playing on the lawn with the balls and net set up there. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigmhorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Emma,

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you comment not only on the "luxury rooms", but also the service and how welcome you were made to feel. All the team here at Craigmhor Lodge strive to provide a high quality of service and we are very pleased each time this is achieved and commented upon.

With best wishes from all of us here at Craigmhor Lodge
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just spent the most fantastic long weekend at Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard. From the moment Jane picked us up from the railway station, to giving us a quick tour round Pitlochry, to receiving a very personal introduction to all the luxurious facilities in the room, we just felt relaxed. The room had a beautiful deep bath & double shower as well as having an I Pod docking station that played music into either the bedroom/bathroom or both. Alot of thought & care has gone into the rooms right down to even having its own espresso coffee machine. All of the team could not do enough to help you. The breakfast was fantastic, great menu & you have to try the full Scottish Breakfast. You can tell it is freshly cooked and its all set in the breakfast room that looks out over the hills. Even the owners young daughter served our breakfast one morning & she could have taught the waitress from the restaurant the night before a thing or two about how to speak to customers politely. The lady in reception even helped us find the house my Auntie & Uncle used to live in that I couldn't spot when out walking. Our 3 days just flew over & again we received a lift back down into the town to catch our train home. I really cannot speak highly enough of Craigmhor lodge & Courtyard. Its a 4 star location with 4 star facilities and 4 star service. Thank you. Stuart & Anna. Newcastle Upon Tyne

Room Tip: First floor room had balcony with great views. We were in room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigmhorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Stuart and Anna

Thank you so much for your very kind review - we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and rated us as "four star for location, facilities and service".

Picking you up and dropping you off at the station was absolutely no problem at all - we are all happy to help our guests in any way we can - including young Riona, Jane and Calum's daughter, who provided such excellent service at breakfast!

I very much hope you were able to meet your cousin before you caught your train, but if you weren't lets hope you can come back to Craigmhor Lodge and try to meet up with them again!

With thanks and best wishes from all the team
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

from the minute we arrived to us leaving everything was top class, staff and owner very friendly, efficient and nothing is too much trouble, rooms are fitted to a much higher standard than most hotels I have stayed in, but at a very reasonable cost. will definately stay again, and recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane M, Guest Relations Manager at Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Skullbabes

Thank you so much for your review - it's lovely to be described as "top class" are we are delighted that you found the accommodation and service of such a high quality! We very much look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you for recommending us to others!

With best wishes
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard

Address: 27 West Moulin Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Scottish Hotel Awards Guest House of the Year and Breakfast of the Year 2012, 2013 and 2014. Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard is tucked away in enchanting woodland in central Pitlochry. We offer a luxury retreat and an ideal base for exploring Highland Perthshire. Our accommodation comprises of 3 tasteful bedrooms in the Victorian Lodge, whilst our 12 luxury Courtyard rooms - many with private balcony or garden terrace - are the perfect choice for those who appreciate thoughtful touches such as iPod docking stations & spacious bathrooms. Relax and let Craigmhor work its magic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Craigmhor Lodge And Courtyard
Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.